Hi
I'm 27 and i hold a stable job with around 3k a month.
Since the recent world cup till now, i have lost all my saving and in debt of 40,000. (football, shares and casino)
I have worked out that I will need 3 good years to repay back.
Previously, I have to tried to chase back my losses, but ended up in a deeper hole.
I dare not speak to my family else they will kill me for sure.
How I can stop the temptation of gambling and greed?
Should I activly monitor my expenses so that I can repay on a consistent basis and will not fall into the greed trap?
lucky u are only 27, single and not married with family.
treat this as a good lesson to avoid gambling in casinos and football and 4D.
I avoid all forms of gambling and have never stepped into RWS or MBS so far.
Contact the National Council for Problem Gambling: Linkie.
Call the hotline there. They can refer you to counselling on handling your gambling addiction and perhaps on how to go about clearing your liabilities.
Also, take out a casino exclusion order on yourself.
Stay away from all possible sources of gambling. That means walking away from any Toto outlets and aunties selling Singapore Sweep tickets.
Confide your problem in a trusted friend. Ask him to install parental software progams on your computer that will block you out of gambling sites.
gambling usually works like this: nine out of ten times you gamble you lose.
u still can consider the occasional betting on 4Ds and Toto i dont see any harm. Just bet 1 or 2 dollars and who knows if u really strike it?
u will never get rich thru gambling, pls remember this.
if u want, go buy shares instead of gambling.
remember....as long as you keep gambling, whatever money u win does not belong to you cos u will lose it someday. Acknowledge how fucked up u are and get your act together.
I wonder whether the percentage of people gambling and chasing their debts have remained the same over the years.
Dun they just get it? Is it because the education of addicted people stories is being neutralized by the relative stupidity of human beings?
Gambling percentages is directly porportional to the financial and mathematical wisdom of the population. I wonder whether these percentages are dropping or increasing.
Is there really gambling genes in humans? Peronsally, I find it plain stupid when I read about people addiction stories and the beliefs about gambling. Perhaps these stories are just minorities and is thus unavoidable.
perhaps I do not have gambling genes, hence its easy for me to say they are stupid/
hmmm..its like me adddicted to buying habbo credits. but i managed to resist the temptation
Originally posted by january:I wonder whether the percentage of people gambling and chasing their debts have remained the same over the years.
Dun they just get it? Is it because the education of addicted people stories is being neutralized by the relative stupidity of human beings?
Gambling percentages is directly porportional to the financial and mathematical wisdom of the population. I wonder whether these percentages are dropping or increasing.
Is there really gambling genes in humans? Peronsally, I find it plain stupid when I read about people addiction stories and the beliefs about gambling. Perhaps these stories are just minorities and is thus unavoidable.
Well, it is all about greed.
As research shown, gambling goes all the way back to the ancient cavemen times. ![]()
There is also the problem that more than often the success stories are glorified, and those failure stories are left untold. For every 1 success, there are probably tens of thousands of failure left untold.
1 solution (may or may not) works on you.
1) Do not have lots of cash on your wallet.
2) Do not bring along your atm and credit cards.
3) Make a habit to spend only certain amount per week.
It is not just about greed, it is also about the thrill of being in the game. Seek your thrills elsewhere, dont gamble.
Originally posted by Steven.Jialat:It is not just about greed, it is also about the thrill of being in the game. Seek your thrills elsewhere, dont gamble.
elsewhere?? Thrills...hehehe...night life?
gambling addiction is more about thrill than money.
talk to your family. only people around you can really help you.
Yes, nobody can control you.
Except you yourself.
the problem is that gambling is so convenient and easily available. everywhere you go, you can find a singapore pools outlet. now we have two casinos.
chinese story åŸæ¯�三è¿� talks about how a mother shifts house 3 times to give her son a good environment away from bad influence. that shows the importance of environment in influencing a person's behaviour. in singapore, no matter where you go, gambling is around you.
TS, you have to exercise lots of restraint and awareness that gambling is bad for you.
get addicted to porn
once you pick up porn addiction,
you'll forget about gambling
Donate your money to charity and autodebit your money into financial planning investments so you will have less net pay which will discipline you to spend more wisely.
Originally posted by PedoBear:get addicted to porn
once you pick up porn addiction,
you'll forget about gambling
oh, i think for a man that will be more harmful than gambling lor.
Originally posted by OneGeorge:Hi
I'm 27 and i hold a stable job with around 3k a month.
Since the recent world cup till now, i have lost all my saving and in debt of 40,000. (football, shares and casino)
I have worked out that I will need 3 good years to repay back.
Previously, I have to tried to chase back my losses, but ended up in a deeper hole.
I dare not speak to my family else they will kill me for sure.
How I can stop the temptation of gambling and greed?
Should I activly monitor my expenses so that I can repay on a consistent basis and will not fall into the greed trap?
Try gambling in the stocks and investment funds markets, you have better chance of winning and also enjoy the juice of gambling. Even if you loose, its not much and still a paper lost unless sold
Originally posted by angel7030:
oh, i think for a man that will be more harmful than gambling lor.
whether porn is more harmful or not is debatable but
i think TS is trying to cut down on expenses
gambling addiction means losing more money while
there is a lot of free porn on the internet