This story happens to my friend.
He is currently in his mid 20s.
He has been working for around 3 years since he ord.
He has a diploma from a local polytechnic.
Unfortunately, he chosed a wronh course which he did not like in polytechnic. Thus, throughout his 3 years of work, he has been job hopping each job lasting for a few months only.
He now knows what he wants in life but in order to have a career switch, he first needs to study.
His parents had always quarel with each other since he was a baby. They finally divorced when he was 12 years old.
He than went to stay with his father and stepmother. He got tortured bu his stepmother and so at 18 years old, he could not bear with it and went back to stay with his mother.
His father continued to give him $400 a month allowance throughout his 3 years polytechnic course. His mother never gave him any financial support except to give him a place to stay. When he started his ns, his father stopped giving him allowance.
His mother is controlled like a puppet by his grandmother. Mother earns only 1.5k a month(before cpf contribution) and gives his grandmother $800 a year. Mother is afraid that if she cut the allowance she give, her mother(his grandmother) will complain to her other sons and daughters(his uncles and aunties).
He knows that he is doing a job that he does not like that is why he can't stay long in all his jobs. He wants to have a career change but to do that he needs to study a degree in a new course but he does not have the money to do so.
His father has money to pay for his university education but says that he needs to pay for his own education 1st and after he gets his degree than his father will pay him back the money.
But he does not have much savings to study a degree so he does not have the money to pay for a degree 1st. Plus, his father is now being psycho by his stepmother not to give him any money to take a degree so now his father have changed his mind and no longer wants to let him study a degree.
Mother say she has given all her money to her mother(his grandmother) so she has no money to sponsor him for a degree.
So now he has no choice but to stick on to jobs that he has no interest in. Alternatively, he is thinking of doing jobs such as retail, waiter etc which do not need much education and not much stress job..
Low salary but at least he is single and have no family committment..
He is destined to forever be stuck in jobs that he does not like..
Since he already knows what he wants in life then he should start planning and work towards his goal. Not go around begging for money.
Your "friend" is already so old and has been drawing a salary for the past few years and he doesn't have the funds to pay for a degree? What a joke. Unisim is bloody cheap now almost as cheap as local unis like NUS and NTU. Heavily subsidized by the govt. Total expenses for 1 course, at most 10-20K, somemore you don't have to pay this amount all at one go.
So what's stopping him? No money then get a bank loan la, or alternatively he can start working, save up enough money and quit whining.
Working adult already and still need to ask money from parents.
Agreed.
Start to plan what he want now.
Job hopping will not get him anywhere.
Stay put and take up night class.
Since your friend very young, why worry?
Night class = 3 to 5 yrs, take degree, only 25yr old.
Dont worry.
you study to work under people forever, why dun u ask your friend to start a business in a niche that he actually likes?
Ts said he got no capital.
still got chance....but dun end up joining gangsters like the hottest news now...
no one likes to work...and more than 80% of the working population hate or are bored with their jobs....trust me....but its the survival that keeps everyone going...if unreluctantly...and queues for 4D to strike one day
study is a must...save up the money or sign bond (if thats the only alternative even if u dun like the job and endure when the time is ripe for better ones)
please read and savour the story of �薪�胆
the problem with today's youths is that they dun have the farking endurance...what a disappointment
Originally posted by likeyou:Ts said he got no capital.
i not asking him to start a business right away, but to think longer term.
So what he got a degree eventually and landed into comfortable job with gd salary?
Being in mind that Ts's fren is a singaporean male with reservist obligaions and demanding high salary and influx of cheap FT labours.
Does TS's friend think that he can hold the job for long? Yes TS's friend can get a degree quite easily if he has a will to.
Does TS's friend can get a job he desired? Of cos now it still safe.
But what about the future?
TS, tell me if your friend got think that far?![]()
he can choose whatever alternative...business opportunities (and hoaxes are aplenty) but the ones that make it are really through the needle's eye....talks about rags-to-riches stories are not to be emulated with the illusion that education is short-sighted...
and who said one cannot source for business while getting the right education? education improves the chances of better networking..and improves luck of a prepared mind...of course...education should not be perceived as an end in itself....but a tool and an instrument to fish for life (with the right application, that is)
Well, life sucks...
It is really pathetic that your friend dunno how to plan for his future, work in jobs that he do not like, blame his family that he cannot afford his degree...
Really pathetic.
Please ask him to bang his head against the wall or you can slap him and ask him to wake up.
There are people and families out there that cannot even afford a poly or even sec school education.
He already finished ns, got diploma, healthy... so just grab a job that he like and work his way up. No use complaining.
What matter most is he already completed his damn 2 yr ns.
Now he has all the time to upgrade himself (he's 20yr old right?).
Stop sighing...get the ball moving!
If we know what we need to be happy, we have to sacrifice or endure hardship for some time to get what we want. We can't expect instant solutions, without putting in effort.
Is money the only obstacle? If it is, then TS' "friend" should be prepared to work in the job for some time, to get the money to pay for his degree. Ideally, he can take part-time degree, so that he has money to pay for his education while he works, and by the time he graduates, he can move on to the career of his interest.
If TS' friend has other family issues like conflicts with stepmother, he may want to also think of ways to improve the relationship, however difficult it may be. Having a more positive home environment will make the life journey ahead easier to bear, else it could be very stressful emotionally if he has to slog in a job he doesn't like, study hard for a degree at the same time, and still has to handle difficult family relationships.
Rainbow Jigsaw of Life
- Deleted - duplicate post.
Tell your friend to wake up his friggin' ideas.
As sad as his situation is, he can choose to pull himself out if he wants to put in the effort to do so.
He should not be blaming his own family for not getting a degree. I seriously don't understand how he doesn't at least have some savings after working for a few years.
No savings also, he can always take a loan. Many people I know take a loan in order to pursue their degree. So how is your friend any different?
Hell, I myself went $25k into debt just to get a degree. It's been two years since I graduated, and I'm still paying off my loans. I'm not complaining about that - I just saw the loan as a motivation for me to work my ass off while in uni.
study part-time.
many people do that!!
Originally posted by dragg:study part-time.
many people do that!!
You are right.
Many pple, I am going to take up night class too.
Me too, take up cooking class, massage class and tailoring class, as a taiwanese gal, we need all these to attract a good husband.
Originally posted by dechang:This story happens to my friend.
He is currently in his mid 20s.
He has been working for around 3 years since he ord.
He has a diploma from a local polytechnic.
Unfortunately, he chosed a wronh course which he did not like in polytechnic. Thus, throughout his 3 years of work, he has been job hopping each job lasting for a few months only.
He now knows what he wants in life but in order to have a career switch, he first needs to study.
His parents had always quarel with each other since he was a baby. They finally divorced when he was 12 years old.
He than went to stay with his father and stepmother. He got tortured bu his stepmother and so at 18 years old, he could not bear with it and went back to stay with his mother.
His father continued to give him $400 a month allowance throughout his 3 years polytechnic course. His mother never gave him any financial support except to give him a place to stay. When he started his ns, his father stopped giving him allowance.
His mother is controlled like a puppet by his grandmother. Mother earns only 1.5k a month(before cpf contribution) and gives his grandmother $800 a year. Mother is afraid that if she cut the allowance she give, her mother(his grandmother) will complain to her other sons and daughters(his uncles and aunties).
He knows that he is doing a job that he does not like that is why he can't stay long in all his jobs. He wants to have a career change but to do that he needs to study a degree in a new course but he does not have the money to do so.
His father has money to pay for his university education but says that he needs to pay for his own education 1st and after he gets his degree than his father will pay him back the money.
But he does not have much savings to study a degree so he does not have the money to pay for a degree 1st. Plus, his father is now being psycho by his stepmother not to give him any money to take a degree so now his father have changed his mind and no longer wants to let him study a degree.
Mother say she has given all her money to her mother(his grandmother) so she has no money to sponsor him for a degree.
So now he has no choice but to stick on to jobs that he has no interest in. Alternatively, he is thinking of doing jobs such as retail, waiter etc which do not need much education and not much stress job..
Low salary but at least he is single and have no family committment..
He is destined to forever be stuck in jobs that he does not like..
one word say it all, he is a "Lazy bum"
Originally posted by kengkia:you study to work under people forever, why dun u ask your friend to start a business in a niche that he actually likes?
He got thought about starting a business before but have no ideas on what business he wants to do...
He have thought about startinga hawker stall but he does not know how to cook and he does not have a partner who is good at cooking and have the experience to do the business with him as he does not have much friends..
mmm pathetic indeed
and you are a swell good friend
Originally posted by dechang:He got thought about starting a business before but have no ideas on what business he wants to do...
He have thought about startinga hawker stall but he does not know how to cook and he does not have a partner who is good at cooking and have the experience to do the business with him as he does not have much friends..
Guess one of his hobby is day dreaming
wah. ts. your friend have a super entitlement mentality. must be due to the poly days. $400 a month is ALOT during that time (he's probably 25/6 now)
most of my poly friends during that time had to work part-time for money. except for those who were rich (unfortunately, your friend is not rich... lol)
Originally posted by dechang:He got thought about starting a business before but have no ideas on what business he wants to do...
cannot cook can learn what, unless your friend is indeed a lazy bum like angel said.![]()
hello, dun alway quote what i said leh, i kenna pm and complaints alot you know, all blame me for this and that, some i dun even know i said or not leh. So, please hor