Dear Aunt Agony,
I'm Sec 1 this year, Sec 2 the next. I'm from NCC,as you can see from the title. Originally,when I first started secondary school,I was posted to Infocomm,cos for my school,we needed to have experience in a specific CCA to join it,and I stated that I had AVA experience in primary school. Actually I was kinda okay with it,until my sis,who's in the same secondary school as me,approached the CCA HOD and discussed with her and in the end,cos I didn't have any other CCA experience, I ended up in NCC. I didn't really like NCC,but I gave it a shot. So after a year of NCC,and after an end of year camp which I just came back from,I'm wondering whether this is the right CCA for me. I really can't take the PTs,sure I can do a few pumpings,but anymore than 15 not at my own pace,I'm gonna be dead. I'm always the one covered in sweat as if I've been out in the rain,feeling light headed at times,but I just kept quiet and tahan all the way. So now during the end of year holidays,I decided to take some time to sort this out,but needed some advice. So should I stay with NCC,or should I request for a move back to Infocomm? Hope that you could help me with this..
Calvin
Just stay there. In sec 3, after the current sec 2 pass out, you can torture the rest of them ^^
And UG = More CCA points = Better advantage when coming to poly.
Originally posted by SBS494J:Just stay there. In sec 3, after the current sec 2 pass out, you can torture the rest of them ^^
That's false.
if U find a sharp rock in your shoes.. what do you do?
Just think of the experience you're gaining- those life saving tips and it's preparing you for NS
Originally posted by calvinljc:Dear Aunt Agony,
I'm Sec 1 this year, Sec 2 the next. I'm from NCC,as you can see from the title. Originally,when I first started secondary school,I was posted to Infocomm,cos for my school,we needed to have experience in a specific CCA to join it,and I stated that I had AVA experience in primary school. Actually I was kinda okay with it,until my sis,who's in the same secondary school as me,approached the CCA HOD and discussed with her and in the end,cos I didn't have any other CCA experience, I ended up in NCC. I didn't really like NCC,but I gave it a shot. So after a year of NCC,and after an end of year camp which I just came back from,I'm wondering whether this is the right CCA for me. I really can't take the PTs,sure I can do a few pumpings,but anymore than 15 not at my own pace,I'm gonna be dead. I'm always the one covered in sweat as if I've been out in the rain,feeling light headed at times,but I just kept quiet and tahan all the way. So now during the end of year holidays,I decided to take some time to sort this out,but needed some advice. So should I stay with NCC,or should I request for a move back to Infocomm? Hope that you could help me with this..
Calvin
First question, why did you let your sis decide where you are going?
Second question, what is your parents' stand?
Third question, is your sis going to force you to stay in NCC if you attempt to quit it.
Ask yourself this three questions, and you should be able to find an answer yourself. If you are unhappy in NCC, there is no point in staying in it, since it will partially affect your studies as well, though not to that great an extent.
I know that NCC is at its worst during Sec 2,when they're training you like mad to prepare you for Sec 3. I'm just feeling worried that I can't take it. Like I saw my sir pumping the Sec 2s 50 at one go. I definitely can't do that..
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:First question, why did you let your sis decide where you are going?
Second question, what is your parents' stand?
Third question, is your sis going to force you to stay in NCC if you attempt to quit it.
Ask yourself this three questions, and you should be able to find an answer yourself. If you are unhappy in NCC, there is no point in staying in it, since it will partially affect your studies as well, though not to that great an extent.
First,my sis just felt that if I was in Infocomm,I wouldn't be that fit. So she wanted me in NCC,so I just went along with it,though I didn't like it.
Second,this is currently a question I keep to myself,haven't told my family about it. So I'm not sure what their reaction would be.
Third,I think there's a high chance that she would want me to stay.
A few questions I ask myself,Infocomm's trainings are 2 days a week,while NCC's trainings are only once. So I would rather have 2 days of "not that vigorous" training than a day of hell-like training. But I don't have the guts to bring that question out..
do you do pumping on your own? it could be a case of your body not accustomed to more physically demanding activities. this kind of thing can do @ home what. wake up, pump 10 time. studying take break, pump 10 time. before bathe, pump 11 time. After awhile you'd be more comfortable with it.
I wish i was 14 years old again can. where everyone thinks you're still a kid even though your sexual hormones are making you erect 23/7. for you i think 22/7 because you pumping that time no mood to think bout such things. anyway, its like the best time to flirt with the older galz can. like sec 3 sec 4. they wont suspect a thing one... I say flirt only ah...dont do any other cheeky thingz.
calvin, quit ncc, if you don't like it. To be honest, ncc is like a uniformed group. It trains you to be a 'man' or stronger 'boy'. Your sister prolly wanted you to become fitter which you mentioned in one of your replies. But i wouldn't force myself to 'please' my sister.
You need to know that, for most people secondary school is the most enjoyable time of your life. In no part of this 4 years should you feel being pressurized or feel sad.
I'm in ncc, i followed it through sec 1-4. I pon most of my sec 1 & sec 2 trainings. And only went for training after sec 2 mid year. To be honest, ncc gave me confidence i never would EVER have found without ncc. ( specialist courses trainings ). And i bet you would have noticed, that the most zai guys are normally from basketball, soccer, hockey, ncc, npcc, ncdcc, scouts, guides, badminton etc. It's not because they are sporty, it is because they have heightened confidence at that age. ( 12-16 ), and that makes them charismatic ( look like glowing with light liddat ).
In the end, i passed out as a platoon srgt. And a beautiful past to reminisce about.
1) Quit ncc if, you do not like being 'drilled', you do not find that 'order is in your blood',
2) Quit ncc if, you feel being forced into, your dad or sis is forcing you to prepare for army ( ncc does not prepare you for army, ncc is NOTHING like army, maybe the first 3 days ).
3) Stay in ncc, if you have no aim in life, stay in ncc if you want to become stronger mentally, ( it's not always physically, i never became stronger physically. i never did 100 pumpings one shot. i can only do 70 max one shot, but i became stronger mentally ), mentally until i know how to chao geng ( dont learn ahhaa )
Above all, stay in ncc if you want to be part of the National Cadet Corps,
Your life is like a puzzle, your friends are a few pieces, your computer, psp, nds is another few pieces, your clothing, shoes, cash another few pieces. But to complete the stupid lame ass tiring puzzle of 'life' . you need the bigger pieces like, passion, dream, direction and purpose.
My 2 cents.
0.o
I don't see any problem here. You don't like the CCA, then approach the school and change to a new one.
Are you afraid of what your family might think if they realise that you want to change CCAs?
If you really cannot take the training due to physical limitations, then I would advice you to drop it. No point stressing yourself over something as trival as CCA.
If your family insists, then make your stand and tell them firmly that it's not something you're interested in. Also, tell them that you have difficulties with the training.
NCC masak masak only la
Join dance is the best. Although almost everyone will say you are chao ah gua but once you show them you can dance, they will WAAAAAAAAAAA
Your guy friends will also ask for your help to get girls no. or intro. Everyday hang out with chiobu and become their good friend. Good life sia
Your sister is student or what, so big shot.
Anyway, as the rest say, do what you want but sticking with NCC would let you experience something outside of your comfort zone.
Originally posted by SBS494J:Just stay there. In sec 3, after the current sec 2 pass out, you can torture the rest of them ^^
What bullocks is this..![]()
So you torture because you are tortured.
cca points very important for admission to the poly or jc?
Plse advise.
Originally posted by calvinljc:
First,my sis just felt that if I was in Infocomm,I wouldn't be that fit. So she wanted me in NCC,so I just went along with it,though I didn't like it.
Second,this is currently a question I keep to myself,haven't told my family about it. So I'm not sure what their reaction would be.
Third,I think there's a high chance that she would want me to stay.
A few questions I ask myself,Infocomm's trainings are 2 days a week,while NCC's trainings are only once. So I would rather have 2 days of "not that vigorous" training than a day of hell-like training. But I don't have the guts to bring that question out..
Don't allow yourself to be bend to the will of others.
Since you have decided you will be better off in infocomm, then carry out that decision.
However, I will advise you to speak to your parents first before your sister does, lest your sister turns them against you, and that will make it even harder for you to make any decision.
Even if you do not have the guts to do so right now, you still must find someway to squeeze the courage out, otherwise change will never come for you, and you will find yourself unhappily staying 4 years in NCC.
Originally posted by likeyou:
cca points very important for admission to the poly or jc?Plse advise.
To be honest, they are not really that important, unless you are aiming for good JCs and already have are able to score 6~8 for your L1R5.
Otherwise, priority will always be the academic results-there are plentiful of people who get 8~9 and go to some of the "better" (Better in their eyes) JCs, while skipping CCA in their sec school life.
Originally posted by calvinljc:Dear Aunt Agony,
Calvin
I don't know why you need to have CCA.
Rather you focus more on your teenage life in secondary school than to waste it on some CCA because you are afraid to lose out in your poly admission.
Tell me....will you regret emotionally if you didn't spend enough time to have fun during your secondary school days? Or will you regret if you lost out in your poly admission?
There are always alternatives for you if you really lost out in your poly admission due to lack of CCA.
But can you go back in time and have fun and enjoy your secondary school days? Do you even have the option or alternatives to go back again?
Which one is more terrible and regretful? Missing out of the years during your secondary school days or go through the conveyor-belt kind of education system like every one elses does?
Government and your parents will never tell you to treasure and enjoy your childhood/teenage years because they can keep you in line and supervise you just like many other Singaporeans.
People are afraid when others do not follow the queue, as they are afraid that you might end up doing better than them in the future.
But ask yourself, how much better can you do in your future if you followed in the footsteps of everyone else and graduated at the end of the system? What value do you have if you're just going to be the same like everyone else?
You can endure through the system and become a straight As student. At the most you will be the TOP WORKER if you end up graduating with the maximum scores at the end of the education system.
Is that really your DREAM? To become a top worker and work for the benefits of others for the rest of your lives?
Sure you can be paid 50k a month for being a top worker, and your employers help themselves to 500k a month just by hiring you to work for them and bring them 5mil in profits.
Then you will realised that you are actually exchanging your precious moments of your lives for money which you can never buy back the past and neither can you enjoy your future because the more money that you are earning are equivalent to the amount of work and responsibilities that you are carrying.
Think again while you still can and live your life the way you wanted. But don't be a juvenile and a gangster because these are people who have no dreams and ambitions in their lives and yet they think that they want to live the life they have wanted when they don't even know what they want in their lives.
TS your experience remind me of myself in the past.
Joined NPCC during my sec sch days due to all my primary sch friends picking that as their first choice and my parents wanting me to be in a uniform group even though my interest is to be in either computing or robotic club.
Like you, I can't do lots of push up, less than 10 at the beginning (what can you expect from a kid who didn't joined any CCA, almost never exercises but spent most of his time playing catching and tamiya at HDB void deck across his primary sch
).
Spent most of my CCA time doing stupid foot drill and arm drill under the hot sun which I have to admit that I'm bad at, torturing/pushing myself to the limit from morning all the way till afternoon. Feel light-headed at times too.
I remembered there was once I felt like collapsing (my eye went dark for a moment) but I kept quiet and request to go to toilet, sat in the toilet for a few minutes, went back out and continued my foot drill despite my condition... Luckily nothing happened to me.
On top of that, there is a stupid 'senior' that always aimed me and giving me push up as punishment whenever he can due to some issue between me and him in my first year.
Well, I somehow managed to survive/endure/persevere something I dislike for 5 years and I felt like quiting a lot of time during that 5 years but somehow I didn't. God knows why.
If you asked me what have I gained/achieved in the end from doing something I dislike for so long, I say endurance, perseverance, able to deduct 1 point from my overall O-level result and no happy memories of sec sch CCA life.
Does it prepare you for NS? A little like when you just enlist but totally useless after that, I say you will be fine even without it.
TS, that's my experience for you to refer to. Do you want to end up "kind of" like me (you won't necessary end up like me, maybe somehow you find meaning or have passion in it) or do you want to have a meaningful and enjoyable sec sch CCA life which you can think back in future?
Originally posted by likeyou:
cca points very important for admission to the poly or jc?Plse advise.
CCA can be counted as 1 of the subjects if your child enter poly. Hence many people will obviously want to get A1 for their CCA. I mean, it's like such an easy subject to score. And if you go jc, scoring an A1 or A2 in CCA will get you an advantage of minusing 2 points off from yr L1R5. From what i know, people who join uniform groups usually gets an A, even if you are just an average cadet there. However, if you join sports or performing arts, you have to be in the committee or part of the leaders in order to obtain an A.
For me, i joined NPCC during my sec sch days too. At times, i really hate it...having to drill under hot sun for hours, getting ordered around and tortured physically( PT) and mentally, and seniors do not help either. It was a very stressful period ( esp. during sec 1 & 2). I have seen many people who quitted because they could not endure such trainings. As i girl, i could have too, quitted and join other less demanding CCAs. But no. I wanted to carry on and persevere no matter how tough trainings are.
But, i do not regret joining, because NPCC has taught me alot of life lessons that i would never have experienced if i joined other CCAs such as sports or performing arts. Throughout my whole 4 years, i gained confidence and the ability to lead others, as well as being more self-disciplined on my part. I also picked up many life survival skills and got a taste of how important teamwork is, having to learn to work well with my own squad. At times, we do get a sense of achievement. The tears and sweat we have been through together as a squad, made everything worthwhile. There were fun times too. Overall, it's a great experience, although not always smooth-sailing. Over the years, i have seen people grow up and becoming more mature after joining UGs.
As a sister, i also encourage my two brothers to join UGs, because it can really train them to become a real man and also pick up different skills which will benefit them in time to come. But however, i must stress that if you really really cant tahan the trainings, and feel like dying, then i suggest you'd better quit since you are not cut out for such CCAs. Most importantly, choose what your interests lie in. It is great if you already know what you want- joining infocomm club may not be a bad thing (although you'll get lesser CCA points). But for those who do not have any goals currently, try joining UGs...it may be helpful for some. These hardships that you go through will make you a better person in life.
Just take it as it is and think of it as a preparation for NS. I was from NCC have been through worse punishments and PTs. I don't understand why you all cannot tahan this type of 'torture' cos NS going to be worse, my friend. Now, hearing how juniors get punished and what their PTs are like, it was nothing compared to my days.
Originally posted by Honeygreentea:
CCA can be counted as 1 of the subjects if your child enter poly. Hence many people will obviously want to get A1 for their CCA. I mean, it's like such an easy subject to score. And if you go jc, scoring an A1 or A2 in CCA will get you an advantage of minusing 2 points off from yr L1R5. From what i know, people who join uniform groups usually gets an A, even if you are just an average cadet there. However, if you join sports or performing arts, you have to be in the committee or part of the leaders in order to obtain an A. For me, i joined NPCC during my sec sch days too. At times, i really hate it...having to drill under hot sun for hours, getting ordered around and tortured physically( PT), and seniors do not help either. But, i do not regret joining, because i learnt alot from these experiences, i learnt to endure and persevere no matter how tough trainings always are. At the same time, i gained confidence and the ability to lead others, as well as being more self-disciplined and picking up important life skills throughout my 4 years. I also get a taste of how important teamwork is, having to work with yr own squad. At times, we do get a sense of achievement. Overall, it's indeed a great experience, although not always smooth-sailing. Over the years, many people have become matured after joining uniformed groups.
Just to add on (for the benefit of the TS, I know that you definitely know all these), both polys and MI allow CCA to be taken as a subject in the calculation of the L1R4.
Note that the L1R5 for JC admission does not allow CCA to be calculated in as one of the subjects. As previously mentioned, it does take up to 2 points off the L1R5 though.
Thanks guys,for all of your suggestions. Helped me with my decision making,but nontheless,I still can't make one..