Hi everyone,
I am pondering if i should quit university... I am studying Biological Science for my degree now... right now, i feel like shit because i did not do well for my exams... I am really wondering if i am really stupid or what... it seems everyone is smart and able to catch those concepts easily while i spend a hard time grasping the concepts... i still manage to catch up for the concepts but in the exams it is always those minor details like remembering those reagents or molecules that is killing me... Also, there are always competition between friends... there is one guy who pissed me off recently... he keep on saying that he is not good in studies but in actual fact, he is and is getting good grades... seriously, what a F*****... i cannot tolerate the things he said also...
I feel like quitting is also because of the stress... there are tremendous stress right now and i keep on having the fear that i cannot get a good honours for the degree...
For you.. the solution may be.. to æ»èƒŒï¼�
U always have those S.O.B's that say they are bad at studying.. or say they got bad marks... full of crock la. Now u know he is like that, next time dont bother talking or asking him about his studies n results man. lol
You just have to work harder.. like way harder than everyone else. You can do it.
Nothing is impossible once u set your mind to it. Trust me man.
alot of ppl wan to study but cannot...
why are u giving up??? dun lose to despair...
Maybe the course not suitable for you and you should change course.
I regretted forcing myself to study a course that I did not like and æ»èƒŒ all the concepts cos now that I am in the workforce I am unable to apply what I have studied as I don't understand the concepts
If I can go back in time I will definetly change course
Have you ever thought, you just suffer for these few years but for the rest of your life, you will have a good paper to land you in better jobs. No pain no gain. It's a competitive life in Singapore and you have already come so far, why give up?
Originally posted by blurking123:Hi everyone,
I am pondering if i should quit university... I am studying Biological Science for my degree now... right now, i feel like shit because i did not do well for my exams... I am really wondering if i am really stupid or what... it seems everyone is smart and able to catch those concepts easily while i spend a hard time grasping the concepts... i still manage to catch up for the concepts but in the exams it is always those minor details like remembering those reagents or molecules that is killing me... Also, there are always competition between friends... there is one guy who pissed me off recently... he keep on saying that he is not good in studies but in actual fact, he is and is getting good grades... seriously, what a F*****... i cannot tolerate the things he said also...
I feel like quitting is also because of the stress... there are tremendous stress right now and i keep on having the fear that i cannot get a good honours for the degree...
Work smartly with no life. That is the secret to getting good grades.
As they have all said, just memorise first, understand later. Sometimes there are concepts which are too abstract to me, so I memorise, vomit out later, then understand only yet even later.
dont
Originally posted by Uscommando 31:dont
Wow. First post.
Ok. Blurking123...you can't possibly quit now and disappoint Uscommando 31.
if you need more time to complete let it be, never ever attempt to force memorise formulas when u dun understand e concept
it's a recipe for disaster
LOL!
sry there was something wrong with my browser and only the word' dont ' came out hahaha.
anyway aiya i also a first yr uni student. struggling with my engin studies also. i guess uni is much different from what we used to do.. memorise then spit out what we rmb. uni is more of really understanding the concepts and applying them. thatz why i feel sometimes working hard is not enough.. its about working hard! anyway, i feel u will be less stressed if u lower down ur expectations. for me i just aim to be average student lor. whatever the case, as long as u give your best, then dont have any regrets about it =)
take your time to finish your course.... enjoy uni life. The working world is scary~
change your course lah. not that science degrees offers a great job prospect.
I graduated with a good degree, yet have a tough time landing jobs. My friends, who got pass degree, find themselves nice jobs. All in all, degree is for jobs and to get job before others, do lots of internship!
better than no degree
To all, thank you... i just try to get a degree instead of thinking too much about getting a good honors... just have to take things easy ba... if got honors, then good... if dun have, then nvm... again, i have to thank everyone for giving their opinion... :)
Originally posted by blurking123:To all, thank you... i just try to get a degree instead of thinking too much about getting a good honors... just have to take things easy ba... if got honors, then good... if dun have, then nvm... again, i have to thank everyone for giving their opinion... :)
there are only a few types of people who "deserved" to quit uni halfway with a very good reason and confidence...but not limited to....
1) Bill Gates - Microsoft
2) Paul Allen - Microsoft
3) Steve Wozniak - Apple
4) Mark Zuckerberg - Facebook
OK. So you are not good at BIOLOGY science.
Then wat else EXACTLY are you good at ??????
Some people have very good memory, that's why they tend to do well in exams. But they may not be able to effectively apply their knowledge in real life.
The people that (you think) pissed you off is not trying to piss you off.. They don't even have to try to piss you off.. becuase you are already frustrated with yourself .
So you look at them with hostility even tho they are trying to be humble.
Wanna quit Uni ? Sure. You cannot remember the reagents or molecules ? Wow.. I'd rather you stay out of the health care industry, so no one has to die for your forgetfulness.
There's already too many taxi drivers on our roads.
Hawker stalls are no longer an option for our under educated Singaporeans.
Middle managers requires minimum a degree.
So tell me dude, what do you want to do when you grow up ?
Originally posted by jojobeach:OK. So you are not good at BIOLOGY science.
Then wat else EXACTLY are you good at ??????
Some people have very good memory, that's why they tend to do well in exams. But they may not be able to effectively apply their knowledge in real life.
The people that (you think) pissed you off is not trying to piss you off.. They don't even have to try to piss you off.. becuase you are already frustrated with yourself .
So you look at them with hostility even tho they are trying to be humble.
Wanna quit Uni ? Sure. You cannot remember the reagents or molecules ? Wow.. I'd rather you stay out of the health care industry, so no one has to die for your forgetfulness.
There's already too many taxi drivers on our roads.
Hawker stalls are no longer an option for our under educated Singaporeans.
Middle managers requires minimum a degree.
So tell me dude, what do you want to do when you grow up ?
Please, tt guy's attitude is not even trying to be humble... before the exams, he always mention: ai yeah i dun care i only here to get a degree... then you see him chiong like mad and right before exams call everyone to ask questions... moreover, his knowledge before his kan chiongness is already very good... is like he is smart already... then right after a paper, he will be yes this and that loudly... humble? lol
the problem is the uni paper requires you to remember not just one molecule or what... but a numerous of them... so what is the possibility of you remembering them the next time? in fact, do you still remember the things you learnt in sec sch in exact? concepts i bet we all can remember but not all the details...
Originally posted by blurking123:Please, tt guy's attitude is not even trying to be humble... before the exams, he always mention: ai yeah i dun care i only here to get a degree... then you see him chiong like mad and right before exams call everyone to ask questions... moreover, his knowledge before his kan chiongness is already very good... is like he is smart already... then right after a paper, he will be yes this and that loudly... humble? lol
the problem is the uni paper requires you to remember not just one molecule or what... but a numerous of them... so what is the possibility of you remembering them the next time? in fact, do you still remember the things you learnt in sec sch in exact? concepts i bet we all can remember but not all the details...
That guy kia see, want to haolian and act smart, that's his personal problem wat. When he comes out to work, society will make him pay dearly for his personal flaws.
You want to quit uni because of him ah.. epic fail lah you. Once you quit, you are only ruining your own future.. you think he care ah.. he be laughing in his sleep lor.....
Of course I don't have to remember all my secondary stuff if I no need to use them in my course of work.
But for you, if molecules are the reason why you are failing, then make sure you study harder, go back and read up your secondary textbooks.
Seriously, you cannot even get your fundamentals right, how are you going to do more advance work ?
Originally posted by Uncertain:I graduated with a good degree, yet have a tough time landing jobs. My friends, who got pass degree, find themselves nice jobs. All in all, degree is for jobs and to get job before others, do lots of internship!
Plse dont quit.
It was so hard to get into U.
And many pple really dont have the chance to study U too.
Dont give up.
It will do you good in the future.
Originally posted by jojobeach:That guy kia see, want to haolian and act smart, that's his personal problem wat. When he comes out to work, society will make him pay dearly for his personal flaws.
You want to quit uni because of him ah.. epic fail lah you. Once you quit, you are only ruining your own future.. you think he care ah.. he be laughing in his sleep lor.....
Of course I don't have to remember all my secondary stuff if I no need to use them in my course of work.
But for you, if molecules are the reason why you are failing, then make sure you study harder, go back and read up your secondary textbooks.
Seriously, you cannot even get your fundamentals right, how are you going to do more advance work ?
Those are not the fundamentals to remember in the first place... nvm i edited what i said just now... i dun want to be too mean to you since you r giving me advices also... thank you also, i will go and read up my sec sch textbook then...
Originally posted by likeyou:
Plse dont quit.It was so hard to get into U.
And many pple really dont have the chance to study U too.
Dont give up.
It will do you good in the future.
hmmmm it is hard to get into U but it is even harder to get one... i just need to tahan and work hard... thank you!
TS, are you from jc or poly?
what is so hard about memorising a few molecules? if others can do it, you should be able to do it too.
but on the other hand, if you really have lousy memory, please do seek a change of course, to something which demands less memorising. e.g. biz. social work etc.
Originally posted by deathmaster:TS, are you from jc or poly?
what is so hard about memorising a few molecules? if others can do it, you should be able to do it too.
but on the other hand, if you really have lousy memory, please do seek a change of course, to something which demands less memorising. e.g. biz. social work etc.
from poly...
haiz stress la... when you see the paper, you thought is option A... in the end, you realized is option B... damn it... and after realizing that, i am like sian... nvm i should not ponder about that already... i am a careless person...