I have contacted some other migrants there in Oz, some r friendly n want to network but I hv met two who r particularly unfriendly.
First, my cousin who just graduated from an Ozzy university. His parents are doctors n they r rich. Last year I flew to Oz and managed to get him to see me for dinner. i gave him a dinner treat after that my cousin just made an excuse that he has another appointment else where and when we finish eaten, he jolten up from his seat and hurriedly ran off, without even thanking me. I thoght it was good idea of making contact with a relative in Oz but to my disappointment he wasn;'t very helpful. I suppose he is afraid that I may ask him to bunk with him when I go there for the first few weeks before finding a permanent place.
People these days...r self centered.
Then I found another long lost school mate thru facebook. We added each other and did talk to each other. But the moment he accidentaly revealed that he is working as a doctor in Oz, he wasn't very friendly. I ask him about how to get about in Oz, the working conditions and even offered to have a meal with him and keep in touch. Unfortunately, he chose not to answer my facebook messages. I even tried to use chat function, but he closed his chat function.
Well, I guess, I can come to one conclusion about other migrants there, they tend to be unhelpful. I suppose they want the benefit of Oz all to themselves, they are afraid that I may ask to bunk in with them as they have permanent place to stay and they are probably afraid of me borrowing money.
I assured them that I would do none of that, just merely have more contact and building up network so we can help each other. Unfortunately they weren't convinced.
Well, I guess I have to rely on myself.
人ä¸�为己,天诛地ç�
防人之心ä¸�å�¯æ—
ä¹‹å› æ¤è€Œæ— 毒ä¸�丈夫
English please.
the "Wizard of Oz" is just a fairy tale afterall
they all sound like meek munchkins.i wont be surprised they would return to spore after some time.their way and attitude already tells u everything bout their life and how
well connected they are.appears its poor foundation in oz for them.if theyare doctors,,,then most probably they are werking in some clinic analyzin kids stuff.
as fer yer cousin,tough luck to him.his behaviour alredy tells u he has more problems that u could ever imagine.
can u pass your ippt or army remedial trainings ?if u can then spore is the best place.as im not a muscle headed person and spore army gave me no choice for my further development of my own company i need to make $$$ n took all my time away i had to leave n find a place overseas to concentrate on more important things at hand.just like mr sim wong hoo of creative industries.
Not all are like that. Some are good and some are bad.
Maybe you are unlucky to meet those bad or selfish pple.
It's pretty normal. In the first place, you should be doing things in the way that you do not need to rely on absolutely anyone, because its never a sure thing.
Then you'll be blaming others just because they don't help you, when its not even their goddamn obligation.
Another thing is, no one likes to be bothered to help out with someone elses shit. And if they do, they don't like to be the shit recieving end should something not go very right. They have the absolute right to be selfish and self centred, think about that.
Try putting yourself in others shoes before you consider asking others for help. Sure we all say nice things before anything happens but thats just diplomacy, and its always barely skin deep.
On a side note, Facebook ruins lives. Since kiddy days, apparently, the "I friend u, u friend me" mentality is still pretty much alive regardless of how old you get.
Originally posted by ditzy:It's pretty normal. In the first place, you should be doing things in the way that you do not need to rely on absolutely anyone, because its never a sure thing.
Then you'll be blaming others just because they don't help you, when its not even their goddamn obligation.
Another thing is, no one likes to be bothered to help out with someone elses shit. And if they do, they don't like to be the shit recieving end should something not go very right. They have the absolute right to be selfish and self centred, think about that.
Try putting yourself in others shoes before you consider asking others for help. Sure we all say nice things before anything happens but thats just diplomacy, and its always barely skin deep.
On a side note, Facebook ruins lives. Since kiddy days, apparently, the "I friend u, u friend me" mentality is still pretty much alive regardless of how old you get.
Don't get me wrong, I don't want to pass any shit to anyone. Just that it be nice to know somebody there, you could probably ask how to do this or tat? Like I want to know how to get a driver's licence or ask them where is the nearest supermarket.
I don';t think that is too hard to help. Of course, people being people tend to be afraid, they think you're going to ask them the next big question, they are so so afraid of, like "I am having trouble with my accomodation, can I bunk in with you?" or "I am running out of money, I can't get a job so far, can I borrow some money from you?". THESE ARE THE THINGS I WON'T ASK. DEFINITELY. Its probably the stigmatism.
I am not blaming others for not helping. I am only expressing my surprise that others are not so friendly in making connections, contacts and network. I read about Italian migrants to the USA, they treated each others as "Baizan" or fellow brothers, and helped each other. Of course, what I expect is some extension of friendship.
Still in spite of what other forumers say, I am still determined to go. I am making my preparations even as I speak. Yes, I am going to be independent. Things r going to be better.
I recall last time my family didn't get along with the neighbours, we had argument over a lot of issues. So finaly my father decided to buy a better place and we moved. After that, things got better, we moved to a better neighbourhood, it was peaceful. this shows that change does produce results !
Originally posted by Hitman 2010:they all sound like meek munchkins.i wont be surprised they would return to spore after some time.their way and attitude already tells u everything bout their life and how
well connected they are.appears its poor foundation in oz for them.if theyare doctors,,,then most probably they are werking in some clinic analyzin kids stuff.
as fer yer cousin,tough luck to him.his behaviour alredy tells u he has more problems that u could ever imagine.
can u pass your ippt or army remedial trainings ?if u can then spore is the best place.as im not a muscle headed person and spore army gave me no choice for my further development of my own company i need to make $$$ n took all my time away i had to leave n find a place overseas to concentrate on more important things at hand.just like mr sim wong hoo of creative industries.
Yes my cousin is a weak munchkin. He just recently got his Power Ranger, but he was living there for 1 and half year without a job because he couldn't find one. He was quite choosy apparently and his doctor parents are rich so they could subsidise his stay there.
If pass IPPT so what? I am talking about the quality of life. Working in a community of diversity and multiculturalism. And also being able to enjoy the relaxing life while having a job. In Singapore everything is stressful, meeting KPIs and meeting deadlines. Performance evaluation.
doctors are all snobbish one wah
whats so surprising?
Originally posted by FireIce:人ä¸�为己,天诛地ç�
防人之心ä¸�å�¯æ—
If people are not self centre, that will be the end of them
Beware of people's heart rather than unaware
Originally posted by Fcukpap:ä¹‹å› æ¤è€Œæ— 毒ä¸�丈夫
if a man is not cruel, he will not be a gentleman
You sway lor, get those lousy and unfriendly friends and relatives, learn to get good one ya, and more important, learn your lesson hor. Most of the time, believe me, it is better to believe and befriend a stranger than a long lost relative or fren. Ask where supermarket or bus station,...ask the local stranger, they will tell you much more clearer than those frens and relatives of yours, and yet you do not even need to spend a single dime on dinner and all those shit.
so how, if you cannot beat those frens and relatives of yours, join them lah, next time, someone go over there and treat you to dinner, eat already, go toilet and go out by the back door lor.
Ehm....ok....its not very clear from what you described....but......please think and reflect....how have you been talking to them, and how do you think you come across ?
The reason I say this......is because sometimes some people can come off too strong.....or seem like they wanna do something......or wanna use ppl......
Ok......how do you feel if some long-lost friend ask u out for dinner.....then he said he wanna sell u insurance, or wanna ask u to join his MLM ?
From what you described in your story about "networking and supporting each other", about "job opportunities and prospects", and "how to get to OZ", so on......this is what I suspect. That they become disoriented and had uncomfortable impression of you.
First when you just meetup with relatives or old friends.....try not to mention too much about work or other things like that. They may think you wanna use them and wanna get something from them only.
Just try to reconnect with them at a personal level. This should be your mentality.
You said you are disappointed with them, hey, who knows.....maybe they are disappointed with you too.
Anyways, I have done this same mistake like you.
Nowadays I have learnt not to mix these two worlds. And know how to be more careful and to be more appropriate.
Originally posted by Veggie Bao:
TODAY WENT SHOPPING BOUGHT A GIANT hunk of bonless pork for $6.5/kg.total $20.can last a long time if make porridge with it.also bought 1 packet of giant rump steak....$7 total and 2 packets of casserole steak for beef rendang at $2.50 each.bought many stuff lamb ribs,beef pies etc etc until spend total of $120 can last 1 month !
pork so cheap?
here 1 kg S$15
Originally posted by FBFIce:pork so cheap?
here 1 kg S$15
yeah, cos the pork here need to fly in from aus
i still remember the airpig advert
Originally posted by Tcell:I have contacted some other migrants there in Oz, some r friendly n want to network but I hv met two who r particularly unfriendly.
First, my cousin who just graduated from an Ozzy university. His parents are doctors n they r rich. Last year I flew to Oz and managed to get him to see me for dinner. i gave him a dinner treat after that my cousin just made an excuse that he has another appointment else where and when we finish eaten, he jolten up from his seat and hurriedly ran off, without even thanking me. I thoght it was good idea of making contact with a relative in Oz but to my disappointment he wasn;'t very helpful. I suppose he is afraid that I may ask him to bunk with him when I go there for the first few weeks before finding a permanent place.
People these days...r self centered.
Then I found another long lost school mate thru facebook. We added each other and did talk to each other. But the moment he accidentaly revealed that he is working as a doctor in Oz, he wasn't very friendly. I ask him about how to get about in Oz, the working conditions and even offered to have a meal with him and keep in touch. Unfortunately, he chose not to answer my facebook messages. I even tried to use chat function, but he closed his chat function.
Well, I guess, I can come to one conclusion about other migrants there, they tend to be unhelpful. I suppose they want the benefit of Oz all to themselves, they are afraid that I may ask to bunk in with them as they have permanent place to stay and they are probably afraid of me borrowing money.
I assured them that I would do none of that, just merely have more contact and building up network so we can help each other. Unfortunately they weren't convinced.
Well, I guess I have to rely on myself.
You are tight TCELL.
Migrants here in AU tends to think that but not in a bad way but in a way where they think people will use them as once peoplpe get what they want. They will just cut you loose. I, myself am a migrant in AU and I can see where your cousing is coming from but i can see where you are coming from.
I be more than happy to answer any questions you have. Cheers.
You are tight TCELL.
Migrants here in AU tends to think that but not in a bad way but in a way where they think people will use them as once peoplpe get what they want. They will just cut you loose. I, myself am a migrant in AU and I can see where your cousing is coming from but i can see where you are coming from.
I be more than happy to answer any questions you have. Cheers.
Originally posted by FBFIce:pork so cheap?
here 1 kg S$15
i think price of pork will rise more because of the floods.
only thing i hate bout oz is their ang mo anyhow cook food ..!!damn dirty!!!!all the trpical heat n so many flies...plus ang mo cant maintain things neat n clean!@!!!!!dunno why......must be in ang mo dna or something.
sure the gals might look beautiful but...............dunno if she got clean her body properly or not everyday.
today as i was out hunting for food in meat counters..3 ang mo teenager gals came towards me.....the most chiobu one went towards me....................................me thinks she wants me as she stuck too close to me!!!!!its like my living space area n shes intri=uding on it....funny how i get gals comin g near me in supermarkets.
Hitman, are you living in QLD?
Man, I live in QLD and Singpore is way hotter and humid. No idea what you on about.