you just have to view it with an open mind
having finish NS, you will no doubt be one of the few laojiao in poly, being older, and perhaps, more experienced?
Your classmates will look up to you as a model, for advice etc.
its up to you what kind of person you want to be. you can continue to be a recluse and live out a loner lifestyle, or try to be more sociable with other people.
also, you can try to see poly in a new light, as a new start. There, it will be a world of new people, younger people. Good opportunity to shed your old life and mould your new identity.
Originally posted by deathmaster:you just have to view it with an open mind
having finish NS, you will no doubt be one of the few laojiao in poly, being older, and perhaps, more experienced?
Your classmates will look up to you as a model, for advice etc.
its up to you what kind of person you want to be. you can continue to be a recluse and live out a loner lifestyle, or try to be more sociable with other people.
also, you can try to see poly in a new light, as a new start. There, it will be a world of new people, younger people. Good opportunity to shed your old life and mould your new identity.
U tell poly friends army stories they sure like one.
Come my pub lah, no need poly or JC, after 2 years, you more than qualify to work in any service industry, dun worry, Jie jie Angel will personally teach you how to survive and make money that not a single JC or Poly in singapore have such courses...by the way, you good looking or not? muscular or macho or not?
Thanks for all the advices!! I'm feeling a bit stress now. Haha. Anyway, I don't really want to disclose too much information about NS and which Poly I'm going to. I don't want to be tracked down!! Lol.
I know some of the mistakes I made in JC for me to end up like this.1) I was a god damn nerd, with nerdy hair, pimple face (have changed my hair style, pimple problem is at least 80% gone). 2) I do follow my classmates for lunch, but I never ate anything... 3)There was a period of time when I kind of isolate myself to concentrate on my studies (Bad move). 4) I joined other CCA that was not school based.
1 thing I did right, I was and still is, quite fit too. In fact, I'm one of the fittest in the class!! As for looks, I don't know, average I think? I'm not muscular, but I'm fit, no tummy and got packs! lol.
its hard to survive as a loner in poly i think.try to find a good friend at first.
Originally posted by Kooljumper:its hard to survive as a loner in poly i think.try to find a good friend at first.
True.
why nowadays jc kids so many problems....
Hi, I am a loner too! (in my primary 5,6 years)
The rule of the game once you enter poly...BE A QUEIT PERSON
They won't really hate you for that.
VERY QUEIT PERSON
AIYO......JIANI.........TIME TO ASK PEOPLE ON SPELLING U DUN ASK...GO POLY U KEEP QUIET AND SPELL WRONGLY
actually if you can survive through army. then i guess there won't be a problem for you in poly. reason being. army got much more fucked up people in it compared to poly.
so i guess to survive as a loner in poly you jus gotta b more hardworking. i guess it would still work out. jus my thoughts.
It is better to open up a little bit and have few friends.
I have been telling my kid to mix around, ask for study groups or even just go for lunch after school...that is the way to grow up.
I have social anxiety in polytechnic.
It was most serious during oral presentation in front of people.
My legs kept on shaking and my face turned red.
I could not speak properly too.
I never overcome this and need to take medication to relieve the symptoms.
Originally posted by Singapore AFOL:I have social anxiety in polytechnic.
I think most of the students fall into this group.
Fear of speaking in front of their classmates and schoolmates and teachers.
Originally posted by Singapore AFOL:I have social anxiety in polytechnic.
I got that too, its is like stage fear, so during holiday, my Dad get me a job as salegal, those that need to sell cooking and kitcher ware type, then given only 1 day training, I start selling those wares to aunties, uncles and peoples, hv a to attch a microphone and talk all day, and also hv to withstand people laughing and teasing you, especially those young boys, very naughty, come tease me but never buy. From here, I become a very good speaker and negiotator, that was how i overcome presentation and stage fear.
Now, in reverse, peoples become scare of me
Originally posted by angel7030:
I got that too, its is like stage fear, so during holiday, my Dad get me a job as salegal, those that need to sell cooking and kitcher ware type, then given only 1 day training, I start selling those wares to aunties, uncles and peoples, hv a to attch a microphone and talk all day, and also hv to withstand people laughing and teasing you, especially those young boys, very naughty, come tease me but never buy. From here, I become a very good speaker and negiotator, that was how i overcome presentation and stage fear.Now, in reverse, peoples become scare of me
cool job.... i always kinda admire those people who sell stuff in the street stalls and have a big audience of uncles and aunties listening...
i saw this guy in hong kong doing that last week in a street market in wanchai, and the aunties were like his fans! when he asks questions, they even rushed to answer!
Originally posted by likeyou:I think most of the students fall into this group.
Fear of speaking in front of their classmates and schoolmates and teachers.
Yah but do have social amxiety in other social activities.
It's just that public speaking is the most serious.
Other activities not so serious.
But still gt to take medicine.
Originally posted by angel7030:
I got that too, its is like stage fear, so during holiday, my Dad get me a job as salegal, those that need to sell cooking and kitcher ware type, then given only 1 day training, I start selling those wares to aunties, uncles and peoples, hv a to attch a microphone and talk all day, and also hv to withstand people laughing and teasing you, especially those young boys, very naughty, come tease me but never buy. From here, I become a very good speaker and negiotator, that was how i overcome presentation and stage fear.Now, in reverse, peoples become scare of me
I can speak infront of ppl now liao without much difficulty.
Originally posted by coffeebreak:
cool job.... i always kinda admire those people who sell stuff in the street stalls and have a big audience of uncles and aunties listening...i saw this guy in hong kong doing that last week in a street market in wanchai, and the aunties were like his fans! when he asks questions, they even rushed to answer!
Exactly, after this job, I went back to school, I can even talk freely with the principal, and my teachers also said, I talk like a pro, so matured, and when I see my singaporean classmates, all still like kids looking for mommies. And that is where I become a business woman of today. Just waiting for Forbes to interview me.
Originally posted by Singapore AFOL:
Yah but do have social amxiety in other social activities.It's just that public speaking is the most serious.
Other activities not so serious.
But still gt to take medicine.
During my school time, I also very quiet, dare not speak up. Stess!!!
kicked out of school because of ur illness ?
Originally posted by BadzMaro:kicked out of school because of ur illness ?
Who?
Originally posted by BadzMaro:kicked out of school because of ur illness ?
Who?
Who?
Who?
Who?
Threadstarter
Who?
Threadstarter