Hi all, i need some help regarding bulimia. Someone close to me is having this disease and i have totally no clue how to help her. She's aware of her condition as well, but refuse to seek professional help. She fears that it may become a bad record and affect her future job opportunities.
She has been trying to keep her emotions under control and having a more regular and balanced diet. But somehow, she still can't get rid of bulimia. Is there any advice from someone who had past experience or is more knowledgable regarding this?
Many thanks! :)
u can bring her go see doctor, thats the best help you can give her
At least she's on the mend. My guess is that she needs to keep her mind off her own image, or at least be more occupied with things around her rather than herself. If she frequently watches shows or read stuff with content like models, fashion, and etc, it will not help at all, so let her know it would be good if she can shift her interests to other more... substantial... content like Time or NatGeo (at least if she's bored by Times the pretty pictures and stories in NatGeo can interest her). Last thing she needs is more fashion magazines to sway her. OK maybe she's not a fashion mag person, but just in case she is.
She would probably falter and deteriorate again. That's common... no one said it's going to be easy. The most you can do is just stick by her throughout the whole thing. Keep encouraging her.
If things get really bad, seek help
I've known people with eating disorders, saw one shake off the disorder completely. This one went to hospital. She used to shake her leg a lot while sitting so she can 'get rid of calories' while not doing anything. After hospitalization and help from my mother (who is her good friend) now she's an entrepreneur and she managed to get a boyfriend. See? Eating well and being busy with achieving your dreams make you look more attractive than one who throws up in the toilet frequently. I honestly don't know how a negative comment on your friend's eating habits would work on her though, different people react differently. But since your friend is on the mend, I'd say that's a great improvement already. Just keep going.
Sorry if my lengthy story doesn't exactly help in a direct way, but I'd love to show some concern because it's so sad when you see healthy and smiley friends become skinny and all sadfaced. It really is sad.
J
Dr Ang Yong Guan @ paragon is a good place for treatment.
Thanks all for your two cents of advice!
Is it really true that your employer can check whether you went to a psychiatrist?
Originally posted by penguin10101:Thanks all for your two cents of advice!
Is it really true that your employer can check whether you went to a psychiatrist?
No the records are kept confidential.
Unless maybe u mentally unstable in office go whack ur boss and ended up in court case. Maybe then they can check your records.
Bulimia is a mental illness. She should seek help from the professional.. better book appointment for her...
Yes. Must seek medical treatment ASAP.
If she's on regular medication, it should control her illness right?
Ask her to join sgforums, many here olso got Bulimia, some more worst...she will be able to rehabit herself here and hopefully can cure her illness..its free!
It is not the Y chromosome, it could be the XXYY, the 23rd pair of chromosome that created bulimic in the first place, not just Y, X also play a part.
Dr Angel
Genetic Specialist
NUH
"Bulimia is a mental illness. She should seek help from the professional.. better book appointment for her..."
+1
Proper treatment probably requires professional help, but perhaps some things can be done on a personal basis that may help? Try talking to them about how they feel and building that level of trust with them so that they feel more comfortable sharing their feelings. Lots of positive-talk might help too.
penguin10101
Bullimia and anorexia are forms of eating disorder. They have more to do with self confidence or warp senses of beauty rather than mental illness. Tell your friend, they are not the same as the other mental cases.
Especially, young girls between puberty and young adulthood. They can be extreme critical of their looks.
There is no stigma or bad record attached with seeing a doctor. Medical records are extremely confidential.
The GP may refer your friend to a psychiatrist - a doctor trained in medicine and psychology. He will know what to do - depend on severity of her case, medication, counselling, therapy or mix.
remove the psychology of perfectionism from our lives
Dr ANG YONG GUAN is a good doctor.
Also got many female psychiatrists.... some young ones also......
She's afraid of getting fat i think. Sometimes when she's emotionally unstable due to stress etc, she will stuff herself with food. Then go to the toilet to vomit out. Maybe finding her an alternative to destress would help?
She's trying to rely on herself to control her appetite. Medication may have side effects too, better to overcome it without medication help? I guess her condition is not so serious yet.
I'm just curious, almond cookies has bulimia before?
I read a book on it at the library....
My recommendation is to search for a specialist..... (meaning a doctor/ psychiatrist who has handled such cases before)
Intervention is the only key...
Ok good luck...
Funny how, my granny told me, last time, no psychiatrists or mental hospital, everyone is bright and think properly, today, got psychiatrist and IMH, people start to go mad more...siao liao
Seek a doctor first. Yes medication has side effects, but you need medication to aid you to stop it. Dont delay till your body gets destroyed.
Originally posted by angel7030:Funny how, my granny told me, last time, no psychiatrists or mental hospital, everyone is bright and think properly, today, got psychiatrist and IMH, people start to go mad more...siao liao
Got lah my mom kampong village gt a few insane cases.
It's just lastime no medical knowledge tot pocessed by evil spirits.
Nowadays still gt ppl link psychological problems with evil spirits or pocession.
Originally posted by angel7030:Funny how, my granny told me, last time, no psychiatrists or mental hospital, everyone is bright and think properly, today, got psychiatrist and IMH, people start to go mad more...siao liao
Soon IMH will get bigger and expand. Maybe one lady got listed in stock exchange.
Lastime in my mom's kampong got a few go NS then insane. Some is other reasons.
hi all, anyone a bulimic here?