Originally posted by Rrrsnider:okay with all that tide against me, maybe i need to change my view a little. cost of living is higher in singapore?
what i am impressed about singapore is its friendly people, the level of technology is quite advanced - here the politicians talk about stuff, in your country they actually do stuff! but i really can't understand the local problem and the excessively sexist views expressed that everything depends on the male for economics of the family. relationships are then only for economic reasons and the family is not set up on love and attachment. (ok i am a romantic!). i think love and respect should be the basis of any ST or LT relationship. otherwise we are no less than machines. gals don't let the guys intimidate! but please guys (i do love guys - and am not gay) don't think i am a bra burner .... a woman's libber..... i don't think men and women are equal..... they are different and each contribute hell of a lot to any relationship.
i don't have a problem of being the main income earner, but if so i expect my partner to chip in and do much more around the house and for the kids (i am yet to have!). hey singapore gals speak up, do you share this view?
the australian government is not a benevolent organisation. it is a system set up for doing stuff which needs to be done collectively. money does not come from thin air. it comes from us and is redistributed to us (spending dist. is different to funding dist.). the bottom line is what the central organisation does is what its people want. otherwise that organisation ceases to exist.
i apologise if i offended any local macho guys, but please think it through rationally and guys think what it would be like if you were a gal and gals think what it would be like if you were a guy! if you can appreciate and understand the other's thinking each one is set up on the road to good relationships.- whether it man/woman, worker/boss, service providor/customer....etc.
Because we are still an Asian culture after all, many of the traditional expectations remain. A guy's income cap is regarded as the grounds for stability and is mostly the basis on whether the guy's dependable or not.
Due to development and urbanization, women are now liberalized and very much educated. They seek equal rights as men but shirk away their traditional roles as carers for the family. However, the expecation of a man as the house's breadwinner remains. . This acts as a double edged sword for many guys such as TS who earn below the 2k cap, in having trouble finding them signficant other.
Great that your government distributes wealth !! In Australia, you can depend on state welfare. One is never truly penniless and anybody in need could find the adequate assistance they require .
Singapore our government does not share wealth !! They hoard it. Although they pretend to sanction some welfare packages, but all these will be leeched back by their unfavourable policies eventually ~~
In Singapore, it becomes an ironic, vicious cycle where the rich becomes richer and the poor becomes poorer.
What do you hope to come out of a situation when people are left to fend for themselves ??
asian culture? is that the reason or the excuse?
heritage, culture, old practices are passed down over the ages. but man never had HDB (i hope i got that right?) until now. they were lucky if they had caves. then they developed .....fire, farming, a roof over ones heads....... still primitive.
so how did we get here.... by improvement, invention, development........change. so lets get out ov the caves and go and live in real homes, after food for every meal.......
please i am not having a go at asian values. i think highly of it, like and respect it. all i am saying is cuture will change and fit yur environment. your culture today is not the same as 2000 year ago.... even your language has changed, developed and moved on. english has and i am sure asian ones too. culture does not and should not dictate the environment.
Originally posted by Rrrsnider:asian culture? is that the reason or the excuse?
heritage, culture, old practices are passed down over the ages. but man never had HDB (i hope i got that right?) until now. they were lucky if they had caves. then they developed .....fire, farming, a roof over ones heads....... still primitive.
so how did we get here.... by improvement, invention, development........change. so lets get out ov the caves and go and live in real homes, after food for every meal.......
please i am not having a go at asian values. i think highly of it, like and respect it. all i am saying is cuture will change and fit yur environment. your culture today is not the same as 2000 year ago.... even your language has changed, developed and moved on. english has and i am sure asian ones too. culture does not and should not dictate the environment.
C'mon girl.. all these idealistic rants.
Don't you wish you can marry a man who will take care of you for life? So you can focus on raising your baby.. and enjoy a good life all without having to break a sweat nor lift a finger ?
I've travelled many places.. no matter how well evolved the culture is in that country... women will always be looking for men who can provide adequate or better resources. Especially those who are well aware they are well endowed.
In Singapore.. women are not required to cook.. because of the abundance of delicious food every corner you turn.. and domestic chores are carried out by cheap, foreign domestic maids/help. The car, equivalent to price of a home, is but a symbol of status.
In a country where every convenience can be bought ....All you need.. to have a good life is... money. That's the currency that spans all languages, geographical boundaries and culture.
Now .. if only men can carry babies in their tummy.. the world will be a truly wonderful place.
Originally posted by Rrrsnider:why do we keep talking about what the guy earns or can earn? couples got to think how much they can bring back as a family unit, whether they will be happy with that take and what compromises they will settle for. that's a relationship. after all how much is enought 1,500? 15000? 150000? 1500000? .......... the sky's the limit.
right.
TS earns $1.5K, but if gf earns more or enough for them both to survive and they're willing to share....then what's the problem? Must be guy to earn big dollars meh?
Yes there are cultural factors that might be in play, but those are not rules.
jojobeach and perhaps loor
of course it great to bed down a loaded guy or win lotto. but it's foolish to think money buys happiness. maybe i may sucumb too? who know? i'm not ready yet but love to have babies. but don't want to live alone while hubby works all hour to buy my dreams. or look after the babies 24/7..... need a break hubby needs to do too.
i will tie the know because i want to be with him and share what we do..... babies, shopping, sleeping, holidaying etc....etc.... not for him to be unavailable and each find our own company.
Originally posted by Rrrsnider:jojobeach and perhaps loor
of course it great to bed down a loaded guy or win lotto. but it's foolish to think money buys happiness. maybe i may sucumb too? who know? i'm not ready yet but love to have babies. but don't want to live alone while hubby works all hour to buy my dreams. or look after the babies 24/7..... need a break hubby needs to do too.
i will tie the know because i want to be with him and share what we do..... babies, shopping, sleeping, holidaying etc....etc.... not for him to be unavailable and each find our own company.
of course money can't buy happiness. But lets be realistic, you will need money to hire a babysitter so you and your hubby can have a break, buy diapies and feed them food after they are weaned off your boobies 2 years after that cute little bundle is born, yes ?
Now you don't want to be slogging your ass off trying to make ends meet.. while your hubby cooks clean and launder your undies now would you ? By the time you get home.. and he's ready for jiggies.. you'd be all shrivelled and exhausted.. really.. you just wanna turn your back on him and go to dreamland...that poor chap will be wanking himself off your wedding photos.
Of course...happiness is not all money.... he must have great personality.. huggable.. jiggable.. and all the sugar and spice... yes ? But wouldn't it be great if he have em all.. and the moolah too ? Wonderful yes ? Now why would you settle for less ?
True.. some men are not marriage material because they are already married to their work. There are plenty of single millionaires out there ready to prove my point.
Now, if you can just find yerself a well rounded.. well balanced man..your Vjayjay will be yelling..ohh baby baby !!! Nothing wrong with that.. it's all primal instinct.
lol.
Money - you need a certain amount to survive....especially in Sgp.
Whether it's $1.5K or $1.5m, it doesn't mean you're happy.
jojobeach you're mssing the point. you're drowning in money, but more likely not my type! money is a means to an end............ not an end in itself.
think outside the square. i think Loor agrees with me. see even another singaporean has values a foreigneer can share! $1.5K guy i'm sure there's many more gals like me in singapore. good luck but you need to keep looking.
hear hear fugazzi, my sentiments.
the most satisfying and rewarding way to choose your partner is certainly not $$$$$$$$$. it's only a mean to an end. if you focus on the end the means are relevant only to the extent that tool helps you achieve or reach your goal.
please check what system you are in....
look at the US capitalist system and the trouble it's in. look how strong china's communist system is. and what happened to the old USSR's socialist system. so which system is better? neither, it's what fits the population.
a woman and her man are drawn and bonded together by the glue of love. money cannot be that glue but may help make the bed they lie in a little softer.
Fcukpap real life is not a movie.
Originally posted by Rrrsnider:look at the US capitalist system and the trouble it's in. look how strong china's communist system is. and what happened to the old USSR's socialist system. so which system is better? neither, it's what fits the population.
a woman and her man are drawn and bonded together by the glue of love. money cannot be that glue but may help make the bed they lie in a little softer.
Fcukpap real life is not a movie.
"a woman and her man are drawn and bonded together by the glue of love. money cannot be that glue but may help make the bed they lie in a little softer."
.. quotable quote of the year.
then dun marry and remain single. you can be happy without getting married.
Willy Shakespeare....All the world's a stage.....
It's not about the money money money....
..................... each player has it's entrances and exits.........
dear lord you're drowning in it. you know to some money's a dirty word! and thanks jojobeach for your compliments, unless you were having a go at me! i really do believe and hope i'm not rudely awoken when i'm in my 50's and 60's and broke! at least i would have lived the best half century (less a few years until i find him!) with the one i love.
Money is not a dirty word at all. It's important, but not the most important of course. It is merely a tool of transaction.
You can be happy with or without money. This means they are two different things, and it's a conscious choice of whether you want none, just one of them, or both of them.
some earn $22 per day also got GF....amazing
Gambler who keep asking money also got wife and gf, what is $22? better than none, and furthermore $22 do not need to file tax relief to Inland Revenue Authority and also dun hv to contribute to CPF.
Originally posted by eagle:Money is not a dirty word at all. It's important, but not the most important of course. It is merely a tool of transaction.
You can be happy with or without money. This means they are two different things, and it's a conscious choice of whether you want none, just one of them, or both of them.
Money is dirty, after coming out of the printing machine, it went thru fishmongers, workers, prositutes, pimp, loan shark, housewife, toilet attendent, FTs, and so on, it is damn dirty, in Adam MoneyWorld, they said, money actually transmit lots of virus and bacteria, so becareful.
its not only how much you earn but also how much you spend.
Originally posted by angel7030:Gambler who keep asking money also got wife and gf, what is $22? better than none, and furthermore $22 do not need to file tax relief to Inland Revenue Authority and also dun hv to contribute to CPF.
becoz the wife & GF hopes he can multiply money easily....
Some women just loves gambler than womaniser.
Originally posted by angel7030:Some women just loves gambler than womaniser.
again becoz, gambler got chance to make some money.....womanizer guarantee to lose money