erm... uncle jOhO....Originally posted by jOhO:hi ecx,
i believe we all know where to go to get help for the legal issues, eg with house ownership, wat happens if divorce or this or that. HDB would be the first stop, and then possibly a lawyer that specilises in this..
i think where u might come in as a friend is the emotional support? she's obviously upset and unhappy, and you could be there for her when she needs to complain and kao beh.![]()
best of luck to u and more to her!
Disclaimer. Before I begin, I would like to state that whatever I advise here is of my best knowledge. They however should not in any way replace standard legal advice. To clarify matters further, I would suggest your friend go to Legal Aid for a $1 consultation or some other proper channel (there's free legal advice situated in Singapore, though these places can be quite packed.).Originally posted by Ecxentrique:One of my close friend just told me of his problem.. it goes like this.
His father have been having an affair with a prostitute in Batam. They have already married and the girl is having his baby. Now my friend and his family just got to know when the gal called his mom and told her that she was being forced into the marriage and that his father had been very violent to her. My friend, his brother and mom just confronted him today.. His father is incorrigible and very bad tempered,totally unreasonable. My friend's mom wont accept him into the family already, ask him to go over to batam where he is wanted by the police. His father also admitted to liking the girl there more than his family here. Now he wants to sell the house (4rm hdb). The flat is paid by him but the owners name are his parents. So if they sell the house now what will happen? who will get the money and where will it go? my friend just started work and he is paying by cpf, his parents cpf already depleted.. sometimes pay by cash.. I dunno how to advice him so seeking help her..
Any kind souls have any advice?
Would like to straighten out the facts clearly before I advise just in case I get anything wrong?Originally posted by Ecxentrique:Hi Everyone,
Thanks for the opinions and advice. Maybe I just provide a little more into the situation as Dev has pointed out.
His dad has actually stopped paying for the house once my friend started work. So now actually the house is being paid by my friend's cpf. His dad actually has stop paying for a few months liao.. Its actually retribution to him cos just a year ago, he chased his own father (i.e. my friend's grandfather out of the house accusing him of the very same thing he is guilty of now.. having an affair outside. The accusation is just to blind us from the truth as the grandfather lent him a lot of money to buy flat and now he just wants the father to return some. And he refused and digs up some old trashy stuff to shield the fact that he has used the money on somewhere else)
But I digress..
So now actually only my friend is paying for the house. His mom is working but dun have cpf. His father is a cab driver so no cpf and also he has stopped paying by cash.
Yah his dad is one really mean guy. Heard he got the girl there pregnant and even abused her physically. I dunno what to say. Also now I hear he already left the house. The police in Batam also looking for him cos of the abuse case that has been reported.
Hmm... Good that we've finally got our facts right. It's funny how you could have actually missed out one of the most important things?Originally posted by Ecxentrique:Perhaps there was some misunderstanding at the beginning which might have led u to still think that my friend's grandparents are still alive. His granma died very long time ago. His grandpa (the one that was being chased out passed away apparently commited suicide at a relatives place) So now the owners of the flat is my friend and his parents. My friend is considered to be a paying occupant and the parents are the primary owners.
Now the case in Batam has been confirmed and that I have been told he has gone back after the quarrel to Batam on saturday evening. But apparently came back again. So now my friend suspects what the gal in batam told her mom. The fact now could be that the police in batam may not really be looking for him since he already can come out so fast and that he seem quite ready to pack his bags and leave when they quarelled the other time.
My friend bday is 19th june
His father 6th nov
Dunno abt his grandparents.. Will it still be relevant if they are no longer ard?
Just curious y will u need to have their zodiac?
Thanks
Originally posted by Ecxentrique:
ok maybe i will answer some of the more impt questions first:
This flat is now owned by 3 names according to hdb, namely my friend's fathes, his mom and himself he just added his name in to pay for the flat using his cpf account (after he started work). So the original 2 owners is my friends parents. they went to seek advice from hdb and the hdb pple say that there is no way that any 2 person can succeed in selling the house. All 3 must be in agreement before the sale can take place.
Yup. The selling of the flat won't take place unless all 3 of them are agreeable to it OR one of them decides to buy over the flat in legal terms. So I don't see an issue with the father wanting to sell the house now?
Yes him mom is also around and has went to apply for a protection order from the family court after his father left home.
Why the protection order? Was there previous reports of physical abuse on her? Still, you haven't told me... What is his mum's zodiac?
Since his father is one of the owners of the house, he has every rights to return despite the protection order. UNLESS, he does extreme things to break the order.
My friend is 23, his mom 50 and his dad 49.
His grandfather was not an owner of the flat, he used to own the first flat and the second one but now the thrid one that they live in my friend's father managed to exclude his name from it. This is what he told me. When they were trying to get the second flat, my friend's dad borrowed a huge some from my friend's granfather (i.e. his own dad) And then never returned the sum, even after repeated attempt from the old man to get some money back to buy some medication. But the father always sidestep the issue and brings back old history abt the grandfather commintting adultery and then eventually abt the same time last year, the grandfather out of desparation attempted to stab him, the case was reported and the old man was forced out of the house. He then commited suicide in a relative's place in early january. These are just additional info but just so that you know wat sort of man (the father) is.
Ok.
My friend is ok. I think his father is the sort that will lose himself in any logical argument. My friend said that there is no way that the family can get down to discuss things with him and before long his father will rattle onto some very irrelevant topics and sidestep the issue althogether and shift the blame onto someone else. So on that friday nite when they discuss things the father really lost it and got violent and started to make threats. They seldom dare to raise their voice or opinions in the family cos it will just be debunked by the father and so that time was the first time when both sides lost it and got into the major argument.
Simple. There shall be no discussions then? I don't see an issue about that? In legal terms, he has no rights to sell the flat. If he decides to resort to threats, there is protection order against him and they (your friend and his mother) can file a police report and issue a warning against him.
Regards.