tink u r veri stress, better go hv a rest, play games or anything tat help u relax, dun tink abt the exams for nw, can always continue few hours later... the stress already affecting ur slp so u reali need to take ur mind off ur exams... chill...Originally posted by bismarck:first of all is, though my exams are damn near, i simply dont have the mood to study. dunno why. i rather have tutorials to do,practicals to complete than to face my notes at all.
i cant really do my tutorials without facing my notes.
and i feel extremely restless since weeks. same for my lack of mood to study, has happened for weeks or i shld say for months.
another thing is, i seem to be unable to sleep well.
the reason why i am posting at this hour is because i woke up moments ago like because of stress. too much thoughts in my head. i cant recall what thoughts did i have that caused me to wake up. but i am afraid to go back to sleep since i have this 'confused' state of mind still within me.
neither can i stay online doing nothing though my lessons start late tmr.
i am really damn stressed. i dont want to forward modules this sem and i know for some modules i am likely to do so.i got this gut feeling and i deep down i know i dont know much abt the module.
does anyone have any ideas how to reverse this lack of mood to study ?
not sure if chocolate works. been increasing my dose of chocs lately.
biotechOriginally posted by Parka:Chill out dude.
What course are you taking?
Anyway, you can arrange with some friends to study outside together.
Don't let yourself near distractions.
Originally posted by bismarck:biotech
i have few friends and the ones i am abit close....they dont study.
Sounds like you've got a bit of the 'MAMBO JAMBO' there? It's your results and studies that you're concerned with there... No? By pulling in more things and adding to your STRESS level certainly doesn't help... It 'help'... Help to lose your concentration....Originally posted by bismarck:my mum doesnt even care if i live or die, just whether i disgrace her or not.
my sis is at home and 1 thing nice is that, my sis asked me whether i wanted to eat fish for breakfast ( pan-fried fish) the moment i came downstairs
i say ok, thanks
my mum came back with breakfast, sure is buy for her 1. told her tht i couldnt sleep and asked her how, before this, she kept bugging me to teach her how to SMS. wtf! before i could finish, she interrupted me and asked me again how to sms.
WTF!
i tell her i am very stressed and she tells me.......how to sms ?
like she only cares abt her lame job, doesnt care if i like my course,classmates,lecturers, how's my day, only care whether i disgrace them because of my results.
i shouted back because i was extremely angry and she simply said " i am too busy lah. i got things to do"
like she only cares whether her colleagues get her emails or stuff. cares so much abt work than us. while ppl having supper. i am having my dinner.
alot of times at 8.30pm i am the only 1 at home.
ask her do things sure something go wrong. yesterday my sis shouted at her for printing her powerpoint slides in the wrong format and ends up she gets a stack of notes and not printed in those 6slides per page format.
i dont feel like coming home anymore.![]()
everything has to be memorisedOriginally posted by Parka:If they don't study then you have to study yourself already.
Biotech. A lot of things to memorize?
Think it's better to stay away from any distraction.
That's what I do.
Normally stay in school to study after lessons.
suggestions ?Originally posted by Devil1976:Sounds like you've got a bit of the 'MAMBO JAMBO' there? It's your results and studies that you're concerned with there... No? By pulling in more things and adding to your STRESS level certainly doesn't help... It 'help'... Help to lose your concentration....
You need to be FOCUS. Try to be OBJECTIVE. Areas of revision that you wanna cover for that day.... The rest of the 'Mambo Jambo' stuffs are SECONDARY... You can have time for them later. No time for studies now...
Sense of satisfaction for the day. Cover your areas of revision for each day on schedule and you'll rest well. If not, at least you've tried. If really no time, try 'scanning' through for the more unimportant topics or information...
You inability to sleep well is most likely contributed by...
1. STRESS. Direct or indirect for studies.
2. Accomplishing NOTHING. When you know you need to cover your revisions and studies load but you 'know' that you're not tackling the problem... Your body gives a natural appropriate response to that sunconsciously.... That's why 'sense of satisfaction' is important for this point...
Regards.
Originally posted by bismarck:does anyone have any ideas how to reverse this lack of mood to study ?
not sure if chocolate works. been increasing my dose of chocs lately.
when it comes to term breaks or sch holidays and there is assignmens to be done.i like to do it at the start of the holidays but alot of times...slowly do until last minute then pedal to the medal.Originally posted by choco B:Are you typically a last minute worker?
Fear is a motivating force. Aren't you afriad if you fail you'll have to go another round of this sh|t. If you slack anymore it's even more certain you'll fail.
Try to set a Start date - tell yourself by eg. tomorrow 12 noon I'll start cramming till the exams. From now till the start date, play and do watever you want. But at start date, you have to honour it.
Small baby steps. Just look at the content page of your notes/books first. Get a feel of what you have to cover, what's essential, what can be left out. Then try scheduling chapters to a study plan. Then plan swee swee liao ... try to follow it, bit by bit.
Reward yourself. 1 hour of cramming, 15 minutes of TV / games etc.
Get out of the house since the family irritates you.
Btw, a little bit of sugar/chocolate makes the medicine go down but you still got to put the medicine in the mouth first.
Good luck & hang in there, it'll all be over soon.
like the xiong said. engineering almost = mathsOriginally posted by parkour:poly life sucks, im in engineering n i hate maths n all they give me is maths, what i can say is... have to study by yourself no way out. It's do it or retake. Everyone has the same stress except for mass comm pple, like no stress at all
In case you didn't quite got what I've said the other time, this is a summarised version...Originally posted by bismarck:suggestions ?
Originally posted by Parka:Don't come to sgforums so often
Hm... thanks too man.Originally posted by Devil1976:In case you didn't quite got what I've said the other time, this is a summarised version...
1. PLAN and schedule the areas and topics to be covered by you on a routine basis (eg. daily <- That's the most practical and idea time frame I can suggest)
2. Be DISCIPLINE and CONSISTENT in the above plan. Do NOT think of the other 'unnecessary stuffs'. Stay in FOCUS of your OBJECTIVE(S).
3. Do NOT think of or invite other 'troubles' or things which could keep you OCCUPIED and hence depletes you of TIME and CONCENTRATION.
4. Schedule proper time for short breaks and rest. ESPECIALLY SLEEP at the end of the day. See these as REWARDS and you DESERVES them. AVOID giving yourself other rewards like chatting over the phone, playing computer games, surf net, watch TV or such... These activities tend to hook you on your time. You CAN'T afford to take the CHANCE. These or such bigger rewards should only come after your EXAMS' OVER. REMEMBER. You're NOT depleting yourself of these... You're just postponing them for MORE IMPORTANT things (your EXAMS)... SET your PRIORITY RIGHT. The way I see it.... You can either choose to ENJOY now and SUFFER, be regretful about it LATER... Or you can choose to 'SUFFER' now and ENJOY yourself after the exams... EIther way, you'll get to 'suffer' and 'enjoy'. The only difference is one comes with a good result and the other DON'T....
Regards.