Originally posted by jOhO:yeah.. we are all saints here, aren't we?

Give tt guy a tight slap and walk off. Let him embarassed in fornt of so many ppl.Originally posted by Ric_Ong:Was shopping at Bugis Junction just nw...when I saw this gal (ard mid 20s) who wif her bf. Suddenly, heard the guy shouting at this gal saying "...I buy this shirt cannot ar? You are tasteless, but I'm not as tasteless as you!"....this bast!@# was shouting and attracted many onlookers.
This gal was on the verge of crying. The guy ignored everyone and proceeded to the changing room. This gal...teary-eyed and embarassed...followed him like a 'slave' and waited for that bast!@# outside the changing room..... I was really furious. Somemore...frankly speaking...this gal (in terms of outlook etc) was too good for him (who was rather fat....and aggressive..no intention of criticising overwt people as I'm overwt too..) but this guy is realli worse than beast...nw I really know love is blind........sigh..![]()
Well, my conscience is clear when I said that the guy was being a bastard bcos of the way he treats his gf in this manner. It was not because she is good looking or what. Think it thoroughly...........and tell me how u will feel.....when u see this incident happening to a person (be it male/female; pretty/ugly)...and then was belittled by her bf/gf in public...in front of everyone....how u feel? Happy? Funny?..Not trying to be a saint...bcos I'm not...but my feeling at that time was of extreme anger.Originally posted by Ah Ma:What we see is only the part of a chapter, nobody knows what happening between the couple......
u feel he is a bastard cos the girl is gd looking?
who knows go back home, the girl is majong queen, everytime use the guy money lose majong..
Hmm.... At least someone's thinking here...?Originally posted by Ah Ma:What we see is only the part of a chapter, nobody knows what happening between the couple......
u feel he is a bastard cos the girl is gd looking?
who knows go back home, the girl is majong queen, everytime use the guy money lose majong..
I know you're being frank... And nobody's really saying anything against you... It's kinda 'normal' for a human to react that way? Before I comment on anything, perhaps you would like to read the many previous posts by the others..? Most of them have reacted almost the same way as you did.... Ah Ma... Err.... She's not quite 'human'...?Originally posted by Ric_Ong:Well, my conscience is clear when I said that the guy was being a bastard bcos of the way he treats his gf in this manner. It was not because she is good looking or what. Think it thoroughly...........and tell me how u will feel.....when u see this incident happening to a person (be it male/female; pretty/ugly)...and then was belittled by her bf/gf in public...in front of everyone....how u feel? Happy? Funny?..Not trying to be a saint...bcos I'm not...but my feeling at that time was of extreme anger.
U said that maybe the gal is mahjong queen, everytime use the guy money lose mahjong. Well kindly take note of two issues.
Issue one: Even if she is Mahjong queen, or that she may not be a saint....but the keyword is "public". Do u think the guy should shout so loud that it attracts onlookers? The guy has many choices. If he is feeling bad mood/frustrated at that time, does it warrant his actions to shout at his gf in frt of others? In public? Maybe I'm a MCP...but I never believe in men shouting at women in public.
Issue two: Note what she did after being shouted in front of everyone....she followed her bf to the changing room..teary eyed and waited for him outside while he changed. Visibly embarassed and quiet, with tears rolling.......how do u judge her character then? If she was the Mahjong queen, I don't think she would have done this....maybe I'm wrong..but I still do not think so..
My frank opinions...![]()
You mean you will explode at your gf when you cannot control your emotions in public too? Or if your gf cannot control her emotions in public, its perfectly all right for her to shout at you?Originally posted by Devil1976:I know you're being frank... And nobody's really saying anything against you... It's kinda 'normal' for a human to react that way? Before I comment on anything, perhaps you would like to read the many previous posts by the others..? Most of them have reacted almost the same way as you did.... Ah Ma... Err.... She's not quite 'human'...?>
Let's talk about 'in public'.... Shouldn't yell at a girl in public.... Ok.... Usually when a person cannot catch hold of his / her emotions then such a thing would happen.... Males or females alike... Ever seen girls who did WORSE to their bf in PUBLIC? Well... I've seen it.... Like the many topics repeated over and over again... It never pays to be a 'nice guy'... And yet girls out there are complaining that 'nice guys' are all either married, gay or killed? Hmm... Ok... A little off the track... Back to subject. You mentioned that your 1st normal feeling or response back then was 'anger'. Emotions over logic. Was it any much difference from the guy shouting at his gf in public? Emotions over logic....
2nd thing... Hmm... Perhaps you've not seen enough of women yet? I'm not trying to speak ill of women here... No no... My 2nd point is that even if a girl is to be embrassed and cry that way... It also doesn't mean that she can't be a hopeless gambler? I'm not saying that she is one... But there're just simply so many possible scenerios and there's a chance that she MIGHT be one? Think Ah Ma is just seizing an example there... Fair enough... She could be an innocent poor soul too...? But if you do bother, ask around your female friends? I'm sure they'll know females more 'in-depth' than you do probably...? And IF they bother to tell you...? They'll probably tell you you've not seen enough...?
Your last point... Don't worry... Very normal too... In my words it's under "Law of Principle Acceptance".... You mentioned that you're not sure, YET you still don't think you're wrong... In other words, it's just a 'feeling' or an 'instinct'...? Not a totally groundless one but more like a triggered one....?
There could be more things I can tell you... But alas... I'm a lazy Devil.... Let's all learn from our lives...?![]()
Hmm... I feel that your comments have opened up another perspective into this issue. I do think you have a pt. However, I do not agree on this 2 sentences from you "Ever seen girls who did WORSE to their bf in PUBLIC? Well... I've seen it.... " and "Perhaps you've not seen enough of women yet?"Originally posted by Devil1976:I know you're being frank... And nobody's really saying anything against you... It's kinda 'normal' for a human to react that way? Before I comment on anything, perhaps you would like to read the many previous posts by the others..? Most of them have reacted almost the same way as you did.... Ah Ma... Err.... She's not quite 'human'...?>
Let's talk about 'in public'.... Shouldn't yell at a girl in public.... Ok.... Usually when a person cannot catch hold of his / her emotions then such a thing would happen.... Males or females alike... Ever seen girls who did WORSE to their bf in PUBLIC? Well... I've seen it.... Like the many topics repeated over and over again... It never pays to be a 'nice guy'... And yet girls out there are complaining that 'nice guys' are all either married, gay or killed? Hmm... Ok... A little off the track... Back to subject. You mentioned that your 1st normal feeling or response back then was 'anger'. Emotions over logic. Was it any much difference from the guy shouting at his gf in public? Emotions over logic....
2nd thing... Hmm... Perhaps you've not seen enough of women yet? I'm not trying to speak ill of women here... No no... My 2nd point is that even if a girl is to be embrassed and cry that way... It also doesn't mean that she can't be a hopeless gambler? I'm not saying that she is one... But there're just simply so many possible scenerios and there's a chance that she MIGHT be one? Think Ah Ma is just seizing an example there... Fair enough... She could be an innocent poor soul too...? But if you do bother, ask around your female friends? I'm sure they'll know females more 'in-depth' than you do probably...? And IF they bother to tell you...? They'll probably tell you you've not seen enough...?
Your last point... Don't worry... Very normal too... In my words it's under "Law of Principle Acceptance".... You mentioned that you're not sure, YET you still don't think you're wrong... In other words, it's just a 'feeling' or an 'instinct'...? Not a totally groundless one but more like a triggered one....?
There could be more things I can tell you... But alas... I'm a lazy Devil.... Let's all learn from our lives...?![]()
Hi, let's cool it. I'm sure everyone has his/her own perspectives. Let's view this topic with an open mind ya?Originally posted by ~AiTaiYuan~:You mean you will explode at your gf when you cannot control your emotions in public too? Or if your gf cannot control her emotions in public, its perfectly all right for her to shout at you?
No one's saying there aren't cases whereby similar scenarios have occured, with guys as the victims. Its just normal for onlookers to feel unjust for people who get shouted at in public, be it a victimised girl or guy. And my onlookers in this sense refers to both sexes too.
Emotions over logic. I think its fine to let emotions take over here. The initial response of the poster was that he was angry..angry for witnessing such a scene. You said emotions over logic. Well, fine i agree..BUT, where's the logic in this case? Nobody knows who this couple is..nobody knows the character of these 2 people. You put logic into the equation when its possible. This was a very simple case of a bf shouting at a gf in public, the general initial response has to be anger isn't it. But obviously, there are people out there who "have seen a lot", take great pains to conjure impressively unique answers to such a simple case.
Originally posted by ~AiTaiYuan~:You mean you will explode at your gf when you cannot control your emotions in public too? Or if your gf cannot control her emotions in public, its perfectly all right for her to shout at you?
No one's saying there aren't cases whereby similar scenarios have occured, with guys as the victims. Its just normal for onlookers to feel unjust for people who get shouted at in public, be it a victimised girl or guy. And my onlookers in this sense refers to both sexes too.
Emotions over logic. I think its fine to let emotions take over here. The initial response of the poster was that he was angry..angry for witnessing such a scene. You said emotions over logic. Well, fine i agree..BUT, where's the logic in this case? Nobody knows who this couple is..nobody knows the character of these 2 people. You put logic into the equation when its possible. This was a very simple case of a bf shouting at a gf in public, the general initial response has to be anger isn't it. But obviously, there are people out there who "have seen a lot", take great pains to conjure impressively unique answers to such a simple case.
Originally posted by Ric_Ong:
Hmm... I feel that your comments have opened up another perspective into this issue. I do think you have a pt. However, I do not agree on this 2 sentences from you "Ever seen girls who did WORSE to their bf in PUBLIC? Well... I've seen it.... " and "Perhaps you've not seen enough of women yet?"
Well, frankly speaking, I have more female friends than guys because I was from a Business course during Poly and there were only 5 guys inclu me. Of course, I have seen gals doing worse to their bf in public. Like what I said, anything is possible in this world, so be it guys or gals, they may have done something more absurd at one point or another. So, guys/gals, any party may do worse to their bfs/gfs in public. I don't denounce this fact of life.
Hmm... Do you have a gf? How many gfs you had before? Not trying to press you down or mean anything too much here, but what you 'see' is not neccesarily what you 'think' it is.... Simple as that?
But let's focus on case-by-case basis. The case now is on this couple. The fact here...and I mean fact is that he was shouting at his gf at that point in frt of many. In this case, is this action justified? Even if he was emotional?
Depends? Is beating up someone justified? What if that someone is someone who had murdered your own family and cheated your family of its entire wealth? What about scolding and yelling of naughty kids in public? That's in public also now isn't it? Would that be justified? Maybe your next arguement would be... "Kids are too young too understand anything?" If that's the case I would like to add... "Being adults doesn't mean that someone is able to understand everything...."
Tell you my own encounter years back... It's a TRUE encounter and it's about a 'bad bf'.... I was with my gf at Fullerton One... Sitting there enjoying the sea breeze before Merlion was there.... Then something caught our attention... A couple was having a row just a distance away from us... The dialogue was something like that....
girl "Why must you DO THIS TO ME..?? I just want to have it... Why can't you just give it back to me...?"
guy (who by then had grabbed the girl's bag) "ISSIT REALLY THAT IMPORTANT TO YOU?! MORE THAN ANYTHING ELSE??"
girl (crying away and with arms and knees on the floor BEGGING...) "PLEASE... Just give it back to me... I'll listen to you and whatever you want....?"
guy "ISSIT REALLY THAT IMPORTANT TO YOU??! HEY! I'M ASKING YOU A QUESTION HERE... CAN YOU JUST ANSWER ME??"
girl "PLEASE..." (crying away...) The couple was really getting our attention by then, and I think we (my gf and I) were the only people around then...?
guy (throws the girl's bag onto the floor and some things in it dropped out...) "NAY... GO ON LAH... TAKE IT?!!"
girl crawling for the bag.... guy ran right up, pick up the bag and threw it even FURTHER... I was quite PISSED by then... I THOUGHT... No matter what was the story behind it, can't the guy just sit down and talk to the girl NICELY? EXPLAIN it to her instead?? I stood up... About to go and interfere...
guy (picks up a bottle on the floor...) "WHAT IS IT?? TOLD YOU TO STOP TAKING DRUGS ALREADY you NEVER CHANGE?? UNTIL WHEN THEN YOU WANNA CHANGE..??" (Open up the small bottle and throw the drugs all over the floor....)
Story about ends here... And I'll be telling you MORE based on this TRUE story...
The second fact I want to point out is that the gal, after being shouted, was teary-eyed and still waited for her bf silently while he changed. Again, I am not saying that she is 100% a saint...or she has never done anything embarassing to her bf before...anything is possible..
But looking at the 'facts' and 'those 2 points/instances at that time'....are those actions by her bf justified? Shouldn't we feel sympathy for the gal when she was still waiting for him despite being embarassed?
Well... I never say you couldn't? You could if you want to...? And by labelling her bf a 'bast*rd' SIMPLY because of that? Is that 'justified'?
And I was also 'at that point' felt angry.
Nope... No offence... But seems to me that you've carried that 'anger' enough with you for you to post this up here as a TOPIC?
P.S. I have never disagreed with what Ah Ma was saying. I was merely clarifying my own personal views. Your comments too has also opened up another perspective for us to view. Here, I think each has his/her pts....and there can never be a totally right or wrong view.
YUP... PRECISELY my point of view... That's why I'm entertaining you here...? We're all LEARNING what...?>
Originally posted by ~AiTaiYuan~:IN CONCLUSION...
You mean you will explode at your gf when you cannot control your emotions in public too? Or if your gf cannot control her emotions in public, its perfectly all right for her to shout at you?
YES, I would. As much as I HATE to do that and I've discussed with her over that matter, SHE... ENCOURAGES me to do that...?Well... Before you start to dig out reasons to her defence, I would like you to make a simple reference to the end part of your last post.... Regarding "take great pains to conjure impressively unique answers to such a simple case".... As NORMAL as you people are, I used to detest like an act too..? But I still think most people in their right frame of mind won't be enjoying all those stupid yellings & shoutings in public? Maybe it might be a nature for some people... That's the contradiction... People being afraid that they'll be labelled as having such a 'nature'... Avoiding such an act in normal context...? Oh... Just in case you've missed out on my story written for Ric, please refer to my previous reply to him about this 'bad bf' experience....?
Yup. Like I've said... It's NORMAL...
Emotions over logic. I think its fine to let emotions take over here. The initial response of the poster was that he was angry..angry for witnessing such a scene. You said emotions over logic. Well, fine i agree..BUT, where's the logic in this case? Nobody knows who this couple is..nobody knows the character of these 2 people. You put logic into the equation when its possible.
Hmm.... You DOESN'T know don't mean that there isn't a story behind it...? And in such cases as what Ric has mentioned, there USUALLY are... Now... I'm not in the position to judge whether the 'story' behind was enough for the bf to yell at the girl in public, SIMPLY because I DON'T KNOW the story...?
The 'logic' here is to have your emotions IN CHECK...? Like you've mentioned, you don't know the character of those 2 people... WHY the 'anger'? Don't know the 'behind story'...? WHY the 'BLAME'?
A guy ran over to a girl's table and grabbed the wallet from the table... Runs away... Her bf runs after the guy and BEAT the HELL out of him... The beaten guy explains... "I left my wallet there earlier and forgotten to take it.... I have to grab it and go join my friends..." So the bf would EXPLAIN... "I don't know the story behind it, so there's NO LOGIC... So it's OKAY for me to beat the guy up... Because at that point I was only feeling 'defensive' for my gf and 'anger'.... Which is a NORMAL response? WELL... Like I've agreed so many times earlier... It's a NORMAL response... You can feel ANGRY if you want to... But it's the ACTIONS you take after what you've experienced... EMOTIONS over LOGIC.... Are your actions BETTER justified than the ACTIONS you've seen...? Simply because it's done BY YOU then it can be more readily accepted by people? ON THE OTHER HAND, the bf's actions no matter whatever reason(s) behind it can never be justified? I actually didn't intend to say much in this thread... Because Ric's response was normal and his 'action' isn't really that bad? (meaning he has himself in check...) IMAGINE ANY of the other RESPONSES? Go SLAP him lah... KICK him lah....But since we're all LEARNING here... I don't mind a simple discussion?
In any case if you wants me to just shut up, I'll certainly be more than glad to terminate my discussion with you? I'm a VERY LAZY Devil you see??
>
This was a very simple case of a bf shouting at a gf in public,
SIMPLE if you don't wanna conjure impressively unique answers to such a simple case? Hmm... You should see how many our judges are handling their cases? If more of them like you around I'm SURE things would be more 'justified'....?
the general initial response has to be anger isn't it.
Not neccesarily?Though it's a NORM. But ASK around...? You'll see more deversified answers?
But obviously, there are people out there who "have seen a lot", take great pains to conjure impressively unique answers to such a simple case.
Hmm... This is one of the MOST INTERESTING part?> I won't blame you on this one... Because years back my thoughts would have been quite the SAME as you...? It kinda depends on your 'School of Thoughts'?
Think about.... Couples on the STREETS? How OFTEN do you come across them YELLING and SHOUTING in the public?You might have seen a few cases.... And the RELATIVE occurence might be HIGHER lately because of the poor economy and people in stress etc....
Here are some considerations... Compared to the NUMBER of COUPLES you bumped into EACH day, how many of the actually YELLED and SHOUTED in the public? You see... The rate should be relatively small UNLESS you have a BAD 'sampling'... ie. you might be in a place where everybody's experiencing stress and problems quite alike? etc. And then you WON'T be 'surprised' liao?![]()
Because the rate no matter how small, you still can bump into it.... Then what's the 'unique answers' by comparsion? IN FACT... Like I've mentioned earlier... There're ALMOST USUALLY a 'story behind' it... But of course, I'm not saying the story must be in favor of the bf....?
Then again you can never really be TOO SURE?
Especially when you don't even know the couple...?
Besides... Though the 'example' Ah Ma has seized is quite 'unique'... There're DEFINITELY MORE than just that scenerio to consider.... And there you have it.... PROBABILITY goes UP for an 'unique answer'....?
I feel it's rather pathetic that so many responses have been generated over a groundless incident that as aty has mentioned, spawned from ur disgust of seeing two total strangers going about their life.Originally posted by Ric_Ong:I guess many have contributed their useful views and comments on this thread.
Contributions from some have been particularly enlightening because it opens up many perspectives on maybe a rather 'simple' incident.
Let's not all view it as a 'who is right/wrong' mentality. Each has their own opinions/thinking....and hey, this is what a forum is all about --To open up discussions/perspectives on issues pertaining to our everyday lives.
Originally posted by Devil1976:"And in such cases as what Ric has mentioned, there USUALLY are..."
Hmm.... You DOESN'T know don't mean that there isn't a story behind it...? And in such cases as what Ric has mentioned, there USUALLY are... Now... I'm not in the position to judge whether the 'story' behind was enough for the bf to yell at the girl in public, SIMPLY because I DON'T KNOW the story...?
The 'logic' here is to have your emotions IN CHECK...? Like you've mentioned, you don't know the character of those 2 people... WHY the 'anger'? Don't know the 'behind story'...? WHY the 'BLAME'?
Originally posted by Devil1976:Court cases are never fought based on the truth. IN fact they revolve around doubts cos there is no truth until the verdict has been passed.
SIMPLE if you don't wanna conjure impressively unique answers to such a simple case? Hmm... You should see how many our judges are handling their cases? If more of them like you around I'm SURE things would be more 'justified'....?
Originally posted by Devil1976:Well i said GENERAL..and if that's not enough i said INITIAL.Find me a sample that will prove that wrong.
Not neccesarily?Though it's a NORM. But ASK around...? You'll see more deversified answers?
Think about.... Couples on the STREETS? How OFTEN do you come across them YELLING and SHOUTING in the public?You might have seen a few cases.... And the RELATIVE occurence might be HIGHER lately because of the poor economy and people in stress etc....
Here are some considerations... Compared to the NUMBER of COUPLES you bumped into EACH day, how many of the actually YELLED and SHOUTED in the public? You see... The rate should be relatively small UNLESS you have a BAD 'sampling'... ie. you might be in a place where everybody's experiencing stress and problems quite alike? etc. And then you WON'T be 'surprised' liao?![]()
Because the rate no matter how small, you still can bump into it.... Then what's the 'unique answers' by comparsion? IN FACT... Like I've mentioned earlier... There're ALMOST USUALLY a 'story behind' it... But of course, I'm not saying the story must be in favor of the bf....?
Then again you can never really be TOO SURE?
Especially when you don't even know the couple...?
Besides... Though the 'example' Ah Ma has seized is quite 'unique'... There're DEFINITELY MORE than just that scenerio to consider.... And there you have it.... PROBABILITY goes UP for an 'unique answer'....?
Originally posted by Devil1976:You keep suggesting you are constantly thinking, you have seen
IMAGINE ANY of the other RESPONSES? Go SLAP him lah... KICK him lah....
====================================================Originally posted by jOhO:I feel it's rather pathetic that so many responses have been generated over a groundless incident that as aty has mentioned, spawned from ur disgust of seeing two total strangers going about their life.
everyday i walk the streets i see inconsiderate pple, pple yelling at their kids, husbands, wives. i see poor drivers who could kill pple, pedestrians that think they own the roads... the list goes on. there is sometimes no basis for our judgement upon them, except our self-righteousness.
comment all u want, it's forever gonna be open ended.
Originally posted by Ric_Ong:first thing, if i wanna start a flame war, i will, as u said, this is a forum. and in this forum, it's up to devil to close the topic if he sees it out of hand. until then i will post freely, flame or otherwise, as you have.
====================================================
<>
-> [b]Well, I don't see what is wrong with that?? This is a forum. We are free to post anything as long as it's not abusive/illegal in any manners. I did not purposely post this thread to generate lotssss of responses. Anyone is allowed to post whatever they think/feel. Are you saying that all threads in this forum must be EXTREMELY EXCLUSIVE, then can post? Or something that is EXTREMELY INTERESTING? YES, I am disgusted to see the bf scolding his gf in public, in frt of everyone. That's why I posted. Reason being I want to see whether there are others who have other views on this matter. Devil1976, ATY, has generated their own persepectives into this matter which is very encouraging. This is what a forum is about
<>
-> Again, thanks for this listing. Are you suggesting that only if I saw someone killed on the streets, building collapse etc then I should post?? This is typical Singaporean view. They felt that simple incidents are just routine. Shouldn't bother. I have read news whereby a woman was robbed in broad daylight in front of a crowd and NOBODY actually gave chase! Because they find that it's not their business....nothing extremely exclusive/important. It is people's bochap attitude that is giving us Singaporeans a bad name. Of cos, not all are like that, I must emphasise.
Look at the story provided by Devil1976. When he initially saw the actions by the bf who, outwardly, ignored the pleas from the gf...he was also angered at first and wanted to approach the guy. Of cos, Devil1976 later realised that there's a story within. If all of us encouraged a 'bochap' attitude to all 'routine and simple' matters, then............the world is gonna be a very bitter place to live in.
My views again....u may disagree but pls dun try to start a flame war ya? [/b]
Anyway, seems u are really agitated or annoyed. Sigh...anyway, have never any intention to start a words of war with u or anyone....if u are in bad mood, then please shed it somewhere else la....u can't even control your temperament. Anyone who sees your post will know. Fine...u want to see some flaring up...here's one:Originally posted by jOhO:first thing, if i wanna start a flame war, i will, as u said, this is a forum. and in this forum, it's up to devil to close the topic if he sees it out of hand. until then i will post freely, flame or otherwise, as you have.
"what a bast!#$" to me reads as "what a basta[/i]rd", yes? u don't think that's abusive? for goodness sakes u're not even using the right term. how do u know that the guy in question was born out of wedlock? simply by him scolding his gf in public?
my opinions are, for MYSELF, is that i will give a sh[/i]it about things that are important. a stranger being scolded (not murdered or robbed) by another stranger is NOT important enuff for me to care. maybe to u, it is, then u're gonna be very distressed walking the streets everyday.
i give u a simple example. pple die everyday. as long as the person that dies isn't someone close to me, why should i bother? i mean, i'm not gonna laff at their misfortune, perhaps i may read the obituaries and say, haiz, poor thing left behind so many grand children, or that he died a tragic death. that's IT. i dun think i'd lose any sleep over it. same for u i suspect.
as i said b4, this discussion will always be open ended. but my argument is very specific. it's about being self-righteous.
i tell u wat, even if you ARE a saint, that doesn't give u a right to judge someone a bastard, regardless of whether u were emotionally unbalanced at the time of posting. that is where i'm coming from. he could well be an extremely lousy bf to his gf, and so wat are u gonna do then? wat CAN u do? oh, post in this forum calling him a bast[/i]ard. nice. that helps the girl that u pity so much, doesn't it?