I've been living in Brissy for the past year doing my studies. My frens and I have not encountered such incidents or people treating us as '2nd class'. The Australians I've come in contact with are really nice, friendly and most helpful.Originally posted by chguy:Just saw news from Channel NewsAsia; arsonists attack chinese restaurant. I guess too many chinese migrating to australia..
it isn't a racist nation now ....... but, it once was, and in some parts, still is. my friend was born and bred in aust, but, he had to endure quite a number of years of discrimination just becoz his skin color is yellowOriginally posted by ditzy:I've been living in Brissy for the past year doing my studies. My frens and I have not encountered such incidents or people treating us as '2nd class'. The Australians I've come in contact with are really nice, friendly and most helpful.
The case in mentioned is just an isolated incident. Once in awhile such things do happen, but its usually blown out of proportion. Austrailia is not a racist nation.
You changing your mind now?Originally posted by chguy:oh yes, the cause of the attack might be a warning; Australia government recruiting M'sian/Sporean dentists to overcome shortage. Guess the locals don't like the idea very much.
Ya I have not been to aus but I plan to migrate there in two years time.
ya... there still are racists in Australia. Haizz.. can tell by how they vote for the top 10 AUstralia Idol lor.Originally posted by chguy:Just saw news from Channel NewsAsia; arsonists attack chinese restaurant. I guess too many chinese migrating to australia..
ya met b4 oso... they r jz losers...Originally posted by JeweL81:ya... there still are racists in Australia. Haizz.. can tell by how they vote for the top 10 AUstralia Idol lor.
I've been in aust for half a yr and have only encountered once. This stupid drunk aussie guy shouted at my fren "you Farking asians, go back to your country!"
oh man.. some pple just cannot accept that we are better.
nxt time jus teel him "bring yr white arse down to chinatown n repeat tt"Originally posted by JeweL81:ya... there still are racists in Australia. Haizz.. can tell by how they vote for the top 10 AUstralia Idol lor.
I've been in aust for half a yr and have only encountered once. This stupid drunk aussie guy shouted at my fren "you Farking asians, go back to your country!"
oh man.. some pple just cannot accept that we are better.
Wats POME?Originally posted by windjammer:cannot expect too much from the land of people filled with POME...![]()
correction... is shud read like this...Originally posted by Ecxentrique:Wats POME?
agree... one of my frens was telling me that he (Singapore Indian) doesn't feel as much discrimination as the chinese students from sg... in fact, he finds that the racism is lesser than in sg leh... which i think is quite true....Originally posted by the_don:racism is everywhere, in every country, every nook and cranny. it's the extend of expression of such attitudes that makes the difference.
during my stay in briss, i have meet a few people who do not judge you by your race but i have also meet a few who spit on you just becos you are not white.
cheers to the rare individuals who can truely look into the eyes of another without considering the colour of their skin.
are you one of them?
you've been lucky gal. i've had idiots in cars yelling stuff that i don't want to mention, groups of men walking pass you just to make derogatory remarks, lecturers/tutors who ignore your questions but happily answers those from the white-skinned.Originally posted by coolger03:agree... one of my frens was telling me that he (Singapore Indian) doesn't feel as much discrimination as the chinese students from sg... in fact, he finds that the racism is lesser than in sg leh... which i think is quite true....
personally, i never encounter any racism in brissy too... i will usually take it as bad service being provided and not bcos of my skin colour...
erm... tath could be bcos we can't catch what obscenity they were shouting at us?? keke.... cos me and my housemates were quite bad in listening to their english...Originally posted by the_don:you've been lucky gal. i've had idiots in cars yelling stuff that i don't want to mention, groups of men walking pass you just to make derogatory remarks, lecturers/tutors who ignore your questions but happily answers those from the white-skinned.
I just thank God that these are minorities and i have met more nice folks then idiots.
Sometimes one have to look at things from their point of view and realise why they have racist feelings - whether it's displayed or not.
i hope your stay in brissy remains a good experience and have fun![]()
The people over there don't really have something for him either. I just pray he makes another boo-boo so our dollar can bounce back.Originally posted by men_@_arms:Australian Prime Minister is racist, he's making it harder for Asians to get into Australia for PR and employment.
Anywayz, people should always remain in their own country, none of this globalisation bullshit, because it just ends up in more suffering in the end.
HEY that is a big load of BS.. Chguy. I've had someone shouted at me.. "Go back to China" in the middle of the night in Melbourne CBD in the first year that i was here. They were young Yobos trying to act tough. I said, "i'm not from China, you F head and get it right next time and f off". Same as all the wogs yelling and whistling from their cars. I show them the middle finger.Originally posted by chguy:To those gals who have not experienced racist remarks abroad is obviously due to your sex. I think most gals don't have such bad experience. They have the advantages because they are the breeding machine and thugs-racists, mostly guys would not want to offend their prey, right?? Gals are treated nicely by them compared to guys.
SO gals, open your mind broad and expand it pls..
hahahaha..... okie dokieOriginally posted by coolger03:erm... tath could be bcos we can't catch what obscenity they were shouting at us?? keke.... cos me and my housemates were quite bad in listening to their english...
and, i'm already back here for 6 mths liao leh... hehehe...
but it had been good experience thou.....