being prepared for the exam is the best solution.Originally posted by sarsh:Really ruined my exam, got panicky during my exams its like i don't know what i am doing at all or reading at all. How to over come? Anyone have experience ?

remembering this will induce more fear...hahahahaOriginally posted by AzRaeL:chant this before the exam:
I must not fear.
Fear is the mind-killer.
Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration.
I will face my fear.
I will permit it to pass over me and through me.
And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path.
Where the fear has gone there will be nothing.
Only I will remain.Â

yes. there are many ways to overcome it. one of which is as heng described - deep breathing. there r other relaxation techniques too.Originally posted by HENG@:to be honest... panic attacks are pretty common. and u can train to overcome it. i actually get panic attacks like, about 30 minutes before my races, sometimes even when i'm sitting on the grid waiting for the race to start. what i do is, i force myself to breath slowly and deeply, and calm down. when my race starts, i focus on the race and push everything that was worrying me out of my head.
try my method of breathing slowly n deeply to calm down, and simply focus on your exams when it starts, and do not think about anything else until the paper is over.
yeah the visualisation technique helps a lot too.Originally posted by wuming78:yes. there are many ways to overcome it. one of which is as heng described - deep breathing. there r other relaxation techniques too.
anyway i also recommend going to the exam hall earlier - firstly so that u dun rush into the hall all flustered. secondly, to accustom urself to the environment and atmosphere. it helps in recalling wat u haf studied too.
den u can also using imagination techniques - try to picture vividly in ur mind, u doing the paper well, and all is well and good. at the same time use deep breathing to calm urself down.
avoid last minute studying - it may raise ur panic state if u find out there r things u haven touched or forgot. by tt time, it wont help much to cram too. rather than jeopardise the whole exam for tt small section u failed to remember or study, forget it! and ignorance is bliss in a sense - if u dunno u haven study, u wont panic.
in the end the most impt is to prepare for exams early, so u feel prepared.
good luck!
no problemOriginally posted by sarsh:hey thanks guys for all ur tips, anyway the paper which i happened to panic on was my last paper. but i could definitely use all these tips for next semester and this time will not lose my distinction. Thanks!
i use it frequently to prepare myself for all the worst case scenarios in my life. and doing it vividly realli helps one prepare mentally and also relax.Originally posted by HENG@:yeah the visualisation technique helps a lot too.
not many people know but visualisation is a very important part of our training for racing.
wah u sound damn pessimist.Originally posted by wuming78:i use it frequently to prepare myself for all the worst case scenarios in my life. and doing it vividly realli helps one prepare mentally and also relax.![]()
GOOOOOOZZZZZZZZZ FRABBBBBBBBAAAAAOriginally posted by cooleo:HELP! It's an hour plus b4 i'm having my BIS paper, i need every forumite to flash their 'CareBear shine' and soothe my nerves!![]()
GOOD LUCK~Originally posted by cooleo:I almost screwed up my biz law paper due to panic. It hits u when u are feeling most vulnerable sia. Having a biz info system paper tomorrow, anyone going to wish me good luck?![]()
har? no lah. o cos i use the same method to prepare myself for interviews, meetings, etc. but for worst case scenarios its good mah. at least i wont be taken aback when it does happen.Originally posted by HENG@:wah u sound damn pessimist.![]()
ohh okies...Originally posted by wuming78:har? no lah. o cos i use the same method to prepare myself for interviews, meetings, etc. but for worst case scenarios its good mah. at least i wont be taken aback when it does happen.![]()
YUP... Last min suffocating of the brain just before exams is usually a bad thing...Originally posted by cooleo:Wah lan eh, just back from the exam. Sibei cock up sia. Feel like unleashing some *beep* *beep*.... *beep*
Passing is not a problem, but lack of rest due to studying late made my brain a little slow. Siao liao, no A or maybe not even B liao.
(WHO'S NEXT TO TAKE EXAM?!)
ok my turn to agree w/ yaOriginally posted by DevilAngel77:dun panic.. dun panic.,..
think abt this:
does panic ever help in any situation?
ans: NO!
panic not only does not aid in any situation, it can only make the situtation worse!
given a choice, do u want ur exam to be ruined by panic or ruined cos u din study for it?
since u already studied for it, why let panic creep in last minute to spoil all that you have so painfully studied for?
win over panic! dun let panic rule!
calm urself before going to any exams, tell urself u have studied ur best, watever the result will be, you have done your best!
keep calm, take the exam, be happy abt it...![]()