interest, yea, i've tot of that too... that's why i'm asking, does people with cards just let the interests accumulate? is this how singaporeans with cards live thier lives nowadays??? hey, it's a bit commitment owning a card, man.......no jokeOriginally posted by jOhO:ahhahahha... okok sorree to laff..
u forget about the most impt thing...
INTEREST!!![]()
I used to have lots of credit cards, but have cancelled most of them.Originally posted by rumie:interest, yea, i've tot of that too... that's why i'm asking, does people with cards just let the interests accumulate? is this how singaporeans with cards live thier lives nowadays??? hey, it's a bit commitment owning a card, man.......no joke
i totally agree with you. but something i don't understand:Originally posted by donjng:Its not wise to charge your bills to credit card...
Coz the balance amount will earn interest on your next bill...
Its just a vicious cycle.
Most people went bankrupt coz of that!
I really dun suggest you of doing that...
And, you have to pay for your annual subscription too if you can't exceed your expenditure that they require you to waive off the subscription.
so may i ask, why do pple still apply credit card?Originally posted by FireIce:eh....wrong concept........
credit card is oni postponing the payment.....
u still have to pay next month......if u dun pay on time, interest will be incurred and u will be paying more.....
there is a risk with using CC esp when ur income is not fixed....u neber know if u can pay up when the bill comes......
Like you, most ppl have a budget to spend.Originally posted by rumie:i totally agree with you. but something i don't understand:
1. how can people go bankrupt if they dont over abuse thier card?
2. how can go bankrupt if they have a job and can repay the minimum repayment? (not considering they might lose thier job, etc)
they sign on the cards (one from each bank) until burst and can't even make the min payt each month.Originally posted by rumie:i totally agree with you. but something i don't understand:
1. how can people go bankrupt if they dont over abuse thier card?
2. how can go bankrupt if they have a job and can repay the minimum repayment? (not considering they might lose thier job, etc)
it makes 100% sense. that is why i'm so buffled by this credit card thingy.Originally posted by donjng:Like you, most ppl have a budget to spend.
Eg. I bought a $200 stuff, but I can only afford to pay the minimum of $50 at the end of the month1.
That will mean that, the bill for next month2 will be $150 plus the interest.
Month3 came. I can only pay $50 again, so, (($150 + interest) minus $50) plus interest again.
The cycle repeats.
Before you knew it, the stuff you bought is worth than $150 liao. Worth it? Depends on individual.
And, of course, you will have other expenditure to take care of...
Make sense?
yes, thanks a lot. but still, IF i just charge to ONE card, will that makes a difference? not that i'm disagreeing with what you said, but as i've said, it really buffles me a lot and i just want to get things straight...Originally posted by jOhO:they sign on the cards (one from each bank) until burst and can't even make the min payt each month.
the min payt isn't 50-80 as u put it, for the bank i'm working at now, it's 50 or 5% of outstanding balance, whichever is higher.
so if every card maxed out at 10k, and u have 4 cards, that's 40k of debt to service a month at 5% which equates to 2000 in min payts. usually min payts can service interest PROVIDED the customer is never late in his payts and does not incur other charges like return fees and annual fees.
for a 10k limit on each card, his gross salary will be 5k a month minimum since MAS only allowed up to 2 times ur monthly salary max cr limit. so with a 5k gross this fella takes home 4k after cpf, and he has to pay 2k worth of min payts.
u get the picture lar...
this is just MIN PAYT, nothing mentioned yet about paying off the "principal" debts...![]()
Credit cards- in case of emergency!Originally posted by rumie:it makes 100% sense. that is why i'm so buffled by this credit card thingy.
so am i correct to say that if it's not necessary, don apply card. and if you are not able to save (like in my case), then dont?
make a difference to wat?Originally posted by rumie:yes, thanks a lot. but still, IF i just charge to ONE card, will that makes a difference? not that i'm disagreeing with what you said, but as i've said, it really buffles me a lot and i just want to get things straight...![]()
Heehee...Originally posted by rumie:yes, thanks a lot. but still, IF i just charge to ONE card, will that makes a difference? not that i'm disagreeing with what you said, but as i've said, it really buffles me a lot and i just want to get things straight...![]()
there is no such thing as a free lunch. watever u haf spent u will need to pay back either now or later. so u should do tt - putting off ur paying back - if u r sure tt at a later point in time, either ur salary will increase or u will haf alternate sources of income. else there is no point in saving for savings sake.Originally posted by rumie:after settling my Uni study loan and some other loan every month, i'm down to about $300plus from my salary. and this excludes daily expenditure like meals, etc etc...
let's face it, $300plus per month for expenditure is just sufficient. but my question here is, how do i still save up every month?
just in case you start saying i can save about $100 from the $300 if i cut down a bit, i just want to point out that, NO, it's not possible.
SO, i was thinking: Apply credit card so that i can charge my expenditure to it, pay the monthly minimum (of about $50-$80), so that i can have a bit of savings.
Savings = $300 i'm left with every month - credit card min. monthly repayment.
this sounds stupid, i guess, but i really need to save up. i feel it's better than using up all the $300 i have left with at the end of the month and realised at the end of it i've no savings, and this stupid cycle will go on every single month, right?
and as long as i don't touch my savings, the amount of savings that i have will be equal to the credit i've owe the bank as long as i don't over abuse my credit card, right? so just in case anything happens, i can just use my savings to repay all the credit card loan, right?
so many questions here and please, i need proper answers. scold me of being stupid, but do tell me where i've gone wrong...
Last question, is this the lifestyle people in singapore are having, or am i the only few who's going into a credit card debt?