Thats wat i wanna do in the future, but for now, should i quit my dip and pursue ACCA?Originally posted by MoonIce:den be an accountant loh
Originally posted by shinta:I suggest that you stick to your original plan. Having a proper diploma can get you a proper job before you complete your ACCA. ACCA is a long process.
currently in 3rd year diploma in financial services
the longer i'm in this course, the more i feel that this isn the course i want to pursue...this course is more catered towards a career as a financial planner and sadly, that isn a career i wanna pursue...
the original plan is to finish my diploma n get an ACCA cert...
Originally posted by shinta:It will simply means you dun have a diploma.
1 more thing, if say i wanna further my education, say in University of Western Australia, do u tink they would accept me? hmm..assuming I hav an ACCA cert, 3 years of working experience in relations to the course of study and 2 years of diploma study?
Yeah... Plain old fact...Originally posted by SnowFlag:It will simply means you dun have a diploma.
Finish your Diploma first and let it serve as back-up plan in case u screw up for your ACCA. ACCA can stretch to 4-5 years easily and who knows what can happen during this period?Originally posted by shinta:currently in 3rd year diploma in financial services
the longer i'm in this course, the more i feel that this isn the course i want to pursue...this course is more catered towards a career as a financial planner and sadly, that isn a career i wanna pursue...
the original plan is to finish my diploma n get an ACCA cert...
if say, i quit sch now, n go ahead to get myself ACCA, is it advisable to do so?
1 more thing, if say i wanna further my education, say in University of Western Australia, do u tink they would accept me? hmm..assuming I hav an ACCA cert, 3 years of working experience in relations to the course of study and 2 years of diploma study?
additional info: after this sem, I would have completed all the accounting modules in my course
finish your 3rd year.Originally posted by shinta:currently in 3rd year diploma in financial services
I have been thinkin about going ahead with ACCA ever since Year 1....the thing is, i dun have the $$ to take it..Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):If u really think u will be really INTERESTED in ACCA ... why not u just take it now...ACCA can be done part time...just continued ur diploma in case u lost interested in ACCA too....anyway 1 more yr nia then grad already and with a diploma u can go overseas uni easier....try doing ACCA in that 1 yr too lor... and u will know if u really like it.....i know of sch mate that did that b4....quit is never a GOOD choice![]()
Wats CIMA?Originally posted by 101wish:u shld complete ur diploma 1st , at least u can find a job after graduating n tak up ACCA as ur part-time course..furthermore ACCA is bit too draggy, y not thk of taking up CIMA instead of ACCA, tis getting more popular now esp in uk..
then why wasted 2 yrs in the first place??? dun do things half way...if u decided to do anything just stick with it till u finished it. if u coz even have the will to finished ur diploma.. what make u think u can finished ACCA??? trust mi... the passing rate for those working fulltime and studying part time is SUPER low....and u dun even know whether u will really like it or not?? it's not that ex just try take 1 paper first lor.. few hundred dollars only.. compare to the few thousand u already spend for ur diploma???Originally posted by shinta:I have been thinkin about going ahead with ACCA ever since Year 1....the thing is, i dun have the $$ to take it..
thinkin of takin it p/time while working f/time in the day...
It's always an OPEN OPTION?Originally posted by shinta:thanks everyone for ur replies....
would changin course be a better solution then?
from financial services to accounting and finance. the year 1 modules are the same, and for year 2, only 3 modules are different...so i would hav to take cost accounting, and taxation...plus contract law, part of which was covered in another module that i took when i was in year 1, that is the legal aspects of financial services.
open option?Originally posted by Devil1976:It's always an OPEN OPTION?![]()
Agree. Get a cert first. Almost there liao.Originally posted by Ito_^:dun quit, finish it first.