Please post any reviews of albums or DVDs of bands that you have just purchased.
Bleeding Through - The Truth
01. For Love and Failing
02. Confession
03. Love in Slow Motion
04. The Painkiller
05. Kill to Believe
06. Dearly Demented
07. Line in the sand
08. She's gone
09. Tragedy of Empty Streets
10. Return to Sender
11. Hollywood Prison
12. The Truth
Well..i went to Inokki after work to get my Bleeding Through cd! Woot..$27 So far blasting to my ears..quite shiok
For love and failing is not bad..sounds abit a7x-ish WHICH IS FUCKING BAD! but the 2nd half of the song is good...nice riffs..they should do less of the non growling vocals..
Confession is nice..Heavy and excellent double pedalling...nice drumming lar in fact..
Love in slow motion..this is like poetry reading in metal..should listen to believe it the cradle of filth influence is a nice touch..to make it slightly gothic..but i hate the vocals for this track...too screamo..
The painkiller..bloody hell..i thought it's the judas priest song..but it's good la this track!
Kill to believe..easily the least favourite track of the album..bloody hell..it sounds so a7x/trivium/secondhand/parkwaydrive/atreyu zzzz
Dearly demented is not bad...quite heavy..and nice riffs..
Line In the Sand is my favourite track...it's like the Nothing Else Matters / Unforgiven / Fade to Black of the album...Nice intrumentals used..and the chorus are very meaningful..not heavy..in fact, it's like Fuel...there's a cool solo in the mid as per other metal ballads..
She's gone...another favourite track of mine..i can hear this song for hours on repeat on full blast...
Tragedy of empty streets...Fucking nice intro to the song..2nd favourite track of the album...heavy growling..
Return to sender and Hollywood Prison...both sounds the same getting boring...
The truth..the last track and the only instrumental..very nice..very technical..very catchy intro...
overall opinions : Im a bit disappointed with this album..What i heard from their "Death Anxiety" may increase my expectations of them..but they sound like A7X most of the time...if u wanna order the album, i suggest u download la..i can give u the link if u want waste my time..
i give of 5
Agony In Paradise
Possessed
Jan 26th 1987
Total Playing Time: 59:02
Firstly, I have to warn you, the recording quality is not as you would expect. It sorta sounds "bootlegy", but I personally love it. Gives it that old school feel, kinda like smoked salmon, its still salmon, but smoked. Okay where is this heading to... back to Possessed.
The anouncer gets the crowd going very agressively: PO...! PO...! FUCKING POSSESSED!! March to Die starts the setlist, not bad but I would prefer Burning in Hell to be the 1st song. All my favorite Possessed songs packed into one live album, what more can you ask for?
Sound isn't really that bad, I mean you can hear the riffs and the vocals are audible enough to make out what hes singing. Somehow it makes you hate your parents for not being Americans and you not being born 17 years earlier!
Before buying this album, I was dying to hear a live Possessed song, everything on youtube was almost crap, the recording was worst! At least I lay that part of my soul to rest now. I advice all metalheads to grab this live album and the previous 2 studio albums before this if you want to call your collection a collection.
80% for this album
Its my frist time reviewing, rate me. (I know its not that awesome but yeah! POSSESSED!)
Now hit the road!
Your lazy mod here copied and pasted from his other thread.
ARCH ENEMY-TYRANTS OF THE RISING SUN,LIVE IN JAPAN
Genre:Melodic Death Metal
Year Released:2008
Set List:
Review:
This gig kicks off with the track "Blood on Your Hands" from RotT (Rise of the Tyrants),which is now a ritual for AE to start a gig with this track,sirens blaring and all.As expected as the audience might get,nothing's better than a good 'ol headbangin' session with a heavy track.Thereafter,it builds up to Ravenous (from Wages of Sin),another fan favorite,and Taking Back My Soul (Doomsday Machine).
The set is based mostly on RotT if you've noticed,with 5 songs from this album.i'd rather AE to switch "The Day You Died" and "Night Falls Fast" for other songs from WoS (Wages of Sin) and AoR (Anthems of Rebellion),instead of trying to please the Jap crowd with "Jap-movie-inspired songs" (for your information,the song "The Day You Died" is inspired by some Anime show,which is made into a movie as well).The Jap crowd was very enthusiastic,often singing along to the solos,something we won't get to see for gigs taken place in the Western countries.The Japs seem to be more interested in the musicianship than the fancy stuff that bands do on stage.The crowd was most ecstatic when Nemesis was being played,cheering loudly than ever.This was one of the only moments that we get to see moshing taking place.
Not going to go through the entire set,so moving on to the musicianship...
As usual,the Amott brothers do not fail to deliver the crowd some good solos,with individual solo sessions during intervals.They delivered the songs well,almost exactly in sync with the studio versions,but the harmonics were a bit off sometimes.
Angela is fucking crazy,which is nothing new,with her getting the crowd to start chants of "hey" and showing off her trademark headbanging.Her vocals did its job well,growling,screeching and screaming with so much passion and accuracy.However,the flaw is that sometimes it can be straining to the ears when you hear her screeching into the microphone,especially when her voice sorta cracks.
Sharlee (the bassist) was rockin' out,but the bassline isn't that exactly creative and you can hardly hear the bass,except for tracks like Dead Bury Their Dead.Blame Century Media for making the focus more on Angela and the Amott brothers,nothing new,if you see the recent albums.
Of course,i saved Daniel Erlandson for the last,as in my opinion,he is the best performer for this gig.He never ceases to get the beats right and gets the crowd crazy.The only flaw is that the so-called drum solo wasn't that exactly inspiring.A great performance otherwise.A bit of a biased opinion here,as yours truly is interested more in drums.
Overall,the sounds and the quality of the video has been satisfactory,displayed in HD.
A recommendation for AE fans,and melodic death metal fans as well.So slide this album into your dvd player and get ready for some pure fucking metal. \m/
Rating: 85%
Originally posted by Bangulzai:
Now hit the road!
Originally posted by sand king:
Its my frist time reviewing, rate me. (I know its not that awesome but yeah! POSSESSED!)
I give you a 666/10
Originally posted by Trump_Card:
coz i posted trance
trance is oso alternative genre to some pp
coz i posted trancetrance is oso alternative genre to some pp
Yeah yeah and Elvis is still alive right?
my review got standard not?
Yeah yeah and Elvis is still alive right?
Elvis got anything to do with trance meh?
Originally posted by eeden.:my review got standard not?
ur review got standard
Originally posted by eeden.:my review got standard not?
You should consider posting it on Metal Archives you know. :)
Originally posted by sand king:You should consider posting it on Metal Archives you know. :)
scared later they say my review kns then dump away.their review too power alr.
Elvis got anything to do with trance meh?
It was meant to be scarcastic
Originally posted by eeden.:scared later they say my review kns then dump away.their review too power alr.
Haha its not like a forum where someone can reply to your review, only that the people at MA will scrutinize your review from top to bottom and will put it up if it makes the cut.
consider lor. long time nvr log in alr.
Originally posted by eeden.:consider lor. long time nvr log in alr.
Can la, just give it a shot, no harm trying right?
I used to hang around their forums, but now I just use MA to check out bands.
i trust ma with my life. the review like all reflect very well the songs.
Originally posted by eeden.:i trust ma with my life. the review like all reflect very well the songs.
Ditto to that. Anymore reviews?
No trance shit please.
i wont put trance reviews here.
lazy to write a review,but expect to see a tsjuder review tmr.
Originally posted by Trump_Card:I give you a 666/10
Oh didn't see that reply, thanks mate.
Originally posted by eeden.:i wont put trance reviews here.
lazy to write a review,but expect to see a tsjuder review tmr.
Wasn't refering to you haha!
Same, my english isn't that outstanding... scared the review wont turn out good :S
haha.and btw it's tsjuder's dvd-norwegian apocalypse.
TSJUDER-NORWEGIAN APOCALYPSE
Genre: True Norwegian Black Metal
Year Released: 2006
Set List:
(Live in Rockfeller,Oslo)
01 Sodomizing The Lamb
02 Helvete
03 J-10
04 Unholy Paragon
05 Lord Of Terror
06 Ghoul
07 Mouth Of Madness
08 Sacrifice (Bathory Cover)
09 Primeval Fear
10 Beyond The Grave
11 Malignant Coronation
12 Eriphion Epistate
(Live in Sandnes)
* Morbid Lust
* Malignant Coronation
* Ephirion Epistates
* Born For Burning (Bathory Cover)
* Beyond The Grave
Review (Oslo):
Norwegian black metal giants Tsjuder has unleashed hell in Oslo,bringing about a great performance.
The gig starts with the track Sodmomizing the Lamb,where the images are all in black and white initially,slowly changing into the normal colored version,where green and red neon lights are on Nag and Draugluin,giving a ghastly feel to it,corpse painted or not.The black and white images appear every now and then,during the slow and heavy riffs,and cameras shaking during those hard and fast riffs.At other times,it would have flash images,showing images of Draugluin,Nag,or Anti-christian double-pedalling.
It is good to see that the camera and video crew has made an effort to make this special effects to enhance the atmosphere,but apparently,it can be rather dizzying sometimes.
Moving on to musicianship...
Nag,as usual,has delivered some good vocals,and headbangin' like no tomorrow.The bassline was audible (that,is,if you are putting on headphones,or blasting it loud on your stereo).The only flaw is that he does not engage the audience at all,with zero audience participation.There is only this instant when we see a guy headbangin' madly to the track "Sacrifice",and the crowd raising the Devil's Horns,other than that,nothing fucking else.The camera,too,neglects the audience,focusing more on the band's performance then the audience's reaction.
Draugluin was being a great back up vocalist and displayed good vocals most especially on Mouth of Madness,one of my personal favorites.However,the guitars were only satisfactory,nothing creative or special.It is like playing back the studio versions.
Anti-Christian was great,following the songs carefully,just that he was embarrassed a little when he dropped the drum stick during Erphion Epistates.No other major flaw other than that.
Overall,I would have given the gig a 80%,but the production took 10% away,so my rating is 70%.Decent performance,yet nothing out of the box.
Review (Sandnes):
The gig kicks off with Morbid Lust,with fast double pedalling from Anti-Christian,building on to a hard n' heavy track.Again,the video crew has decided to use the black and white approach,this time,with no rejections from my side,as the production was more raw and more cult-like.
Flaw with Morbid Lust?The track time was too long,so the crowd were not as enthusiastic as for other tracks.
For musicianship,see the review for Oslo,'cos i believe the performance was rather the same,with no surprises at all.
The only interesting feat was Vrangsinn (from Carpathian Forest) taking up bass during the track "Born For Burning".He came,headbanged,and conquered.Wasn't a very interesting track,but you have to give credit to Vrangsinn for keeping the crowd going.
Overall,I'd give this gig a rating of 75%,considering its short tracklist.