I order caterering for a function at home. I invited 107 pax, and 80 confirm coming. The rest cannot confirm. So I ordered buffet for 80 pax, and seperately ordered lots of cakes and finger food. I tell myself a bit of waste better than not enough to eat.
I called in a Halal caterer, just for 2 muslim guest who said they will come. In the end, the two of them sent me sms when the function starts, say they cannot come. Bang balls...
In the end, 20% of the invited colleagues did not turn up, despite their confirmation of attendance.
And those who came, I dunno why some ppl shy to eat or not interested to eat. Some ask me why no pork dish. Shd have listen to my fd and ordered pizza hut for my 2 muslin guest.
In the end, I think food for at least 20 pax was thrown away (untouched large tray of fried rice, untouched large tray of mee goreng, food with bean sprouts and beans stuff) and another 10 pax food of fried food I kept, reheat and eat for 3 days...bcoz its really a waste to throw away.The marble, chocolate and banana cakes also got lots left and I eat for fun for the past 3 days.
Have you caterered food for an occasion and in the end the food went wasted?
if X number of ppl say confirm coming, u can give a 20% discount on the number
assuming some ppl last minute cannot come, some ppl no eat, some ppl cannot eat certain food....some ppl no like certain food...
have a good balance of the types of food...
somemore catering is not exactly 80 ppl's portion for 80 pax order... the food will be more than enough....
i think u need better common sense and event organising skills.
gud advice
Why never donate the untouched food to old folks' home? Bet they would always welcome that, instead of going down the bin.
Originally posted by FireIce:
i think u need better common sense and event organising skills.
I think I need more experience in running functions at home.
This is my 2nd time...the first one had little waste.
Originally posted by Croaking_Toad:Why never donate the untouched food to old folks' home? Bet they would always welcome that, instead of going down the bin.
Oh...too late liao.
We realise the food was turning bad, bcoz it started to smell a little sour.
Anyway, other than the food waste, the event went well...not to mention the ang baos & gifts...
u should post online... ask the forum people to help u finish
Originally posted by pigsticker:u should post online... ask the forum people to help u finish
haha...by the time they come the food also chao sng liao...
ya, was thinking the samething!
But anyway, TS, for catering wise, think it's better to be short of food then to have wastage. But trust me lah, seldom one. There's no hard and fast rule, but knowing the fact that not all guest come at the same time, there's always option to order pizza/KFC, etc if there is really not enough.
hmm.. usually catering will have left over one. bbq always have a lot of leftovers though
I counted the ang baos I got from my function...cost all covered and still make a bit of profit. Haha
Invite more big eaters la
The last Potluck we had at Club 30 was like seriously too much food but they finished eating anyway
Originally posted by rlsh07:hmm.. usually catering will have left over one. bbq always have a lot of leftovers though
During a class overnight last year, the organisers underestimated the amount of food needed for bbq.
Ended up with a pissed class splitting into their own cliques to eat at hawker centre, fast food restaurants etc.
I thought that usually when you invite your guests, you roughly know how much they can eat...not should eat...assuming if there are about 20+ slim people and 10+ of muslims...you can do the math...its quite a simple estimation...the only problem is...who will be flying airplanes to you...and the size of your venue
Try not to order more than enough (even though sometimes your mind tells you to)...because you'll realise there'll be more wastage at the end of the day.
Dun think i ever organise for house. Organise at shop. More food and variety is a must. Cannot be not enough food. Roughly agak agak estimate, if over. bar staff n retail all tapau . lol! Solved. No waste. Charity. Benevolent boss. =P
Yeah, I have thought of getting those styroform boxes, and ask ppl to dabao the food after 2/3 of the event time has past.