Originally posted by 105090:seriously, i dun mind them clocking 100km/h. used to take a BAS PERSIARAN, got traffic jam, so driver chiong at 100km/h + down from Tuas, AYE, CTE to reach Chinatown.. power!!
Originally posted by sbst275:Because they are new bus co mah...
Respect? They have better tell their driver to drive with care on the Causeway!
Originally posted by sbst275:In the 1st place,
CW svs quality are like JB svs
Originally posted by purplecrazed:Just an extra info on CW3.
I was told by the driver that if you see the SIDE SIGNAGE BACKGROUND of the bus is BLUE (against yellow wording), then that bus is licensed to enter S'PORE.
If it's black background (also against yellow wording), that one travels in JB, picking up passengers from their usual route up to Gelang Patah only.
At the moment, CW3 is still having teething problems. Ever since they made Gelang Patah their swapping base, passengers have been "quarelling" with the Handal Indah staff every morning because of the uncertainty of their departure time.
Internally, they themselves are confused abt their own scheduling, so the timing is all very messed-up. We're also driven crazy not knowing exactly what is the best time to board the bus from our residential area. If we take an early bus, we ended up having to wait @ GP for the next buses to fill up the S'pore bus. But if we decide to take a slightly later bus, we missed the S'pore bus and had to wait for the next one. So far, many has experienced an average 30mins of waiting time @ GP.
This morning one of the driver dialled his superior's no. and passed the mobile phone to one of the passenger to "scold" him directly. So it's not that we have not spoken to the Management of Handal Indah. Those people at the top have received as much complaints from us as those from the lower rung. But they're not listening to the passengers nor the suggestions & feedback given by their staff.
I can only say that for now, if you want to board the CW3, be prepared to have your blood pressure raised.
Originally posted by hannwei:It seems that Handal Indah is trying to save an average of (2.30 x 2 = 4.60 MYR) of Tanjung Kupang toll fee (http://www.secondlink.com/linkedua/tollrates.asp) for each two-way journey to Jurong East. May be the passengers should just ask it to increase the ticket price by 1 MYR and skip Gelang Patah....
No...Originally posted by hseochin:1 very bad habit which i never like about almost ALL the operators drivers (not just on CW) are that they like to follow very 'silently' & close to the vehicle in front, expecting them to either increase their speed or filter aside to let them pass, while on the highway. But on all my many such high speed trips on Malaysian highways over the last 10 years, i've not encountered anyone actually hitting the vehicle in front. I believe that's only because Malaysian drivers know 'what to do' when being followed in such manner & give in accordingly for them to overtake.
But of course, theoritically the thought of going @ 100 km/h say with only 1 or 0.5 meter to the vehicle in front is uncomfortably ridiculous to even think about unless if electronic drawbars are used, which i don't think currently exist in Malaysia yet. In anycase such undesirable driving habits they need to brush up on.
For to Gelang Patah, there is 1...Originally posted by hseochin:I recall when taking CW3 from Singapore, after leaving Gelang Patah there seem to have no toll booths encountered all the rest of the way ? But when going towards Singapore from Perling, along JB Parkway there's a toll booth where RM 10.30 was shown. So are the tolls paid once each direction or per round trip basis ? Or was another detour taken on the return from Singapore such that no return toll charged then ?
Originally posted by sbst275:No...
They turn on headlights...
You go see Causeway (JB Departure, Customs Dept) that narrow stretch, only CW buses (For public buses), they try to force their way through
100km/hr in SG?? Get prepared to be suspended for 1 yr if caught by the white head
Originally posted by sbst275:For to Gelang Patah, there is 1...
Tg Kupang
For 2nd Link, bth sides have to pay unlike WDL (On departure for SG side, Arrival for JB side)
Well, SBS BC take some care at that narrow stretchOriginally posted by hseochin:Normally headlamps not on, unless it's night or during bad weather during day.
Some flash the headlamps a bit during normal daylight, that's about it. So up here i'll say that's normal acceptable practice with regard to the use of headlamps.
On Causeway, whether narrow stretch or whatever, i've notice everybody always try to squeeze their way thru, whether bus, car or lorry, most understandably so !! CW, SJE among others i've personally seen does it as part of their 'normal' routine ! I'll even add that not only on Causeway but also on BKE ending @ the flyover both CW & SJE vehicles sometimes overtake other vehicles in queue & go to the tip of the start of the flyover & then force their way leftwards onto the lanes going towards CIQ complex.
In these situations, i have to put 50% of the blame (why they resort to such manoveurs sometimes) as due to bad road design on roads leading to the Woodlands CIQ complex & other 50% due to impatience on the part of the drivers. I note the road design towards Tuas CIQ from Johor side seems better in layout so that eventhough the car lanes may be choked up the commercial vehicles still can keep moving into the complex. That's what it should be in Woodlands BUT unfortunately not so !!!!
I have to maintain that, given the appropriate traffic & road conditions on the expressways in SGP, it IS practically safely possible to cruise @ 100 km/h whether on a modern car, van, bus or coach & this also makes for more efficient use of the expressway by enabling more vehicles to use it per unit time since the 'discharge rate' of vehicles along the expressway is quickened !
High time those traffic policemen here wake up to such realities & adopt a more practically reasonable stance towards the issue of speed under such situations !!
BTW, this 'speeding is #1 killer' slogen they seem so eager to impress upon people nowadays is full of holes, to say the least ! Because if that's really that true, then all the expressways in the world should be where most are killed since the driving speeds tend to be highest there ! Of course, it has been known that most are killed NOT on expressways but on normal roads (implying roads where speeds tend to be lower) especially @ traffic junctions instead !
Therefore they need to be more specific on their slogen if they really want the message to be more effectively acceptable to people ! Otherwise it's just a basically exggerated statement which seems logical on the 1 hand but not too applicable to most practical situations on the expressways on the other !
Bukit Indah toll is payable only from LinkeduaOriginally posted by hseochin:I recall CW3 goes thru 2 toll booths towards Tuas after leaving Bukit Indah.
1st is along JB Parkway 2nd just before Johor CIQ complex. But on the return trip from Tuas towards Bukit Indah, it seemed only to pass 1 toll booth after leaving Johor CIQ ?
Nope, HI has more than enough licensed buses to travel via 2nd Link but what's not enough are licensed DRIVERS!!!! I certainly don't understand why this is the case, but I was once onboard a bus that has all the laminated permit papers pasted on the window but we were asked to get down and switch buses because the driver needed to drive back to "bandar". I was quite angry and asked the Coordinator "But doesn't this bus has the license??!!! What's all these papers sticking on the window??" He said, "Yeah, but not the driver!"Originally posted by hseochin:Maybe they find the stupid license too expensive so only limit a few vehicles with it as they might have under-estimated the overall demand for their CW3 passenger loading from Singapore, thinking of CW3 more as a complementary service to their other within-JB routes mainly & only expecting 'marginal' passengers actually taking CW3 all the way to/from Singapore ??
By the way, the limited number of licensed drivers for CW3 are pretty much "slave-driven". I heard that they work from 5am - 10pm everyday.Originally posted by hseochin:On my trip on CW3 from Singapore, there was waiting onboard for 10 mins. @ Gelang Patah station but still i find that unacceptable because the other CW3 vehicle we transferred to was already waiting @ Gelang Patah when our vehicle arrived there ! So i'll logically expect that whoever wanted to board a CW3 from Gelang Patah towards JB bandar would done so already & be sitting inside the bus & no further waiting necessary once all passengers were transferred onto that next CW3 there !
HI needs to be aware that as CW3 is long route service, travel times are basically long enough so they are expected to schedule the departure times of the connecting buses such that the journey for passengers to or from Singapore is 'continous' & with minimum or none of such idle waiting times !
Unless there are special agreements between Handal Indah and the highway operator, CausewayLink buses should be paying tolls at Tanjung Kupang and Tuas when entering Singapore, and at Tuas and Tanjung Kupang when entering Malaysia. So, for each two-way journey, a CausewayLink bus has to pay about (10.30 x 4 MYR).Originally posted by hseochin:I recall when taking CW3 from Singapore, after leaving Gelang Patah there seem to have no toll booths encountered all the rest of the way ? But when going towards Singapore from Perling, along JB Parkway there's a toll booth where RM 10.30 was shown. So are the tolls paid once each direction or per round trip basis ? Or was another detour taken on the return from Singapore such that no return toll charged then ?
Originally posted by sbst275:Well, SBS BC take some care at that narrow stretch
Anyway, if you say it is safe, try speeding 100km/hr on a 7 ton lorry carrying 300 packs of 50kg rice then on a SG highway
Anyway, for lorry caught @ 100km/hr by TP, you are liable to be suspended for 1 yr...
Originally posted by purplecrazed:
HI don't have enough vehichles? Nope, that's not the case. As posted by "105090", HI recently bought a fleet of "brand-new-super-upgraded" buses for CW1 & CW2.
Another passenger mentioned that one of the the driver leaked out to him that CW3 has 8 buses reserved for departure from S'pore Jurong East, but only 6 are being utilised. And another 8 buses for the local route, but they're only utilising 4. [/b]
Originally posted by purplecrazed:By the way, the limited number of licensed drivers for CW3 are pretty much "slave-driven". I heard that they work from 5am - 10pm everyday.
Actually, there wld be no need to stinge or tighten their belt to that extent
if only they would work their brains to improve their CW3 service to attract more regular and supportive passengers.
Quite a number of familiar faces I've seen taking the CW3 has decided to quit after experiencing delays @ GP time and again.
But as for me, sigh... after having voiced all my complaints in this forum... I still board the CW3 quite faithfully.... simply because it beats the delay and anxiety I face waiting for the 301/501/111 bus from town to Tmn Perling.
Yup, precisely... I have the same thoughts and absolutely agree with you! Funny why HI do not have this foresight.... Perhaps you shld call up the office and suggest to them?Originally posted by hseochin:If HI finds CW3 too long a route to cover, then might as well re-package CW3 as between JE & GP only & charge lower fare accordingly. Then beef up their 666 or launch a new within-JB service to link GP with Bukit Indah, Sutera & Perling & other nearby areas ? Gelang Patah terminal can perhaps be upgraded to another Larkin in future especially when Bandar Nusajaya & nearby areas there more well developed ?
As for the issue of 'unlicensed' drivers for access to SGP, SGP doesn't recognize Malaysian driving license as international license for issual of SGP license to the HI drivers ?? Surely even those HI drivers driving in Malaysia only would be holding least Malaysian driving license ?!? So this 'unlicensed' drivers issue i find rather ridiculously doubtful to believe. Or is SGP driver's license fees too expensive for HI to pay for too many of its drivers ?!?
I heard from the driver (the rather senior & plump chinese man who drives bus no. plate 3105), HI bought 50 brand-new buses at a ratio of 30:20 for CW1:CW2. I believe their strategy is to FIERCELY COMPETE WITH SBS170/160.Originally posted by hseochin:CW1 & 2 have new buses ?? Should be interesting !
What make & model & quantity ?
When you say 8 or 6 buses reserved from Jurong East, certainly never appeared so because i actually see only 1 the most or none parked @ Jurong East Interchange @ any time ! Shortly as this 1 departs for Johor you'll see another 1 coming in from Johor & i don't think HI has any other parking place for CW3 buses in Singapore. The same bus are not known to be shared with CW1 or CW2.
If indeed there seems no shortage of buses & if it's true they are deploying less than the planned no. of buses, then i'll put it that their existing frequency (even @ 30 mins. off-peak ?) is too high to generate enough passenger load per bus that they resorted to using less buses to minimise empty/underused buses ?! And if even then the load per bus is too low (especially during off-peak) then i'll say they ought to reduce the frequency instead so that more people are available when each bus comes.
I suppose they themselves are still not too sure of the sustainable demand load yet so perhaps are still doing some trial & error fine tuning to arrive @ more optimal vehicle usage.
You took the 1745 bus yesterday? I think I could guess who are you.. Yeah, despite the fact that there's still ample room for improvement, going by CW3 is definitely more pleasant than causeway, simply because it actually drives you to your very doorstep at Bt Indah.Originally posted by hannwei:I took CW3 from Bukit Indah to Jurong East at 1455 today (took about 1:15 hours), and in the opposite direction at 1745 (took about 1:30 hours). The routes in both directions are the same, just opposite to each other. The traveling times are reasonable, although Gelang Patah contributed about 15 minutes in each journey. Ticket prices are okay too, just that 2.60 MYR from Bukit Indah to Jurong East seems a little too cheap. It is worth more than that. If I have remembered correctly, the fare shown on the bus is 4.85 MYR.
In overall, the experience is much better than what I got from the causeway.
Haha! Well.... they work so hard during peak hours.. it's only wise that they slow-down a bit during off-peak. No point driving early to their graves.Originally posted by sbst275:But end up CW1 now tak boleh tahan
They are reducing off peak frequency to abt 12-25 mins
where i said it? cant findOriginally posted by purplecrazed:[quote]
HI don't have enough vehichles? Nope, that's not the case. As posted by "105090", HI recently bought a fleet of "brand-new-super-upgraded" buses for CW1 & CW2.