Well, compeition has forced them to.Originally posted by purplecrazed:Haha! Well.... they work so hard during peak hours.. it's only wise that they slow-down a bit during off-peak. No point driving early to their graves.
Originally posted by purplecrazed:I heard from the driver (the rather senior & plump chinese man who drives bus no. plate 3105), HI bought 50 brand-new buses at a ratio of 30:20 for CW1:CW2. I believe their strategy is to FIERCELY COMPETE WITH SBS170/160.
Go to Kranji MRT and see for yourself. It's like a WAR ZONE during peak hours. You'll see CW1 buses coming in at a very high frequency. It just keep coming in non-stop, one after another and all fully packed while the rest of the people waiting for SBS is still on the queue.
As of now, CW3 has no competitor... that's why we seem to be at their mercy.
Originally posted by sbst275:Well, compeition has forced them to.
But anyway, they are not welcomed by SG govt... Their case similar to AirAsia, whole day try to KPKB... Like now the toll, last time claim Kranji berthing disadvantage to them... But they haven't got with them for speeding close to 40km/hr than allowed
this is confusing.. if govt doesnt welcome HI, why allow them to operate CW buses in the first place? very ironic..Originally posted by sbst275:Well, compeition has forced them to.
But anyway, they are not welcomed by SG govt... Their case similar to AirAsia, whole day try to KPKB...
Ermm... in your posting dd 09 September 2005 · 05:52 PM, you posted:Originally posted by 105090:where i said it? cant find
ths is true. on national day this year, if m not wrong, AirAsia congratulated SGP on the national day, and on another occasion, "wrote a letter" saying things like "Mr Postman, do you have a post for us? we are waiting for the letter from our Singapore neighbour to let us fly to Changi etc etc" something like that.. peaceful protest..Originally posted by hseochin:As for Air Asia, they started operating their type of service when Tigar Air & various others still unborned in this region ! Therefore obvious who's the leader here & they certainly know what they are doing better than those jokers here. My inevitable impressions instead is that some people here are 'kiasu' instead so resort to various delaying tactics to try to make them fedup so that they cancel / postpone their expansion plans to here !
Well.... I guess they bought 50 more new ones so that some of the existing fleet can be turned into CW3, or else there won't be enough buses to go around.Originally posted by hseochin:So they adding 50 new buses to CW1 & 2 or replacing the existing fleet there with new ones ?? Seems more like adding ? Because HI only started operations in Singapore 1 year ago with new buses then ? So last year's fleet by now only 1 year old, too new for replacement i think.
Well, they had thought HI was so eager into SG market, so they let them inOriginally posted by 105090:this is confusing.. if govt doesnt welcome HI, why allow them to operate CW buses in the first place? very ironic..
and theres more buses and routes to fight for a diluting amount of passengers going to/from JB/ Singapore.
and yes, sv170 has asked for it if many ppl are turned away and take CW1 at Kranji/ JB. last time when i was at JB chkpt back to SG, 3 HI buses were waiting, but for 170, there was a wonderful 10 minutes wait for one gloomy mk3, and the 170 is very very cramp that time.
also, the 170R towards Larkin, many ppl have to wait very long for it at JB Chkpt as the freq can be 1-20 mins. and CW1 or CW2 goes to Larkin. less waiting time.
also, last time all of 170 and SWT 170 used to go to WDL Centre Rd and ends at Larkin. now, many ppl have to wait very long for 170R at WDL Ctr Rd, and to/from Larkin.
and 160.. well.. always nowhere to be seen..
still, 170 holds the edge when transfer rebates are concerned
Have to be? Not welcomed into JB? Hello, you think run bus svs is that easy get buses and can start running?Originally posted by hseochin:Who's not welcomed ?? They HAVE to be welcomed !
Because if people here don't welcome them, then i'm almost 100 %
sure SBST 160 & SMRT (TIBS) 950 etc. would also not be welcomed
anymore in JB ! Then you go back to only SBST 170 & SJE & if relations
worsen don't be surprised if even these get kicked out from Malaysia !!
People here have to learn to put up with them, just as some quarters over there also have to learn to put up with those from here operating there.
I'm sure they also have a list of complains against to air out but they just restraining themselves in the interests of neighbourly goodwill in 'mutual accomodation' ! Therefore same expected from those here !!
As for Air Asia, they started operating their type of service when Tigar Air & various others still unborned in this region ! Therefore obvious who's the leader here & they certainly know what they are doing better than those jokers here. My inevitable impressions instead is that some people here are 'kiasu' instead so resort to various delaying tactics to try to make them fedup so that they cancel / postpone their expansion plans to here !
No... The prob with HI abt CW3 is that they are like Malaysians, whole day bargain with us for concession... They want to serve SG, should just carry on, like that $9 toll... You complain somemore, they give you troubleOriginally posted by purplecrazed:I thought we were only giving feedbacks abt CW3 service, now both countries' air transport, toll money$$ & road tax also being mentioned...
Hmm.. very obvious now who are the singaporeans and who are the M'sians in this forum... mai gadoh, mai gadoh (dun quarrel)...
I think what is meant by "unlicensed" drivers is that not all of HI's drivers are authorised to drive CW buses into S'pore unless they have applied for some sort of special permit... I think so lah....Originally posted by hseochin:As for the issue of 'unlicensed' drivers for access to SGP, SGP doesn't recognize Malaysian driving license as international license for issual of SGP license to the HI drivers ?? Surely even those HI drivers driving in Malaysia only would be holding least Malaysian driving license ?!? So this 'unlicensed' drivers issue i find rather ridiculously doubtful to believe. Or is SGP driver's license fees too expensive for HI to pay for too many of its drivers ?!?
Originally posted by hseochin:You and your biased towards Volvo B10M Lousy suspension ride
Maybe HI overheard my feedback in earlier posts of the lousy suspension ride comfort of the Volvo B10M's used on SBST 160 & 170 ?? I'm very certain their newer MAN & especially M-B produce an overall superior class of travel experience, something like SJE over SBST !
Seems that CW3 can also be very frustrating. Waited 45 minutes at Bukit Indah this morning for a bus. Was later told there were only three CW3 buses serving the Kota Raya <-> Gelang Patah route today. When returning from Jurong East, was stranded at Gelang Patah station for 35 minutes.Originally posted by hannwei:I took CW3 from Bukit Indah to Jurong East at 1455 today (took about 1:15 hours), and in the opposite direction at 1745 (took about 1:30 hours). The routes in both directions are the same, just opposite to each other. The traveling times are reasonable, although Gelang Patah contributed about 15 minutes in each journey.
Are you a clone?Originally posted by SBS2764S:sbst275 i dun understand why u always so against Handal Indah leh they didnt do anything to u what
Hi...just want to know which place the Bus CW3 stop at Bukit Indah? Near where? Is the bus go to Tasek Plaza? Would appreciate anyone can help. Tks.Originally posted by hannwei:Seems that CW3 can also be very frustrating. Waited 45 minutes at Bukit Indah this morning for a bus. Was later told there were only three CW3 buses serving the Kota Raya <-> Gelang Patah route today. When returning from Jurong East, was stranded at Gelang Patah station for 35 minutes.
Originally posted by 105090:
still, 170 holds the edge when transfer rebates are concerned[/b]
Originally posted by sbst275:Have to be? Not welcomed into JB? Hello, you think run bus svs is that easy get buses and can start running?
Also, it is all thks to them that everyone luan luan lai...
As for disadvantage berthing arrangment @ Kranji, where is the unfairness? End up they go park @ Sv 170 berth!
Then the toll @ 2nd Link is $9.00, they wanted to run 2nd Link Express svs, they should have known of the higher tolls. In SG, govt dun give public tpt operator concession rate. See our road tax, car is $800, SBS buses is at least $1200 a year.
Originally posted by carbikebus:You and your biased towards Volvo B10M Lousy suspension ride
Originally posted by hannwei:Seems that CW3 can also be very frustrating. Waited 45 minutes at Bukit Indah this morning for a bus. Was later told there were only three CW3 buses serving the Kota Raya <-> Gelang Patah route today. When returning from Jurong East, was stranded at Gelang Patah station for 35 minutes.
Originally posted by Peterho1:Hi...just want to know which place the Bus CW3 stop at Bukit Indah? Near where? Is the bus go to Tasek Plaza? Would appreciate anyone can help. Tks.
Only our dear SBST Or should i say ComfortDelgro technician pay less attention to the suspension system still i'm do not like much about the B10Ms anyway.The B10BLE are far more better!SMRT bus fleets is rather what i called true citybuses right Mr Mercedes HseochinOriginally posted by hseochin:I've lost count of the buses i've riden on over the past 30 or so years.
But certainly the Volvos like B7F (others call it B57) & B10M have very outstanding suspension ride comfort, in the negative sense however.
In the world of spring or air suspended buses, i so far not encountered anything lousier ! Just as bad would be Leyland Alantean in the spring category.
Bias ? My observations come from repeated rides taken on such models @ various seating locations, driving speeds, road conditions etc. & my judgement is not coming from someone who knows nothing about buses or someone who have not experienced the finer class of buses & coaches, which so far not yet arrived in SGP.
Next time you ride on B10M, make sure to sit @ the extreme rear on a largely empty bus to get a better understanding of the situation. Of course do the same on another model of air-suspended bus or coach & note the differences.
If the bus is loaded up more, the situation improves somewhat but remains inferior to another model also being more loaded up.
Therefore such inferiorities i don't take it as 'bias' but 'real' instead since so easily 'proven' by one taking even a just a couple of rides. That's why i have to maintain firmly my stand on this.
Well, luan luan lai is all because of compeition. Everyone trying to complete for a limited number of passengersOriginally posted by hseochin:Of course 'have to be', otherwise expect reciprocal treatment from the other side & being kicked out by the other side !!!!
You wake up a bit & be more alert to what other people write.
Because nowhere have i said it's that 'easy' to startup & run a bus operation.
Anyway that's NOT of specific relevance to the subject matter in that post !!
'luan luan lai' ?? To be frank, in this modern competitive environment such behavior (if true) tends to be practised virtually anywhere & everywhere !!
Unless if you're still stuck in some outdated communistic centrally planned economy, which hardly any country nowadays remain in ! Therefore not even worth the bother to mention, really.
What's all the noise about berths @ Kranji ? It's obvious enough & can be easily seen that parking space is extremely limited @ that bus-stop there such that you cannot get a more proper layout there like @ a terminal or interchange bus-stop ! So to be practical, whoever happens to be there 1st use the space & the those coming behind, park behind. Too much regimentation with limited parking spaces is not going to help improve such situations !
Any complaints of higher toll charges (whether on MY or SGP sides) are of course to be expected, whether or not such rates were known in advance.
That's simply because everybody (from both sides) have become so used to the relatively cheap (almost non-existent) toll rates on both sides @ the Causeway therefore so would always continue to try to push for lower toll charges @ 2nd Link !! Even Singapore coach operators have made noise about higher tolls via 2nd Link before so if HI also does so, then it'll also come as no surprise & certainly nothing abnormal as if only HI make noise while others don't on this issue ?!? which of course cannot be so !
Also, public transport buses here DO get concessions over other type of vehicles here. Like COE exemption & other tax discounts if not exemptions such that even if they pay something, it tends to be lesser than for a similar vehicle type if used by a private operator.