Can have chinese characters some moreOriginally posted by alantanchunshyan:think that smrt should use plastic destination boards like the ones useby sbst![]()
It stands for Electronic Destination System. SMRT Buses uses them on all of their buses. Since it is electronic, and if it were to be implemented on SBST buses, chances are fares will go up.Originally posted by the Bear:what's an EDS and does this involve increasing the fares?
if so, NOT A CHANCE!!!
Originally posted by Superbus:It stands for Electronic Destination System. SMRT Buses uses them on all of their buses. Since it is electronic, and if it were to be implemented on SBST buses, chances are fares will go up.
It's more cost saving using EDS. Using plastic desto, if there's any change in route, the side desto has to be replaced.Originally posted by alantanchunshyan:think that smrt should use plastic destination boards like the ones useby sbst![]()
SMRT have high operating cost, so asking for + fares next yearOriginally posted by Superbus:It stands for Electronic Destination System. SMRT Buses uses them on all of their buses. Since it is electronic, and if it were to be implemented on SBST buses, chances are fares will go up.
I dont see why SMRT has a high operational cost, when its service is so su©ky. More like hiring good for nothing staff.Originally posted by sbst275:SMRT have high operating cost, so asking for + fares next year
To act professional lor... The new uniforms dun need $$ (Worst is that makes cost higher as of some many dif designs)... Fancy but small buses....Originally posted by gohby:I dont see why SMRT has a high operational cost, when its service is so su©ky. More like hiring good for nothing staff.
But SBS should get those SMRT type of uniforms, if they need to + fare for this, I will support a good tpt co to improve their imageOriginally posted by sbst275:To act professional lor... The new uniforms dun need $$ (Worst is that makes cost higher as of some many dif designs)... Fancy but small buses....
If tHats the case, then SMRT will only try to pass a message to us.. "We are going Back to Worst.."Actually.. SMRT did use Plastic Desto before.. but that was like years ago.. when TIBS was operating on routes 103 and 82.. i remember seeing a UK Dennis Lance with Plastic Desto.. still remember clearly that the PLastic Desto was in Blue Colour in Background and the Font uses White..Originally posted by sbst275:Can have chinese characters some more
SBS is better... Those desto, dun think it is in use anymoreOriginally posted by sBs_boy:If tHats the case, then SMRT will only try to pass a message to us.. "We are going Back to Worst.."Actually.. SMRT did use Plastic Desto before.. but that was like years ago.. when TIBS was operating on routes 103 and 82.. i remember seeing a UK Dennis Lance with Plastic Desto.. still remember clearly that the PLastic Desto was in Blue Colour in Background and the Font uses White..
I didn't remember UK Dennis Lances had such blue destos. Only the UMW Dennis Lances seem to have them.Originally posted by sBs_boy:If tHats the case, then SMRT will only try to pass a message to us.. "We are going Back to Worst.."Actually.. SMRT did use Plastic Desto before.. but that was like years ago.. when TIBS was operating on routes 103 and 82.. i remember seeing a UK Dennis Lance with Plastic Desto.. still remember clearly that the PLastic Desto was in Blue Colour in Background and the Font uses White..
I think use EDS more better den the plastic desto.. cos can put more destination names(like "Bukit Panjang via Upper Bukit Timah Road and Bukit Panjang via West Coast Highway and so on unlike SBST so standard one.. den horz if got any changes all the plastic desto will have to be changed, like very troublesome like tat lehz.. The onli problem wif the older bendy buses is tat it's not made up of LED like the newer bendy buses where it dun need to use extra lights like the older one to bright up the EDS so tat ppl can see it.. i notice some of the older bendy O405G buses one of the lights to light up the EDS is gone, making ppl harder to see it..Originally posted by sbst275:SBS is better... Those desto, dun think it is in use anymore
Originally posted by icydevilvic88:The issue is - You can ask the BC
I think use EDS more better den the plastic desto.. cos can put more destination names(like "Bukit Panjang via [b]Upper Bukit Timah Road and Bukit Panjang via West Coast Highway and so on unlike SBST so standard one.. den horz if got any changes all the plastic desto will have to be changed, like very troublesome like tat lehz.. The onli problem wif the older bendy buses is tat it's not made up of LED like the newer bendy buses where it dun need to use extra lights like the older one to bright up the EDS so tat ppl can see it.. i notice some of the older bendy O405G buses one of the lights to light up the EDS is gone, making ppl harder to see it..Anyway, use of EDS looks more modern rather den the plastic desto..[/b]
I agree.. If you dont know much about that route, just ask the BC.. i think.. since alot of Older Passengers are asying that there are less and less Chinese signs around to help them get around, i think it is a good idea to introduce the Chinese wording on EDS.. since HK can do it why cant We have it.. SMRT might consider this.. Coz.. in SBST, Their side Desto have Chinese but not on the EDS Buses and all SMRT buses...Originally posted by sbst275:The issue is - You can ask the BC
But no chinese wording is very difficult for the eldery
hmm.. okie.. in tat case, SMRT should do something and considered abt it.. especially for bus svc tat passing thru places like chinatown where there r quite a lot of chinese elderly there.. even the NEL has do something by putting up chinese words so tat they can understand..Originally posted by sBs_boy:I agree.. If you dont know much about that route, just ask the BC.. i think.. since alot of Older Passengers are asying that there are less and less Chinese signs around to help them get around, i think it is a good idea to introduce the Chinese wording on EDS.. since HK can do it why cant We have it.. SMRT might consider this.. Coz.. in SBST, Their side Desto have Chinese but not on the EDS Buses and all SMRT buses...
heheheOriginally posted by The_Bus_Guide:The image on an LCD screen could not be seen if viewed from an angle. So unless future technology can get this flaw rectified I don't see the usage of LCDs as EDS on buses. But then, it will take like 10-20 years before its prices will reach a reasonable level.
No lah, I feel the plastic EDS represents SBST competition with SMRT.Originally posted by sBs_boy:Have any of you think about this before..?? How bout replacing the current EDS with LCD screen ?? wouldnt be better ?? this way.. they could even put in pictures/colours and everything.. ?? i know LCD is Ex... but... how bout the future.. ?? say 5 or 10 years ????
Haiz...took the MRT and on closer inspection of the MRT station's LCD screen (when the Navy ad is showing) is a burnt-in image of "(4) Arriving in 2 mins".Originally posted by bus911:hehehe![]()
use plasma then lah. SMRT has changed all their stations display system from the dots type to plasma. then bus can put advertisement.....earn $$$$