Originally posted by SilverKris:Can resume 502? Hougang Ave 8 is some distance from NEL, taking bus and change to NEL will cost a lot.
Which bus routes can be further improved?
Which bus routes should be amended? Are they too long?171 too long, but neccessary for people in Bukit Panjang to get to Yishun.
Are there duplication of bus services?77, 106 and 7 along Holland Rd.
Do you think any bus services should be withdrawn or increased?No need.
Are staggered bus stops a good idea?Not a problem to those who come to Orchard Rd very often. Those people who seldom come to Orchard Rd might get confused or lose their way.
Are there too many or too few bus services serving Orchard Road?Quite ok, Orchard Rd too congested during Xmas and NY period.
Should some bus services use only double deckers?65, 143, 7, 14.
Do other bus services need bendys?167 ( To serve people in Upper Thomson and Sembawang, alternative to 162.
Are major residential areas well-connected to Orchard Road?No, Hougang Ave 8 does not have a direct bus to Orchard Rd, due to NEL.
What are your experiences taking the bus to/from Orchard Road?Centrepoint bus stop should be common bus stop for all buses, but it will be prone to congestion.
But HGN Ave 8 got direct connection to NBR leh. Not fair to pple going to Orchard Rd area.Originally posted by Zilchster:What is wrong with you?
Why must Hougang Ave 8 have a direct bus to Orchard Rd...there are other places without buses to Orchard Rd...Sengkang, Punggol, Serangoon, Hougang due to NEL...so watz so special abt Hg Ave 8 to warrant a bus svc to Orchard...
Buddy, i dun think there will be a direct link fr Orc to Hgn Ave 8 as SBST will probably will use this," due to the rationalisation of services in conjunction with NEL, it will not be possible to provide a direct link to all places."Originally posted by PJ_Quek:Centrepoint bus stop should be common bus stop for all buses, but it will be prone to congestion.
Must place cameras @ the bus bay to catch rogue car drivers.Originally posted by Acx1688:Buses now have a new menace in the form of the bs os Plaza Singapura. Many a time, i have seen cars HOGGING the bus lane so that they can use the 'slip rd' to get to PS car park causing lotsa distress to the services using the bs. Some BCs have resorted to letting their passengers alight at the outer lane as they can't maneuver into the bus bay![]()
There is no right or wrong.Originally posted by Zilchster:What is wrong with you?
Originally posted by NineGrains:i dun think so, it's because sv16 has to exit Nicoll Highway and turn into Stadium rd and it's the height restriction of "Nicoll Highway/stadium rd tunnel" that prevents this. Unless Nicoll Highway is rebuild/re-aligned, the possibilities are slim, v v slim.
Turning to the National Stadium,
Perhaps it won't be a dream afterall. The 30-year old National Studium is scehduled to be torn down and replaced with a new building, "Sports Hub." Construction is expected to begin in 2005 and end by 2009. Spectator capacity will be increased to between 45,000 to 55,000.
Maybe there won't be a height limit gantry then? Or maybe the route of 16 will be changed then?
Keeping fingers crossed.[/b]
either tt or get TP or Bus Inspector to station there to help our buses!Originally posted by SBS9611D:Must place cameras @ the bus bay to catch rogue car drivers.![]()
Also I dun think DDs can use the vv narrow Joo Chiat Rd.Originally posted by Acx1688:i dun think so, it's because sv16 has to exit Nicoll Highway and turn into Stadium rd and it's the height restriction of "Nicoll Highway/stadium rd tunnel" that prevents this. Unless Nicoll Highway is rebuild/re-aligned, the possibilities are slim, v v slim.
I agree with you, in my point of view, PJ_Quek was merely pointing out (Hougang Ave 8 ) is one of the affected areas that does not have direct linkage to Orchard area after the NEL Rationalisation, which i believe he didnt voice out anything wrong. Just my tuppence thoughts.Originally posted by NineGrains:Time to be kaypoh a bit......
Zilchster, your strong reaction is incommensurate/disproportionate to what what PJ_Quek has posted. It's not as if he insulted you, made derogatory remarks about you, or strangled your pet kitten. The post wasn't directed at anyone, but was merely an opinion.
Lots of people participate in this forum. There will be those who are better informed, and those who are not. We may not agree with everything others have said, but we do not verbally abuse others. If you don't like it, ignore it. If you must say something, keep it cordial.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The stretch of Orchard Turn leading from Somerset Rd to Orchard Blvd is specially meant for buses. Don't you even know?Originally posted by iamgoondu:Staggered stops along Orchard Roads for the above services, all buses should make an earlier turn at Orchard Turn (and forgo the bus stops at Cineleisure), that would result in lesser jams there.
I meant instead of Somerset Road, Orchard Link and Orchard Boulevard. Skip Orchard Link. And travel by Sometset Road, Grange Road and Orchard Boulevard.Originally posted by iveco:The stretch of Orchard Turn leading from Somerset Rd to Orchard Blvd is specially meant for buses. Don't you even know?