I think 502 can further extend north to Punggol.Originally posted by gohby:502 could be reverted back to Hougang/Sengkang area and be converted to a trunk serivce, which i think would solve the problem for lack of connection from Hougang/Serangoon/Sengkang area to Somerset area.
SBS Transit can also consider deploying DDs on 162 as it is packed to the brim sometimes.
Silverkris, please use some sense..........PJ Quek doesn't make any sense........
There are better things to do than talking to crows...Just had to get my LAST few lines in since I was the first one to point out basic etiquette to Zilchster. I will *try* to obey the ban from now on- even if Zilchster responds
True True but realli hope 2 c DD on sv16. In HK, if u take NWFB sv15 to the Peak, the road is windy & narrow & the drivers SPEED! but then again, this is singapore...Originally posted by leeJZ:Also I dun think DDs can use the vv narrow Joo Chiat Rd.
Originally posted by NineGrains:sv16 is a loop service at Siglap Rd, so no bus terminal...
my number one grouse is bus 16. since it no longer terminates at changi airport pt, is it possible for the service to use DDs?
i have not taken the bus right to the end, and am unfamiliar with the terminal there.
i do not think the roads are too narrow for DDs with the route it plys.
there is always difficulty boarding the bus from orchard road, since it brings passengers to the east quickly, compared to say 14 or 7.[/b]
i notice there's a heavy jam too. It's has to do with the layout of the junction. If you notice the junction where there's a overhanging traffic light. The kerb which this traffic lamp post is the cause of everything! if LTA just remove this kerb and move the traffic lamp post inner, the whole lane can be utilised! Buses need not be stuck at the junction[somerset & grange rd]. If you guys do drop by there, you will notice what i am sayingOriginally posted by iamgoondu:I meant instead of Somerset Road, Orchard Link and Orchard Boulevard. Skip Orchard Link. And travel by Sometset Road, Grange Road and Orchard Boulevard.
Forgo the busstop at Orchard LInk totally. Don't you think that the jams are at the junction between Sometset and Grange road? It was caused by vehicles from grange road clogging the junction by turning right into Somerset Road??? Despite the yellow boxes, the vehicles still clog the junction, thus buses move little despite green light and causes jams along sometset road. Let the buses turn left into Grange Road and that would result in lesser jam.
I think DDs should only be deployed during peak hrs coz most of the time it's not packed. gohby,can you take down the timings and days when sv162 is crowded to the brim, then write to tell SBST about it so that there can take action by either increasing frequency during that period or adding a DD or two. if not, SBST will just reply "the service just not justify the deployment of DD, however we will monitor the situation and adjust the sv fleet accordingly."Originally posted by gohby:502 could be reverted back to Hougang/Sengkang area and be converted to a trunk serivce, which i think would solve the problem for lack of connection from Hougang/Serangoon/Sengkang area to Somerset area.
SBS Transit can also consider deploying DDs on 162 as it is packed to the brim sometimes.
Eh, sv36 was not introduced from Bukit Merah, it's a loop between Changi Airport and Tomlinson Rd[loop service].Someone messaged me privately just now and pointed out this paragraph written by tranquilice on 12 February 2004:
sv36 and sv16 serves different segments of the East side although their routes are complimentary along Orchard Rd and there is a demand for the different routes. Both svs cant use DD cause of height restrictions at Changi Airport & Stadium Rd/Nicoll Highway Tunnel so chances are slim...
Svc 23 offered a faster connection to Orchard area. Express from Tampines Ave 5 to Bendemeer. Then kena cut short to Rochor Canal due to EWL rationalisation. But still gotta change trains. Also, Svc 65 winds its way through MacPherson and BDK Reservoir areas, so it can be rather time-consuming.Originally posted by WindyDay:To digress a little, I remember the good old days (ok I am older than most here) when many interchanges had specific services that served Orchard Road.
168 Ang Mo Kio- Orchard Road
140 Toa Payoh- Orchard Road
23 Tampines- Orchard Road
Things were less complicated then. (but of course smaller population, no mrt)
To summarise in short:Originally posted by WindyDay:I remember taking Svc 36 from Bukit Merah, but I am quite certain I wouldn't be able to recount the entangled history of 16/16E/36/390. Perhaps someone brought up this subject eons ago.
The renumbering of service 16E "created" service 36. And both did terminate at Bt Merah interchange (service 16E from introduction in Jan 1994 to renumbering day in Dec 1997, and service 36 from renumbering day in Dec 1997 to the day of amendment in Sep 1998.).Originally posted by Acx1688:Huh?!
I noe of the bad blood between sv390 and sv16E, but i tot sv36 was introduced to replace sv16E without going to Bukit Merah but looping at Tomlinson Rd[smething like sv390]?Yikes