Mmm...sticky gearbox. This is due to an electrical fault which fails to send an impulse to the gearbox and initiate a gear change. Its a technical problem and not related to the BC. Problem can be rectified by putting the bus to neutral and restarting the engine. Its not always the first gear though. I've rode on an O405 which was stuck in 2nd and was really slow off the mark. The bus can get to a decent speed (about 50 kmh) on 1st but the engine will be screaming.Originally posted by Volvo_Volgren:Here again on another technical/performance topic series starting with the VSO.....This time, let's chat abt the issues involving SBST 0405DM's and WA's.
Last year, I took a Sv 139 to TPY aboard MB0405DM(CA)......a few minutes into the ride, the bus captain seems to accelerate the MB in a forceful way.....The bus does not seem to be changing gears and was stammering to the 1st gear all the time...
At times, due to the stammering, the whole bus blacked out!!! And restart, again....I believe this is the fault of the captain.
Yup....this is exactly the situation which was happening during my ride. I wonder what type of gearbox the o405's are using...ZF?Originally posted by The_Bus_Guide:Mmm...sticky gearbox. This is due to an electrical fault which fails to send an impulse to the gearbox and initiate a gear change. Its a technical problem and not related to the BC. Problem can be rectified by putting the bus to neutral and restarting the engine. Its not always the first gear though. I've rode on an O405 which was stuck in 2nd and was really slow off the mark. The bus can get to a decent speed (about 50 kmh) on 1st but the engine will be screaming.
TIBS use ZF. SBS use Mercedes W3E gearboxes except for a handful of DM OAC ones with Voiths. Its the W3E boxes that are failing.Originally posted by Volvo_Volgren:Yup....this is exactly the situation which was happening during my ride. I wonder what type of gearbox the o405's are using...ZF?
Originally posted by SBS9810X:Oh yes......When i was taking the 103 0405(last time got) into Jalan Kayu,when the bus went over a hump,the wheels came off.....
Oh and coincidentaly the driver who drove the 103 0405 is the blur blur driver that accidentaly made the steering wheel come out of the 161 vso.![]()
You should bluff better in future, you said it was a 168 VSO!!!!!!!!Originally posted by SBS9810X:Oh yes......When i was taking the 103 0405(last time got) into Jalan Kayu,when the bus went over a hump,the wheels came off.....
Oh and coincidentaly the driver who drove the 103 0405 is the blur blur driver that accidentaly made the steering wheel come out of the [color=blue]161 vso[/color].![]()
What....Two different cases mah.....The 161 was not severe...Only steering wheel come out.....But the 168 is after the steering wheel come out,the vso was out of control and the bus smashed though a carpark with height restrictions under 3.2m then after that the bus became the first SBST open top vso.Now on Citybuzz.Originally posted by SBS3624G:You should bluff better in future, you said it was a 168 VSO!!!!!!!!![]()
Huh, so its for real? On 2nd thoughts, dun trust you.Originally posted by SBS9810X:What....Two different cases mah.....The 161 was not severe...Only steering wheel come out.....But the 168 is after the steering wheel come out,the vso was out of control and the bus smashed though a carpark with height restrictions under 3.2m then after that the bus became the first SBST open top vso.Now on Citybuzz.
Heard that the poor indian driver was sacked and he is presently selling illigeal stuff at Little India,i think his name was FOAD.
Huh, so its for real? On 2nd thoughts, dun trust you.Originally posted by SBS9810X:What....Two different cases mah.....The 161 was not severe...Only steering wheel come out.....But the 168 is after the steering wheel come out,the vso was out of control and the bus smashed though a carpark with height restrictions under 3.2m then after that the bus became the first SBST open top vso.Now on Citybuzz.
Heard that the poor indian driver was sacked and he is presently selling illigeal stuff at Little India,i think his name was FOAD.
if this really happened why it did not come out in the newsOriginally posted by SBS9810X:What....Two different cases mah.....The 161 was not severe...Only steering wheel come out.....But the 168 is after the steering wheel come out,the vso was out of control and the bus smashed though a carpark with height restrictions under 3.2m then after that the bus became the first SBST open top vso.Now on Citybuzz.
Wow..... u so heng ah? U were around when the steering wheel of both buses come out? If really got such accidents such as smashing through carpark, it will be headline at all local newspaper liao... Think hor, u watch too much movie alrd.... imagination is too good....Originally posted by SBS9810X:What....Two different cases mah.....The 161 was not severe...Only steering wheel come out.....But the 168 is after the steering wheel come out,the vso was out of control and the bus smashed though a carpark with height restrictions under 3.2m then after that the bus became the first SBST open top vso.Now on Citybuzz.
Becuase your eyes are kukucheow so you missed it.Originally posted by 5454:if this really happened why it did not come out in the news
it can't be i see the news everyday and i called up SBST and they said there were no such accidents that took place. And what was the rego of the busOriginally posted by SBS9810X:Becuase your eyes are kukucheow so you missed it.![]()
SBS 9842 D,check it out.Originally posted by 5454:it can't be i see the news everyday and i called up SBST and they said there were no such accidents that took place. And what was the rego of the bus
i juz saw SBS9842D on sv25 on Monday, no Citybuzz routeOriginally posted by SBS9810X:SBS 9842 D,check it out.
Approximately when did it take place?Originally posted by SBS9810X:SBS 9842 D,check it out.
I think SBST MB0405 very shiok, quick off the mark, powerful. I think besides trident and 0405s, few can rival their power. Only think about 0405 is lack of seats, damn noisy.Originally posted by bluezombie10:I'm beginning to hate taking SBST Mercedes O405, no matter whether it is the WA or DM body. The automatic gear change is getting from bad to worse. I'm rather unsure whether the MKIIs have that problem. Can anyone enlighten? I believe the O405 should be the one retiring first.