Originally posted by disappear:
The bus above doesnt exist.
Those who use this bus stop will know that even though it is not far away from the MRT station, there is NO bus which can go there. 133 and 135 turn right at the Upp Sgoon Road junction, 105 go to Yangzheng/Zhonghua Sch. If ONLY there is a bus which simply turns LEFT, we will reach the Serangoon MRT immediately.
Even though it is possible to walk from this area to Serangoon MRT, it is not near enough, so pple there may want to take bus to the MRT.
Currently, if people dont walk to the Station, their alternative is to go to the Cardiff Court or Boundary Rd Bus stop to wait for 22/70/853, or take 133 to Potong Pasir MRT, which is very slow during morning heavy traffic.however, the 22/70/853 option is for pple who live near boundary road, what about
those who live along B02/01 Serangoon Ave 2?? [b]why go to Potong Pasir Station when Serangoon MRT is just one stop away?
If Woodleigh station is open, this will not be an issue, because at least it is nearer, and at least there is still 135 which can go there. but it is impossible that it will open anytime soon. and 133 is overload during peak.
So, i is wondering whether there can be a some sort of feeder service(at least during peak hr) that can be introduced to go the following route:
Serangoon Interchange==>Sgoon Ctrl===>Boundary Road===>Serangoon Ave 2===>Upp Serangoon Road(Serangoon MRT)===>(Sgoon Ctrl)===>Serangoon Int.
Plus another making the loop in the opposite direction, the former during morning peak, latter during evening, if both directions are not feasible at the same time.
Alternatively, they can consider amending/extending 315 and make it ply Sgn Ave 2;i.e. after getting out of Lor Chuan, instead of turning left to Boundary Road, it go straight on to Ave 2, and turn left at the Upp Sgoon Road Junction. If this is used,315 will prob need to have 2 different plates like 410. however, the route to Serangoon Gdn and Sgn North remains the same.
I dont know if this is feasible, and wonder if anyone has suggested b4 since the opening of the NEL. if it has been suggested b4 and was rejected, i would like to know the reason they give. thank.[/b]
Yes, the CCL Station entrance should be nearer to Serangoon Ave 2.Originally posted by PJ_Quek:The route that you suggested alike 115.
After the opening of CCL Serangoon Station, Serangoon Ave 2 will be closer to MRT, isn't it? (correct me if I'm wrong)
Then should hang on for a few more years for CCL to open. I personally don't think that it would not be wise for SBST to start a service alike 115.Originally posted by disappear:Yes, the CCL Station entrance should be nearer to Serangoon Ave 2.
Thats until CCL opens. A few more years does not seem a long time, but it's not a short time either. Also the new route can be removed once CCL is ready.Originally posted by PJ_Quek:Then should hang on for a few more years for CCL to open. I personally don't think that it would not be wise for SBST to start a service alike 115.
Further, even if such service kicks off, how will be the frequency like? 20 minutes?
Solely served by a Volvo MK2 CAC alike sv115?
Is there a Lorong Chuan station nearby NYJC? Also walking distance from Ave 2 wor~
Just my 2 cents.
ZHSS students are used to taking 105 down to Toa Payoh MRT or 135 to Ang Mo Kio MRT. i'm an ex-student there leh. in fact, they also like to take 105 all the way to Orchard.Originally posted by sbskidz:Your route may include ZHSS bus stop as zhonghua students could take them to the station...
Service 72 (Serangoon - Tanjong Rhu) was withdrawn in June 1992. Same with service 312.Originally posted by 105090:SERANGOON INTERCHANGE MYSTERY
there used to be a sv312 and sv316..
and sv316 went to ? and how come sv217 wasnt a 31x? should follow series ma.. like sv241, eventually became sv331.. . k. sv217 became sv317.. ne1 knows when did sv312 and sv316 disappeared and when 217 becomes 317, and when did sv72 (tanjong Rhu) sv104 (NBR) got chopped? i only know sv312 replaced sv105 to Ave 3 is it and sv158 replaced 72, and sv156 was introduced for some reason..
and some people may think sv378 and sv379 plies within sengkang town!
If 104 were still around, I'm sure it would have been extended to SKG Int. Also, how different is the current 158 from the former 72?Originally posted by tranquilice:Service 104 was withdrawn in December 1993, together with service 134. Service 54 is the replacement.
Service 156 was introduced in 1993, part of the reason is to maintain the link between Serangoon interchange and Bishan.
Service 72 (Serangoon - Tanjong Rhu)Originally posted by iveco:If 104 were still around, I'm sure it would have been extended to SKG Int. Also, how different is the current 158 from the former 72?
I see. So there are many differences between 158 and 72. The only part that is similar is the Tanjung Rhu portion. Seems like the Bedok Int-Tanjung Katong section has been replaced by 40.Originally posted by tranquilice:Service 72 (Serangoon - Tanjong Rhu)
Serangoon int, (Serangoon Ctrl), Boundary Rd, Upp Paya Lebar Rd, Paya Lebar Rd, (Sims Ave), Tanjong Katong Rd, Mountbatten Rd, Fort Rd, Tanjong Rhu Rd (loop).
Service 158 (Bedok - Serangoon)
Bedok int, (Bedok North Ave 1), New Upp Changi Rd, Siglap Rd, East Coast Rd, Mountbatten Rd, Tanjong Katong Rd, Dunman Rd, Old Airport Rd, Mountbatten Rd, (Geylang Rd), (Kallang Rd), Sims Ave, Aljunied Rd, Merpati Rd, Circuit Rd, (Circuit Link), Paya Lebar Rd, Upp Paya Lebar Rd, Bartley Rd, Serangoon Ave 1, Serangoon Ctrl, Serangoon int.
Correct. Service 158's Bedok int - Tanjong Katong Rd stretch was replaced by service 40. Before that, service 40 ply Telok Kurau Rd.Originally posted by iveco:I see. So there are many differences between 158 and 72. The only part that is similar is the Tanjung Rhu portion. Seems like the Bedok Int-Tanjung Katong section has been replaced by 40.
Also, when did 40 cease going to the CBD? Tamago mentioned it used to go to Shenton Way terminal.
Yes, service 104 used to ply Lor Chuan until June 1992, when it swapped this part of the route with service 105 (except service 104 did not ply Serangoon Ave 2 and 3).Originally posted by iveco:Did 104 ever ply the section of Lorong Chuan where there is a height limit? It swapped routes with 105 when the latter merged with 312, am I right?
Originally posted by ^tamago^:the opp Cardiff Court bus stop is also lorong chuan.. did sv318 skipped it? or the b/s didnt exist then?
SERVICE 312 (Serangoon - Serangoon Ave 3):
Serangoon Interchange, (Serangoon Central), Boundary Rd, [b](Lor Chuan), Serangoon Ave 3, Ave 2, Boundary Rd, (Serangoon Central) and Serangoon Interchange.
NOTE: Withdrawn in 1992; withdrawn route covered by SBST 105.
The 2 amendments took place a month apart. 105 was initially extended to Jurong East to serve the upcoming IMM and Toh Guan estate. DDs had a brief stint on this service. When the second amendment was effected, a full Merc fleet took over.Originally posted by tranquilice:For service 105, beside swapping route with service 104 and merging route with service 312, it was also extended from Clementi to Jurong East at the same time.
I think 73 was also similarly amended. Previously, it turned left from YCK Rd into AMK Ave 3 like 76 does.Originally posted by Townlink 268:and sv315 used to go straight from> SG Gdn Way > YCK road > AMK ave 3> SN ave 1 (one direction)(loop). after that, it was extended to North Ave 4 sometime after 1995..