Ya lor...! Handal Indah should start learning how to THINK OUT OF THE BOX or exercise some LATERAL THINKING if it wants to salvage CW3 or else it's on the brink of extinction. Already there are rumours (well, my friend heard from one the staff whom she's quite pally with..) that HI is currently not even able to cover CW3's operational cost but 'the boss' (whoever that is...) is still trying to see how he can sustain CW3. I hope 'the boss' brain can BE MORE CREATIVE to tackle whatever problems CW3 is facing. HI shouldn't be too conventional but be more contemporary! As the saying goes, "IF THERE'S A WILL, THERE'S A WAY". If the route can be shorten yet benefitting many more passengers at the same time, then maybe the MYR ticket price from JB side can be slightly reduced too.Originally posted by PhyrePhox:Agreed. The residential areas add on to the revenue as it is a very costly route (because of the tolls at the 2nd link). I hope it continues to bring in profits or they will have no choice but to withdraw or cut short the route
...Yeah, no one will so gila but HI quite stupid. This is precisely the long-winded route that CW3 is taking.Originally posted by 105090:no one will so gila and take from Jurong East to Bandar!
I would suggest a "loop service" similar to SBS 243 in Singapore. That is, one CW3 travels from Gelang Patah, through Bukit Indah, Taman Perling, Perling Mall, Taman Tampoi whatever, Kip Mart, Taman Sri Yakoob, Best Mart, Taman Sutera Utama, Taman Ungku Tun Aminah, Lima Kedai, and back to Gelang Patah. Another travels in the opposite direction. At the same time, get rid of 666, part of whose route is taken over by CW3. This helps link the western and north-western housing estates together, besides linking them to Gelang Patah and hence Jurong East. The inter-housing estate passenger traffic may help increase revenues.Originally posted by purplecrazed:If the route can be shorten yet benefitting many more passengers at the same time, then maybe the MYR ticket price from JB side can be slightly reduced too.
Indeed HI should target all the Tamans within Gelang Patah's reach.
Obviously, we all know it's so stupid to have its starting base & terminal at Kotaraya...For Tmn Perling-Bkt Indah route, they can start from Perling Mall. For Tun Aminah, Tmn Sri Orkid, Tmn Tan Sri Yacob, etc. they can think of another nearer landmark somewhere...
Originally posted by purplecrazed:I think Handal Indah is s-t-r-u-g-g-l-i-n-g (or barely surviving...) in trying to earn any little profit from its running of CW3. First of all, 2nd Link is not a popular route during off-peak hour but HI is trying its best to maintain an image of consistency so that the public knows there'll always be CW3 buses traveling to and fro JB-S'pore via 2nd Link round the clock the whole day, everyday, whether peak or off-peak, many or few passengers, rain or shine. But in doing so, it is suffering a loss because ferrying less than 10 or even less than 5 passengers whether from GP or JE during off-peak definitely cannot cover the operational cost.
A passenger ever told me that she normally boards the CW3 in the mid-morning which is during off-peak as she has a totally different working hour from us. And there was once she waited 1&1/2 hour at Gelang Patah for the S'pore-bound bus. She was so turned-off that she decided sheÂ’ll no longer board CW3 when going to work, except only when returning from SÂ’pore. So it does seem that it is very difficult for HI to meet the needs of the few passengers during off-peak without resulting in losses on its end. It also causes HI to lose more and more passengers as people began to discover that it is not very ideal to take CW3 to SG during off-peak.
So what is the implication if HI decide to only run CW3 during the peak hours or fix a certain service timing, say between 5.30am–12nn & 5pm -11pm and weekends round the clock? Will HI suffer greater loss if it pours in more concentrated efforts to meet only the needs of the working class during weekdays?
Originally posted by 105090:
CW3 goes to bandar is obvious.. [b]it wants people to know of its presence.. of cos, theres no need for another lin from bandar to GP, Bt Indah etc when so many buses are going the same route[/b]
No, I think what 105090 meant is that CW3 travels the JB Bandar route on purpose to "show off" or let the whole world know of its existence. Something like that...Originally posted by hseochin:You mean there's presently MANY other operators plying between between JB bandar & Gelang Patah station ??
I don't seem to observe so, which is why i've considered it [somewhat only though] justifiable for CW3 to ply to Kota Raya.
If so, what's these other service numbers ?
WOW! Really? You told them abt our forum?? Well, I hope they keep reading it and consider the many ideas and options we've suggested.Originally posted by hannwei:... Anyway, Handal Indah was already given the URL and topic name of this discussion on 2005-10-10. So, it can assess suggestions that interest it.
Yeah.., you've got a good idea there abt the loop service...that's what I meant by hoping Handal Indah will be more contemporary rather than always doing things the conventional way or sticking to the standard route which is a waste of resources, time and money.Originally posted by hannwei:I would suggest a "loop service" similar to SBS 243 in Singapore. That is, one CW3 travels from Gelang Patah, through Bukit Indah, Taman Perling, Perling Mall, Taman Tampoi whatever, Kip Mart, Taman Sri Yakoob, Best Mart, Taman Sutera Utama, Taman Ungku Tun Aminah, Lima Kedai, and back to Gelang Patah. Another travels in the opposite direction. At the same time, get rid of 666, part of whose route is taken over by CW3. This helps link the western and north-western housing estates together, besides linking them to Gelang Patah and hence Jurong East. The inter-housing estate passenger traffic may help increase revenues.
GP to/from Bandar got people lah, but not to say that many... because there's also Transit Link svc 6.Originally posted by 105090:CW3 freq of 30mins.. many ppl who take it sure regulars..
yesterday even saw many students taking from the post office.. they looked sian.. prob long waiting time..
maybe HI shld make the Bandar > GP route a more regular service, and the GP > J East route as 30mins remains..? since many people taking CW3 from bandar doesnt mean they go to Jurong East.
and since theres the local and singapore route, the above suggestion can make it more lkely to happen..
but then, GP to/ from Bandar also has many ppl rite?
It happened once on 2005-10-15. A CW3 traveling from Gelang Patah to the town did not enter the big roundabout. I had to walk about one kilometer to get my car. This was reported to Handal Indah verbally about half an hour later.Originally posted by purplecrazed:CW3 a bit "gila gila" one.... This morning because 2 CW3 buses came at the same time (one is SG-bound and one is local route), so the SG-bound bus decided not to turn in to Bkt Indah because the driver felt that since the local route bus is available during that time, it can pick up the rest of the people from Bkt Indah while he decided to head straight to GP.
But the problem is.... there was one school boy in the bus.... poor thing, he panicked and had to get down just after the traffic light turning at the start of the highway when he realised that our CW3 wasn't going in to Bkt Indah. I don't know how he settle his journey to school after that. If I were him, I'd keep my ticket to board the next Causeway Link svc. 111 Free-Of-Charge and complain to the driver that CW3 (which is after all, the same bus company) dumped me halfway because it wasn't going in to Bkt Indah. So I should use the same ticket to continue my journey.
Honestly, the driver this morning was very inconsiderate. He actually waved & horn at the local route bus driver as it passed by him but what was it for?? Just for the sake of a friendly greeting? C'mon, if the SG-bound CW3 wanted to skip Bkt Indah, it should SIGNAL to the LOCAL ROUTE BUS DRIVER TO STOP and then check whether any of its passengers were heading twds Bkt Indah, then tell them to transfer before hitting the highway. If I were the school boy, I'd be fuming mad.
And having seen this sort of incident with my own eyes, if I'm a resident of Bkt Indah and I happen to be in town, I'm not too sure if I wanna flag down CW3. Coz what if I ended up kena dumped halfway when the siao driver last minute decided to skip Bkt Indah?
whoa! CW3 got daily nightmares one ah?Originally posted by hannwei:A Jurong East-bound CW3 encountered some problems, probably with its radiator or cooling system. The driver decided to stop at the Malaysian CIQ at 2005-10-17 0730 and tried to fix the problems together with the "time keeper", without informing the passengers what was happening. It was only after Handal Indah received complaints through phone calls and SMSs that it checked with the two staff at the CIQ. It asked the "time keeper" to "say sorry" to the passengers, but apparently the "time keeper" did not do so. Eventually, all of the passengers had to squeeze onto the next CW3 which arrived at the CIQ at 0800.
So, I encountered problems in all my three most recent trips on CW3, on 2005-10-15, 2005-10-17 and 2005-10-18. But admittedly, Handal Indah cannot be blamed too much for the problem on 2005-10-17.
Handal Indah has a number of good drivers. The best I found so far is a Malay driving a CW1. He usually wore a long-sleeve shirt inside his short-sleeve uniform. Just that it also has a few very bad CW3 drivers.
Oh dear... pity you... had to walk so far and then had to drive like mad to GP. What a hellish experience...Originally posted by hannwei:It happened once on 2005-10-15. A CW3 traveling from Gelang Patah to the town did not enter the big roundabout. I had to walk about one kilometer to get my car. This was reported to Handal Indah verbally about half an hour later.
At around 2005-10-18 0730, a CW3 going from the town to Gelang Patah did not pass half of the roundabout where I had been waiting for twenty minutes. I am not sure if you are referring to this bus. I had to rush to Gelang Patah in my car to catch the 0740 Jurong East-bound CW3. This was reported to Handal Indah through SMS a few minutes ago before I read your message.
Wah! How come you know the boss? CW3 drivers are mainly Malay men except for one chinese "uncle" called TONY (driver of 3105). Hehe...Originally posted by 105090:whoa! CW3 got daily nightmares one ah?
but aint Handah Indah buses majority Chinese man? (can understand cos boss is a chinese botak guy called Mr Teo)
Concerning the roundabout...Well, there was one evening, a bus heading for Bandar first went to Bkt Indah and after that did not enter the roundabout BUT before he decided to give it a miss, he actually turned his head and asked whether anyone of us need to get down at the roundabout. And since nobody answered, only then did he feel justified to drive straight to Jalan Layang.Originally posted by hannwei:It happened once on 2005-10-15. A CW3 traveling from Gelang Patah to the town did not enter the big roundabout.....
At around 2005-10-18 0730, a CW3 going from the town to Gelang Patah did not pass half of the roundabout where I had been waiting for twenty minutes....
I noticed one Malay driver who always wear his own t-shirt except when he's driving, then he wld put on his yellow uniform on the outside but unbuttoned. He drives the SG-bound CW3.Originally posted by hannwei:Handal Indah has a number of good drivers. The best I found so far is a Malay driving a CW1. He usually wore a long-sleeve shirt inside his short-sleeve uniform. Just that it also has a few very bad CW3 drivers.
Originally posted by purplecrazed:I noticed one Malay driver who always wear his own t-shirt except when he's driving, then he wld put on his yellow uniform on the outside but unbuttoned. He drives the SG-bound CW3.
For the local route CW3, I like the one who's always wearing a cap with the flap facing the back of his head. There's never a day I see him without his head covered.... He's quite a cool person and very polite. If my mum happens to accompany me at the invisible bus stop, before he drive off, he would always nod his head at my mum as a sign of respect.
He's the one I mentioned who would turn around & ask the passengers first before he decides to skips the roundabout.
Anyway, does anybody know who is the tall Chinese man who never wears his uniform but always making his rounds at the various stations of CW1 & CW3? When CW3 first started, he was at the Jurong East booth "selling koyok" (meaning, he was the one doing all the promotional work with crowds gathered around as he tells people abt the new service & answering their questions). Sometimes I see him at Kranji, sometimes at Jurong East, sometimes at Tuas checkpoint. He's like here, there and everywhere. I'm curious as to whether he's someone high up in HI? Because he NEVER wears the yellow HI uniform but seem to be someone in authority.
Yeah, I was just curious 'coz there was once I complained to this tall, Chinese, tanned-skin, un-uniformed man at the Jurong East booth concerning our having to wait 45mins at GP one morning before there was any sign of the JE-bound CW3, and his response was rather nonchalant. All he said was, "I dunno... for this matter, you'll need to check with JB side..." Then he dialled his mobile phone and pass it to me to pour out my grievances to his colleague at JB.Originally posted by hseochin:What uniform is there to wear if one is say @ boss managerial position owing the business ??? Uniforms are for those who (by their job roles) need to interact with the public so the uniform is for the public to identify them as from the company.
BINGO!! i think i saw this fella before.. but i think my version is a malay fella.. last time i was at Kranji, then this guy was shouting Larkin! Larkin! Johor! Johor! Yellow Bus!! and his hand was "sweeping" the customers towards his bus. then the SBS officer stand there and watch becos theres no 170 to sweep passengers into and a shiny coach-type CW1 arrived.Originally posted by purplecrazed:Anyway, does anybody know who is the tall Chinese man who never wears his uniform but always making his rounds at the various stations of CW1 & CW3? When CW3 first started, he was at the Jurong East booth "selling koyok" (meaning, he was the one doing all the promotional work with crowds gathered around as he tells people abt the new service & answering their questions). Sometimes I see him at Kranji, sometimes at Jurong East, sometimes at Tuas checkpoint. He's like here, there and everywhere. I'm curious as to whether he's someone high up in HI? Because he NEVER wears the yellow HI uniform but seem to be someone in authority.
Not really, at checkpoint, people just take whatever bus that comes first. When there's no 170/160, people crawl over the railings and go for CW1, and vice versa.Originally posted by 105090:hate to say this.. but i noticed most people who take CW1/2 are mostly/mainly malaysians and singaporeans for 170.. can verify![]()