Originally posted by The_Bus_Guide:I doubt that it is transversely mounted. From the picture on the webpage that I linked, the belts are found facing the rear, which suggests a conventional driveline. If it is transversely mounted, then the belts will be facing the side.
According to the website, the CBC 1725 and IBC 1632 both use an OM 906LA II engine, the former having a capacity of 6374 cc producing 245 hp and the latter a capacity of 7200 cc producing 326 hp.
I haven't seen the dash upclose because I've never rode the bus. So, I can't make any comments either.
Originally posted by The_Bus_Guide:
[b]Introduction of services CW3 and 666 from Causeway Link
A bus similar to the one below was spotted at Jurong East today. Will it be the ones used for CW3?[/b]
Originally posted by sbst275:I see Queen St Terminal CW2 payment counter have the CW3 poster
Anyway, off topic...
But seeing CW2 buses parking behind SJE.. Majority of the going back crowd still prefer SJE for dunno whatever reason. CW2 too many buses parking at Terminal liao, up to 4!
HI lots of prob...Originally posted by hseochin:1 reason i've seen is because some (presumably highly regular) travellers use the SJE pass, which i believe they buy a unlimited use monthly ticket instead of on every trip.
So i suppose unless they in great hurry they wait for SJE so as get the most use of the SJE pass !
HI should also have a similar scheme. Then there's need to fumble for required change everytime & show the pass & board !
Well, I have seen occasional standees on 170 in JB as well.Originally posted by sbst275:HI lots of prob...
Dun abide to speed limit
Then have standee on CW2 (Not supposed to, if caught summon $50 per head)...
They wanna serve here, they should abide by the contract they have agreed and signed
Only SJE and CW2 are not allowed to have standee as they are Express SvsOriginally posted by iveco:Well, I have seen occasional standees on 170 in JB as well.
Originally posted by sbst275:HI lots of prob...
Dun abide to speed limit
Then have standee on CW2 (Not supposed to, if caught summon $50 per head)...
They wanna serve here, they should abide by the contract they have agreed and signed
Well, rules are that we humans have set, we have to followOriginally posted by hseochin:Seriously speaking, all these 'speed limits' are artificially low much of the time & is more of a nusience than of real benefit ! I've written @ quite some length why that is so on another post relating to similar feedback pertaining to SJE vehicles. Therefore i won't even consider it worth the bother to mention about anybody not complying with such 'artificial' requirements of questionable worth !
About the issue of standing passengers, sometimes people have simply got to be practical & use their head instead of blindly following whatever they are supposed to have read, understood or signed ! In the real world out there almost anywhere, rules are really meant to be broken, but of course on a selective basis ! Why that's so simply because the power of the written word doesn't seem powerful enough to cover with 100 % satisfaction all the possible situations encountered in real life so selective judgement would ultimately still need to be used. Only a dumb nut would blindly apply rules without thinking simply they are 'rules' !!
Anycase from personal observations, this issue of standing passengers for the short stretch across the Causeway is practised not only on CW2 from time to time but also on SJE as well. Understandly so. Therefore no real justifications or point to make any fuss out of such technical breaches of legality.
The practical hence really more important & worthwhile things which i'll be looking into in such situations instead would be like can the vehicles concerned take the additional load of passengers ? (answer: certainly no problems since the bus-chassi are of broadly similar specs !) Are there sufficient grip points provided by the bodybuilder such that even with some standing passengers all concerned can still manage to find something to hold securely onto inside the vehicle ? It's obvious to me there are some provisions for such requirements although understandly not as much as on a citybus body. So that'll be the limiting factor of the number of standing passengers in excess of those seated i'll say. So in all practicality, it definitelly is feasible for the vehicles to take in somewhat more than the no. of seated passengers but of course these are last resort measures only to be taken under non-normal operating circumstances !
If they are clever enough, i'm not surprised if they can get their lawyers to add in some such 'exceptional' clauses to cater to such occasional breaches !
A matter of how to play with words & still get things done not incorrectly.
On the whole, i must say HI have done reasonably well not only in Singapore but also in Malaysia, where low load factors seem more prevalent than in Singapore, where competition is not as keen as in Malaysia ! As such, i won't even find it worth the bother to pick on such issues to talk about them, as from personal observations even SBST & SJE while in Malaysia do not comply fully with the requirements there while the local vehicles there comply with ! I understand the constrians in the actual situations on the roads etc. as such i don't even find it worth the bother to pick on them too as such !!!!
well.. m sure no one will want to stand for 30mins++ !! so even if they allow standing, there sure be very few takers, unless its from chkpt to chkptOriginally posted by sbst275:Only SJE and CW2 are not allowed to have standee as they are Express Svs
Someone @ WDL Chkpt told me some time back
If both kena super jam.... I walk across the Causeway suan le.....Originally posted by sbst275:It depends, higher cost @ Linkedua, but if bth kena jam, usually Causeway side clear faster
Anyway... Which Express Sv make ppl to stand ar?Originally posted by Townlink 268:well.. m sure no one will want to stand for 30mins++ !! so even if they allow standing, there sure be very few takers, unless its from chkpt to chkpt
if u mean Express sv506 etc.. well.. k diff story..Originally posted by sbst275:Anyway... Which Express Sv make ppl to stand ar?
Relax brudder, actually SBS can sell the tickets on the bus. In JB departure checkpoint, there's a big signboard written in Malay that says passengers are not allowed to purchase ticket inside or outside bus, by order of JB Mayor, but who cares about this rule? Most of CW1's passengers board the bus from JB checkpoint, only a handful of them board CW1 from the going-to-be-ghost-town Kotaraya Terminal. If CW1 follows the rule strict, their business will have to fold. On the other hand, if SBS follows the rule, CW1 will benefit, but I doubt SBS will do it.Originally posted by sbst275:Well, rules are that we humans have set, we have to follow
Then no point we have law and everything...
You think? SBS has been complying with all the requirement needs like the 3rd brake light. Anyway, you think HI also comply with standards in MY? JB Checkpoint or WDL Checkpoint is not a bus stop yet they can sell ticketsThen SBS cannot...
Our Express Sv is not those long distance travelling lor... Or Inter StateOriginally posted by Townlink 268:if u mean Express sv506 etc.. well.. k diff story..
and Turf City Shuttle s also made to stand..
but, usually for exp bus, when full, bus will moves off..
Ya lah... So even Handal Indah also dun follow their boss rule...Originally posted by PJ_Quek:Relax brudder, actually SBS can sell the tickets on the bus. In JB departure checkpoint, there's a big signboard written in Malay that says passengers are not allowed to purchase ticket inside or outside bus, by order of JB Mayor, but who cares about this rule? Most of CW1's passengers board the bus from JB checkpoint, only a handful of them board CW1 from the going-to-be-ghost-town Kotaraya Terminal. If CW1 follows the rule strict, their business will have to fold. On the other hand, if SBS follows the rule, CW1 will benefit, but I doubt SBS will do it.
In the competitive business world, they don't care who's right, they only care who's left.
Originally posted by sbst275:Anyway... Which Express Sv make ppl to stand ar?
Not only slack, sometimes it's ridiculous. Take an example, this Kotaraya terminal is so deserted, with times of high diesel price ,the Western JB buses don't bother to make a loop at there. The stretch of Jln Wong Ah Fook near the Indian temple was banned for alighting/boarding for some time, the authorities even got the bus stop removed, and now? With a nicely decorated and designed Legaran Segget behind, you see a chaotic open air "bus stop" in front. How ridiculous?!Originally posted by sbst275:Ya lah... So even Handal Indah also dun follow their boss rule...
By right, JB there rule is slack...
If had known of today, Handal Indah would not been so until like that
With the fares, no takersOriginally posted by PJ_Quek:Not only slack, sometimes it's ridiculous. Take an example, this Kotaraya terminal is so deserted, with times of high diesel price ,the Western JB buses don't bother to make a loop at there. The stretch of Jln Wong Ah Fook near the Indian temple was banned for alighting/boarding for some time, the authorities even got the bus stop removed, and now? With a nicely decorated and designed Legaran Segget behind, you see a chaotic open air "bus stop" in front. How ridiculous?!
K, back to topic. I don't think CW3's frequency will be good. It could be 15-30 minutes. It'll bleed, I believe.
I tends to agreed with you on this,Imagine driving 60 km/h on expressways which can be very irritating at some times,I always drive exceed those speed limitOriginally posted by hseochin:Seriously speaking, all these 'speed limits' are artificially low much of the time & is more of a nusience than of real benefit ! I've written @ quite some length why that is so on another post relating to similar feedback pertaining to SJE vehicles. Therefore i won't even consider it worth the bother to mention about anybody not complying with such 'artificial' requirements of questionable worth !
About the issue of standing passengers, sometimes people have simply got to be practical & use their head instead of blindly following whatever they are supposed to have read, understood or signed ! In the real world out there almost anywhere, rules are really meant to be broken, but of course on a selective basis ! Why that's so simply because the power of the written word doesn't seem powerful enough to cover with 100 % satisfaction all the possible situations encountered in real life so selective judgement would ultimately still need to be used. Only a dumb nut would blindly apply rules without thinking simply they are 'rules' !!
Anycase from personal observations, this issue of standing passengers for the short stretch across the Causeway is practised not only on CW2 from time to time but also on SJE as well. Understandly so. Therefore no real justifications or point to make any fuss out of such technical breaches of legality.
The practical hence really more important & worthwhile things which i'll be looking into in such situations instead would be like can the vehicles concerned take the additional load of passengers ? (answer: certainly no problems since the bus-chassi are of broadly similar specs !) Are there sufficient grip points provided by the bodybuilder such that even with some standing passengers all concerned can still manage to find something to hold securely onto inside the vehicle ? It's obvious to me there are some provisions for such requirements although understandly not as much as on a citybus body. So that'll be the limiting factor of the number of standing passengers in excess of those seated i'll say. So in all practicality, it definitelly is feasible for the vehicles to take in somewhat more than the no. of seated passengers but of course these are last resort measures only to be taken under non-normal operating circumstances !
If they are clever enough, i'm not surprised if they can get their lawyers to add in some such 'exceptional' clauses to cater to such occasional breaches !
A matter of how to play with words & still get things done not incorrectly.
On the whole, i must say HI have done reasonably well not only in Singapore but also in Malaysia, where low load factors seem more prevalent than in Singapore, where competition is not as keen as in Malaysia ! As such, i won't even find it worth the bother to pick on such issues to talk about them, as from personal observations even SBST & SJE while in Malaysia do not comply fully with the requirements there while the local vehicles there comply with ! I understand the constrians in the actual situations on the roads etc. as such i don't even find it worth the bother to pick on them too as such !!!!
The Habit bodywork was designed for low-floor buses, hence the deep windows and the provision of wheelchair bays (but used by TIBS as standing bays on the O405G). It was TIBS's idea to put the Habit body on a normal floor O405G because they liked the design. And Hispano not wanting to lose a potential lucrative deal said "Si, si!"Originally posted by hseochin:I believe highly possible, with M-B 6-speed manual gearbox.
Might also have some MAN with 6-speed manual gearbox.
Seems to me HI taken some design hints from the Hispano Habit here & applied them to their bodywork. I find the window waistline unnecessarily lower, resulting in the section of black glass, which like on the Habits, doesn't seem very 'purposeful' ?!?
Originally posted by The_Bus_Guide:The Habit bodywork was designed for low-floor buses, hence the deep windows and the provision of wheelchair bays (but used by TIBS as standing bays on the O405G). It was TIBS's idea to put the Habit body on a normal floor O405G because they liked the design. And Hispano not wanting to lose a potential lucrative deal said "Si, si!"
Liannex bodywork having deep windows is harder to understand because there are no low floor buses in Malaysia presently. In fact, when I first saw the bus I thought it was the "First Low Floor Bus in Malaysia" and ran excitedly for about 100 metres in order to get a photo, only to find out that I was duped.
Originally posted by carbikebus:I tends to agreed with you on this,Imagine driving 60 km/h on expressways which can be very irritating at some times,I always drive exceed those speed limit![]()
Originally posted by sbst275:Well, rules are that we humans have set, we have to follow
Then no point we have law and everything...
You think? SBS has been complying with all the requirement needs like the 3rd brake light. Anyway, you think HI also comply with standards in MY? JB Checkpoint or WDL Checkpoint is not a bus stop yet they can sell ticketsThen SBS cannot...
Yeah unless i'm driving with those stupid speed limiter activateOriginally posted by hseochin:Good ! Then it shows you're of normal sound mind !!
Only dump nuts would crawl like a tortoise @ what ? 60 km/h on an expressway !