So HseoChin,Im MY Those Dennis Dart/Lances,MAN SL252 & Scanias are considered low floor with steps right?Originally posted by hseochin:The 'ultra low floor theme' that appears to me as to why both the Habit here & HI's bodywork adopted this black glass section, so as to make the vehicle appear lower than it really is. Not much practical point to me, only aesthetical !
In TIBS case, i believe back in 2000 when the Habit was launched here, they probably found the O 405 GN too expensive so decided to stick with O 405 G while the habit body may have been done with O 405 GN in mind instead. So Hispano might have then simply 'blanked out' the excess glass area as the O 405 G is only a normal 3-step low floor citybus & not ultra-low floor with zero steps.
Anyway, this black glass effect only makes the bus appear lower than it actually is during daytime only, because during nitetime with the interior lights on the higher actual height of the window stills become so obvious that it's a normal higher height bus.
As to no low floor buses in Malaysia, i don't think so.
What's low floor in the 1st place ? I consider the O 305, O 405, N113, Lance etc. as low floor citybuses as the step count @ normal step height does not exceed 3 steps. Ultra low floor those with zero step or just 1 step from the road to get in. Anything > 3 steps @ normal step height (like the OF & OH series etc.) these then are not low floor vehicles.
For a bus to be classified as a (purpose built) citybus, the basic requirement is low floor as mentioned above. Low profile tyres too i'll say. Higher height buses used as citybuses are NOT real citybuses as such & should not technically be classified as such.
The 1st low floor bus in Malaysia i'll consider as the MAN SL 252, with roughly similar dimensions as the M-B O 405, both of which ARE purpose built citybuses & the 3-step floor low enough to be classified as a low floor bus. It's of course NOT ultra low floor though since there's > 1 step onboard from the road !
As for HI's new M-B like those with the kampung roof bodywork & that unit shown in your photo, the floor height is low enough & step count & step height all low enough to be classified as a low floor hence 'real' citybus chassis. Of course NOT ultra low floor though. Same as with the O 405 G with Habit bodywork here. Not surprising then to note of M-B's new model normenclarature like CBC, which stands for 'citybus chassis' while IBC for 'intercity bus chassis' etc.
Originally posted by sbst275:Ya lah... So even Handal Indah also dun follow their boss rule...
By right, JB there rule is slack...
If had known of today, Handal Indah would not been so until like that
But I dun think ICA will allow this @ WDL Checkpoint... SG we go by rules
Originally posted by carbikebus:So HseoChin,Im MY Those Dennis Dart/Lances,MAN SL252 & Scanias are considered low floor with steps right?
How about the B10Ms? What do you classify them as?Originally posted by hseochin:M-B O 405, O 405 G, MAN SL 252, Scania N113, Dennis Lance/Dart are low enough to be 'entry level' low floor buses. But they are not ultra low floor.
Originally posted by iveco:How about the B10Ms? What do you classify them as?
They are mid-engine, and this 100% makes them not possible to even be in your "low-entry" categoryOriginally posted by hseochin:As for Volvo B10M (all Mks.), this seems in the 'middle of nowhere' because
it's certainly NOT that low in floor height when in the company of N113, O 305, O 405, Lance, in fact many others who fit the role of citybus much better than B10M, which don't even come as standard with citybus type low profile tyres !
I'll classify B10M more suitable for use with a coach body than a citybus body
i.e. B10M better off as coach than citybus ! [But due to it's lousy suspension ride comfort, there's many other better choices around still]
Some drivers may like the B10M due to the weight distribution being more in front (because the engine is quite close upfront) which can provide more steering traction especially in wet weather driving. But what's appealing to the driver need NOT be appealing to the passengers, who tend to be more concerned about the suspension ride comfort especially those seated @ the extreme rear who WILL find the B10M terribly uncomfortable (for an air-suspended bus !) even @ slower road speeds.
In overview i consider the B10M below the 'entry level' low floor category (which those like O 405, N113 belong to) i.e. B10M not low enough to consider as a low floor bus although when compared to OF or OH series, B10M lower in floor height than these due to the horizontally mounted engine. That's why i say B10M 'in the middle of nowhere' ! In modern times, not a model of bus or coach worth considering anymore.
Originally posted by sbst275:But I dun think ICA will allow this @ WDL Checkpoint... SG we go by rules
I had tried that before.Originally posted by hseochin:That's rubbish.
Because i've personally observed people board @ Woodlands & buy tickets whether on 170, 160, CW1 or CW2 !!
Sv 170 and 160 sell ticket @ WDL??Originally posted by tranquilice:I had tried that before.Took service 160 from Jurong East to Woodlands checkpoint, use the overhead bridge to get to arrival side, and transfer to service 170 to Woodlands Centre Rd.
(For joyride).
I think that would open up a can of worms.Originally posted by sbst275:Sv 170 and 160 sell ticket @ WDL??
I tell your why... Because LTA thoughts of only making $$... End up now everyone luan luan sell ticket...
Sense it is time to inform ICA bef trouble brew of a chaotic checkpoint
Sell ticket as in SBST staffs selling tickets like the bus conductor or put cash into coinbox onboard bus then collect ticket?Originally posted by sbst275:Sv 170 and 160 sell ticket @ WDL??
Originally posted by sbst275:Sv 170 and 160 sell ticket @ WDL??
I tell your why... Because LTA thoughts of only making $$... End up now everyone luan luan sell ticket...
Sense it is time to inform ICA bef trouble brew of a chaotic checkpoint
Originally posted by iveco:I think that would open up a can of worms.
Originally posted by sbst275:1st day in sv
Poor loading, frequency during off peak is 30 mins
It seems that 666 is a extended rt, it seems to my memories that it loop @ Gelang Patah
Rt too long, take 90 - 120 mins to complete
Seriously say,Those B10Ms are not suitable for modern days citybuses!If given a choices,Then i would definately choose MAN SL252 OR Even Dennis Lance in addition to O 405 & N113CRBs fleets.(I don't understand why they prefer B10Ms over Lances which is similiar in pricesOriginally posted by hseochin:As for Volvo B10M (all Mks.), this seems in the 'middle of nowhere' because
it's certainly NOT that low in floor height when in the company of N113, O 305, O 405, Lance, in fact many others who fit the role of citybus much better than B10M, which don't even come as standard with citybus type low profile tyres !
I'll classify B10M more suitable for use with a coach body than a citybus body
i.e. B10M better off as coach than citybus ! [But due to it's lousy suspension ride comfort, there's many other better choices around still]
Some drivers may like the B10M due to the weight distribution being more in front (because the engine is quite close upfront) which can provide more steering traction especially in wet weather driving. But what's appealing to the driver need NOT be appealing to the passengers, who tend to be more concerned about the suspension ride comfort especially those seated @ the extreme rear who WILL find the B10M terribly uncomfortable (for an air-suspended bus !) even @ slower road speeds.
In overview i consider the B10M below the 'entry level' low floor category (which those like O 405, N113 belong to) i.e. B10M not low enough to consider as a low floor bus although when compared to OF or OH series, B10M lower in floor height than these due to the horizontally mounted engine. That's why i say B10M 'in the middle of nowhere' ! In modern times, not a model of bus or coach worth considering anymore.
Actually, it is more towards safetyOriginally posted by hseochin:It would NOT tend to have any 'chaotic' checkpoint !
In fact the exact opposite to that i have to say.
Because no point to have people stranded there with no tickets to buy & the vehicles go largely empty as a result & these people do what ? Walk for how many mins. away to the next nearest bus stop ?!! Stupid to even think so !
The flow of human traffic out of the checkpoint premises SLOWS down as a result which is no good as there's already enough crowding there !!!!
Therefore by buying tickets upon boarding @ the checkpoint premises,
this ensures nobody is stranded behind which also speeds up the flow of human traffic especially during peak hours ! Think about it, how fast can a person walk compared to how fast even a slow moving bus can go ?!?? Anything which can help to speed up the 'clearance' of people from the checkpoint premises HAS got be regarded a positive development instead of otherwise !
Already if bth sides are no jam, 160 faster to Kota RayaOriginally posted by hseochin:Loading would take time to build up as people need time to get more familiar with the route covered etc.
30 min off-peak frequency is definitely reasonable, taking into account lower loads compared to other high load routes !
Route 666 expected to loop @ Johor CIQ complex instead, starting out & ending @ Larkin. In fact, i find it sensible for them to have this idea of CW3 with 666 instead CW3 covering 'everything' since there's more choice & ends up faster than if CW3 alone covering the same stops. By ending CW3 @ Kota Raya it also fits in nicely with their Senai airport express for those using Air Asia.
Ride long ?? Would also depend on traffic situation !
Sometimes it takes 1 hour to get thru the stupid Woodlands checkpoint & i'll put it @ 50% due to the slow & inefficient pace of clearance 50% due to the poor road design & traffic management near the checkpoint complex outside the Woodlands cinema where nobody seems to follow the yellow box rules, not surprising in view of the bad traffic circumstances !
So what makes of vehicle used ?? Manual or automatic gearbox ?
I'll expect HI's overall travelling speeds much faster than SBST since a larger proportion of their route are on the Johor highways & a 6-speed manual geared M-B CBC 1725 would have no problems doing 100+ km/h @ 2000 rpm.
Originally posted by sbst275:Already if bth sides are no jam, 160 faster to Kota Raya
I must warn you that in the happening that bth sides are jammed, you can be stucked @ Tuas for 3 hrs, the worst ever was 4.5 hrs
Antother issue abt the fare is, $3, unless you stay @ Western side, it would be not worth it
Originally posted by sbst275:Anyway,
in that Ch 8 news
CW1 and CW2 off peak frequency would be reduced... Sekali like CW3, 30 mins
Think again...Originally posted by hseochin:Understandable why off-peak frequency should be reduced, so long as load is low or non existent during such times !
Anyway, i just riden CW3 from Kota Raya to Jurong East Interchange so as to get a 1st hand experience of the route & vehicle type used.
Noted the following approx. driving times;
Kota Raya to Taman Perling 30 mins.
Taman Perling/Sutera to Bukit Indah, another 10 mins.
Bukit Indah to Johor CIQ complex, another 10 mins.
Johor CIQ complex to Tuas CIQ complex, another 10 mins.
Tuas to Jurong East Interchange, another 20 mins.
Therefore total approx. nett driving time from Kota Raya to Jurong East Interchange 80 mins.
I say nett driving time because i exclude any waiting time for passengers before moving off or if changing bus, the next vehicle not yet come etc. which are 'standard operational constrains' among various operators so as such i focus on the nett travel times instead to minimise the exceptional situations.
As for vehicle used, it's a new generation air-suspended charged-cooled M-B with manual gear, as i expected. Excellent suspension ride comfort as such but the German Vogel Sitze seats on the firm side, like on the TIBS vehicles. Reasonable 3-figure speed performance on the Johor highways with scenic ride nice views of Bukit Indah houses etc. The 4-valve head engine supposed to be in-line 6-cylinder but M-B seems to know how to make it sound like their V8's but this time with plenty of turbocharger whine with plenty of 'push'. It's nowhere as 'refined' as their real V8's unfortunately. But i've not encountered another make which has emulated the V8 engine 'feel' on a 6-cylinder engine so sucessfully ! O 405 begins to sound more 'boring' after this experience ! B10M even more boring (+ uncomfortable as well) so much so one dozes off instead of enjoying the journey, only to be awakend by it's lousy suspension !
From initial impressions, i'll say this CW3 would appeal to those going between Jurong East & say Taman Perling/Sutera/Bukit Indah especially & vice-versa.
But during times when the Causeway is severely choked up (which does still happen regularly unlike the 2nd Link which is far less often) then it'll be more appealing to those going to Kota Raya to use it as well.
As i don't consider CW3 & SBST 160 as direct but just close competitors since they use very different routes to reach the same final destinations, both would be expected to retain some market of their own. But i'll give priority to CW3 over SBST 160 as far as feasible unless SBST uses better vehicles there !
aiyo, will a normal person care how the engine sounds like...to them all are boring....and they dun care so much about the details and technical side....as long as they tink tat it is fast can liao.....altough SJE uses lousy MAN buses, but they still gt plenty of commuters....Originally posted by hseochin:As for vehicle used, it's a new generation air-suspended charged-cooled M-B with manual gear, as i expected. Excellent suspension ride comfort as such but the German Vogel Sitze seats on the firm side, like on the TIBS vehicles. Reasonable 3-figure speed performance on the Johor highways with scenic ride nice views of Bukit Indah houses etc. The 4-valve head engine supposed to be in-line 6-cylinder but M-B seems to know how to make it sound like their V8's but this time with plenty of turbocharger whine with plenty of 'push'. It's nowhere as 'refined' as their real V8's unfortunately. But i've not encountered another make which has emulated the V8 engine 'feel' on a 6-cylinder engine so sucessfully ! O 405 begins to sound more 'boring' after this experience ! B10M even more boring (+ uncomfortable as well) so much so one dozes off instead of enjoying the journey, only to be awakend by it's lousy suspension !
Sounds very exciting. I'll give it a shot this weekend. For a citybus chassis, I find it interesting that it was fitted with a manual transmission (going retro, perhaps?). I thought it was automatic. Which makes me wonder, is it the same type of chassis as the ones used for the Causeway Link Express?Originally posted by hseochin:As for vehicle used, it's a new generation air-suspended charged-cooled M-B with manual gear, as i expected. Excellent suspension ride comfort as such but the German Vogel Sitze seats on the firm side, like on the TIBS vehicles. Reasonable 3-figure speed performance on the Johor highways with scenic ride nice views of Bukit Indah houses etc. The 4-valve head engine supposed to be in-line 6-cylinder but M-B seems to know how to make it sound like their V8's but this time with plenty of turbocharger whine with plenty of 'push'. It's nowhere as 'refined' as their real V8's unfortunately. But i've not encountered another make which has emulated the V8 engine 'feel' on a 6-cylinder engine so sucessfully ! O 405 begins to sound more 'boring' after this experience ! B10M even more boring (+ uncomfortable as well) so much so one dozes off instead of enjoying the journey, only to be awakend by it's lousy suspension !
Originally posted by alex_cai92:aiyo, will a normal person care how the engine sounds like...to them all are boring....and they dun care so much about the details and technical side....as long as they tink tat it is fast can liao.....altough SJE uses lousy MAN buses, but they still gt plenty of commuters....
and can u stop putting so many !!! question marks in ur posts...it makes u sound as if u r very angry and work up and makes reading uncomfortable...