Originally posted by 105090:SJE, CW1, CW2, 170 160 is pay in RM dollar for ringgit
According to the news article at:Originally posted by The_Bus_Guide:I rode CW3 from Kotaraya II today and got quite a shock. From earlier posts I understand that the trip form Jurong East to Kotaraya is S$3.00. I was dumbstruck when I found that the return trip costs RM7.50!![]()
(At first I thought that the driver was joking but he's not!) Perhaps that explains the lack of passengers going into Singapore. So, I'd like to hear some views about this.
Where do you intend to go to? Their routes only overlap at Jalan Skudai, between Perling Interchange (around there) and Bandar Baru Uda. There might be little overlap of fares.Originally posted by 105090:is there the flexibility of free transfer bet 666/ CW3 at TG Kupang? cos if not, 666 seems useless
Originally posted by hannwei:According to the news article at:
http://www.chinapress.com.my/content.asp?dt=2005-08-31&sec=local&art=0831lj01.txt
the fares are:
Jurong East --(by CW3)-> Johor CIQ : 2.00 SGD (flat fare)
Jurong East <-(by CW3)-- Johor CIQ : 2.50 MYR (flat fare)
Jurong East --(by CW3)-> Kotaraya : 3.00 SGD (flat fare)
Jurong East <-(by CW3)-- Kotaraya : 5.00 MYR (flat fare)
Johor CIQ --(by 666)-> Larkin : 5.00 MYR (lower fare for intermediate stops)
Johor CIQ <-(by 666)-- Larkin : 5.00 MYR (lower fare for intermediate stops)
Thus,
Jurong East <-(by CW3,666)-- Larkin : 2.50 + 5.00 = 7.50 MYR
May be the bus driver was confused when he or she charged 7.50 MYR for traveling on CW3 from Kotaraya to Jurong East. This happened frequently with CW1 in the first few weeks after its service started, when bus drivers charged about 0.90 to 1.40 on different days. But then, it might also be Handal Indah that was uncertain of the reasonable amount.
Originally posted by 105090:is there the flexibility of free transfer bet 666/ CW3 at TG Kupang? cos if not, 666 seems useless
what i mean is, like sv160/170.. ppl can have free transfers.Originally posted by hseochin:I don't understand what you mean.
CW3 & 666 are 2 different services. Both happen to meet @ Johor CIQ stop.
So if you intend to use 666 after using CW3, then you only pay the fare for CW3 from Jurong East to Johor CIQ. Then when onboard 666 you buy a new ticket, just like you board any other service anywhere else.
Originally posted by i_love_blacky:Nope, for CW 3, one can board at Jurong East for S$3.00 flat fare and travel on CW 666 or continue the journey on CW3 after Tanjong Kupang....not very sure on the journey back though.....as to how the fares would be from Larkin or other places
Originally posted by iveco:Hmm, the poster says there will be a KL express from IMM in Jurong. Any idea when is it starting? Also,what make is the bus in the photo?
Originally posted by sbst275:Wahahaha
CW3's nighmare has come
Bth Tuas and JB into SG heavily jammed since 2pm...
Tuas as long as from Tg Kupang
JB side as long as from that Caltex
Like this, 160 faster liao, because WDL more counters opened
Tuas a lot of Tour Buses, slowly queue up bah
Originally posted by i_love_blacky:l wonder whether CW 3 is profitable with the current passenger load. Seems that the service still has more room for improvement from the forum. Only took the service once to Taman Perling and back, and was lucky that the waiting time on both sides were still acceptable. The bus didn't turn into Gelang Patah though during the first Sunday after the launch.
Nonetheless, l hope that the service would survive as it serves as a good, alternative link to Malaysia.
Did you know how long was the jam?Originally posted by hseochin:Your observations...are these based from your actual personal experiences onboard CW3 or merely just assumptions based on what you appear to see of the Tuas traffic situation from some video cameras ??
I'm saying this because just recently i actually took CW3 from Jurong East to Kota Raya, just to 'test them out' on the return route to Malaysia. It was evening peak or just after peak time i.e. 20:00 & lanes of cars were jammed on 2nd Link towards Tuas CIQ complex.
I notice anytime @ Jurong East there's only 1 CW3 vehicle in the parking lot, which would take the next load to JB. I also saw 1 unit just left earlier. So these being the case, common sense would suggest if the 2nd Link commercial vehicle lanes were not moving fast enough or badly jammed, then there wouldn't be those 2 units coming & going @ intervals not longer than during real off-peak time like 9 or 10 later in the evening ?! They not known to keep reserve CW3 vehicles in Singapore somewhere to come out during jam time ?!
What i can say is that fortunately the road design @ Tuas CIQ is overall better than @ Woodlands CIQ whereby the commercial vehicle lanes do not 'cross over' to the car lanes somewhere down the line i.e. commercial vehicles use the leftward lanes only meant for them while cars use the righter lanes. You don't tend to see that stupid situation @ Woodlands where the bus lane is clear & car lanes choked up & you're on a bus before the traffic junction prior to going up the ramp & the bus cannot proceed simply because its path is blocked by cars & lorries crossing over in front of the bus & blocking it !!!!
2nd Link i find traffic is overall more orderly although sometimes can be congested so still higher chance the bus would keep moving into the complex while the cars remain stuck on the stupid bridge !
These jams i find to be a good showcase of Singaporean inefficentcy in that they have such a big presumbly large capacity modern (white elephant especially @ Tuas operating way below capacity) complex YET still so slow in processing !! All these excuses of 'security' i have to pass off as excuses that's about it because if you really think about it, what's the 'extra' things they do that others don't do that would result in overall so slow a clearance ?!!? The times spent to check passport & vehicles, on per unit basis, i don't find much differences whether in Johor or Singapore side ! Yet the Malaysian side even if supposely 'inferior' run-down facilities almost always manage to clear faster. I'm very eager to use their brand-new CIQ complex opposite JBCS...that should show which side is more efficient in processing clearance ! The Johor CIQ complex appears lower capacity than the big Tuas CIQ complex (with many unused lanes etc.) so understandably should be more congested than Tuas sometimes. I find the Johor side somewhat 'under designed' their CIQ while the Singapore side 'over designed' theirs ! But on overall perception of clearance & facilities utlilsation efficientcy, the Malaysian side i see clearly performs better.
Whether SBST 160 faster also depends on where one is heading from Jurong East. If one going to Gelang Patah, Kukup or Taman U say from Jurong East then even with some delays @ Tuas or Johor CIQ, overall need not be slower than via 160 & then walk & wait & take some other Malaysian bus from JBCS to reach the Western region of JB !? Furthermore, the chances & frequency of bad jams still much higher @ Causeway than 2nd Link.
Originally posted by kharim11:Hah, just got back from johor.
Took CW3 from johor (perling mall) to Jurong east. Cost RM3.20, and journey was 1.5hrs. Expected it to be faster really, since it was 9am (off-peak already)on the highways and the Tuas CIQ situation is so much less chaotic than the woodlands one.
Btw, the Tuas CIQ appears to be quite deserted, it's just like the woodlands one with almost as many lanes but only 2 were open and no-one except the 10 people on my CW3 bus was passing through - the security personnel was no less though, with the result that there was this bunch of ICA staff and guards staring at the few of us dribbling through the security gates. Weird.
Anyway, the CW3 route can potentially be much faster and smoother, I think under an hour should be no prob. The reason for the delay is that there's just too much waiting time, and the drivers take their own time of day to get on with the ride. The bus from perling had to stop at gelang patah and everyone transfered to another CW3. And since there were only 3 of us, we had to wait for another bus load (of 7 pple!) to arrive and fill up more seats. During the wait the driver decided to go off for tea and we sat there waiting for him, and then another passenger decided to go to the loo, but the driver came back while he was gone and we took off without him. Poor fella (but more of him later).
So onwards to Tun Abdul Razak checkpoint... dropped off and had my passport stamped, then got on again. The bus was waiting for us, but don't know if this is routine or just because our dear driver went on another of his jaunts, to the loo this time, and again we sat there waiting for him for about 10 mins. And then who should come wandering up but the fella left behind at Gelang Patah; he got on but had lost his ticket, thus ensued a I-paid-No-you-did-not conversation betw him and the ticket inspector. I did see him get on and pay at Perling so I told the inspector so and he finally decided to give the guy the benefit of the doubt. I found out later that the poor fella, stranded at Gelang Patah, had actually caught a taxi to the Checkpoint to catch up with us (which totally defeats the purpose of taking the bus!).
After that the journey was smooth. Got off at Tuas CIQ and then on again; the bus waited for everyone, and on to Jurong East via AYE and Jurong Town Hall Rd. The actual travelling bits were great, smooth and quick; it's just the incessant waiting that spoils it. Nice view from the 2nd link too, keppel club is just so obvious.
The price is actually not bad (for my journey), considering that if I went by woodlands I'd have to take a bus from perling down to jb town, then 170/160/CW1 across to SG, which adds up more or less to RM3 anyway. Good for all those needing to go from Perling to Jurong East. I'm quite sure CW3 charges stepped fares, cos I've taken it from Perling to jb town and it's only RM1.90. Not sure about the frequency though; it was the first bus i saw when I arrived at the bus stop so i just got on (lucky me). From a chart on the bus should be one every 20 mins. No proper bus stop and signages in jb though; basically have to know where the bus stops and just stand by the road. The good thing is that in the residential areas the buses usually stop wherever you wave them down.
Originally posted by sbst275:Did you know how long was the jam?
It was all the way till just after clearing Tg Kupang, started all from 1400 till 0100
It was the last day of the week long school holiday. Everyone was rushing home. The massive jam on both CIQs is no surprise. If its a normal weekend, there will be no such jam on the 2nd Link but you can be assured of getting stuck for over 2 hours at the Causeway.Originally posted by sbst275:Wahahaha
CW3's nighmare has come
Bth Tuas and JB into SG heavily jammed since 2pm...
Tuas as long as from Tg Kupang
JB side as long as from that Caltex
Like this, 160 faster liao, because WDL more counters opened
Tuas a lot of Tour Buses, slowly queue up bah
Driving on a car..Originally posted by hseochin:I don't know about that jam, but i ask again were you onboard CW3 during that time ?? Or driving on a car & stuck there or just speculating on the situation based on video camera footage ??
Not really...Originally posted by The_Bus_Guide:It was the last day of the week long school holiday. Everyone was rushing home. The massive jam on both CIQs is no surprise. If its a normal weekend, there will be no such jam on the 2nd Link but you can be assured of getting stuck for over 2 hours at the Causeway.
The Causeway also has its fair share of tour buses, even express buses, factory buses as well as public buses. 160 not faster, I can tell you, because despite having more counters open, the number of people and traffic is overwhelming.
Originally posted by sbst275:Driving on a car..
The bus lane was full of tour buses
Dun just accuse ppl, what I saw means what I saw... It is take it and believe or not... This is not the 1st time inside 2nd Link, you can be stucked for 4 hrs
2nd Link jam where got bus lane one? You have never seen 2nd Link jammed situation. Dun share? You know ppl @ 2nd Link use the 'bus lane' to cut into and there are 4 lanes instead of the 3 indicated on the road lane marking?Originally posted by hseochin:I'm not in the business of making accusations !
Do note that from your post, the way it was written, it was not clear to me whether you actually saw the situation there or merely relying on video footage etc. Only now then you make it clear you were there & saw.
BTW, anyone onboard CW3 heading towards SGP that day that time ??
Like to also hear your feedback.
Since you were there in a car, i have no reason not to believe you but i'll consider your observation as not from someone taking bus like CW3. Why do i seperate between from car & bus point of views ? Partly due to the road layout as bus & car don't share the same lanes into the CIQ complex & the congestion severity not automatically the same. Also the clearance speed for bus passengers compared to those who remain seated inside their cars need not be the same.
From past experiences @ Causeway, i know there's times where bus passengers can clear faster than those on cars & vice-versa.
Originally posted by sbst275:2nd Link jam where got bus lane one? You have never seen 2nd Link jammed situation. Dun share? You know ppl @ 2nd Link use the 'bus lane' to cut into and there are 4 lanes instead of the 3 indicated on the road lane marking?
As for WDL, there was NO tour bus using WDL Checkpoint. Neither was there any car using the bus lane