I think new VSOs have yellow grabpoles.Originally posted by sinicker:all VSOs got that yellow grabpole meh?
this is like the 1st time i'm seeing that yellow grabpole in a VSO.
-puzzled-![]()
yes.. it is SV 31 -- SBS9830MOriginally posted by sBs_boy:Itz obivous that the VSO belongs to 31...
Originally posted by lemon1974:Zaobao published an article on 23/11/05 regarding the introduction of more and more low floor/zero steps buses.
This article is in Chinese. Just a brief description as follows:
1) Singapore public buses will only change fully to low floor/zero step bus in year 2017 (SBST) and year 2021 (SMRT)
2) SBST currently have 76 zero steps buses. They will introduce another 150 zero steps buses (B9TLs) by next October.
3) SMRT currently have only 15 zero steps buses.
4) LTA does not provide any subsidy for public buses operators to purchase low floor/zero step buses
5) It will be a very long wait until all public buses here are changed fully to zero step/low floor.
also, i have taken a picture of the newspaper article, which feature a zero step VSO
Imagine still have to wait 12 years and 16 years for all the buses to be low floor/zero steps?
I dun seed the need for them to subsidise... the buses that will be bought are surely to be lowfloor from now onwards... the companies need not refurbish their buses, but to replace. The companies are doing well curently wat..Originally posted by hseochin:The part about LTA not providing any subsidies for public transport operators to buy (known to be more expensive) zero-step buses doesn't smell nice @ all !
I'll most logically expect this government (whether thru LTA or any other department etc.) to help the public operators out even by chipping in part of a vehicle's acquisition costs (if asked for) in order to ensure that [ceturi paribus] the operators are best able to use even the finest (even most expensive which that unfortunately usually means !) public buses in the world to serve the public on this island, while desperately trying (by making private cars here among if not THE most expensive worldwide) to reduce the usage of private cars due to land constrains ! The government owes the people here THE BEST as far as taxis, public buses & trains are concerned in order to best compensate them for giving up partially or fully the use of the private car, which of course remains THE ultimate form of personal transport practically anywhere in this modern world !
There's indeed tremendous logic in this point, which however may not seem the case elsewhere with plenty of cheap land like Malaysia, Australia or USA etc.
Therefore Singapore is certainly an exceptional enough case to justify more state assistance (if wanted by the operators) to accelerate the upgrading of their fleet WITHOUT resorting to regular fare increases with every major vehicle upgrading exercise !!!!
9889U is newer lehOriginally posted by Apex-LW'21:I think new VSOs have yellow grabpoles.
so which are old VSOs and which are new VSOs then? 9800-9824 old? 9825-9849 new?Originally posted by Apex-LW'21:I think new VSOs have yellow grabpoles.
9800-9824 came in first, then 9825-9849.Originally posted by sinicker:so which are old VSOs and which are new VSOs then? 9800-9824 old? 9825-9849 new?
9889U is ComfortDelGro bodyworks, not Volgren.Originally posted by SBS9828X:9889U is newer leh
u sure which and which came first? or u just used the numbers to prove ur right?Originally posted by Apex-LW'21:9889U is ComfortDelGro bodyworks, not Volgren.
There will be subsidies.. in the form of increase in fares. New bus, clean, green so expensive so high fares.Originally posted by hseochin:The part about LTA not providing any subsidies for public transport operators to buy (known to be more expensive) zero-step buses doesn't smell nice @ all !
:
:
Therefore Singapore is certainly an exceptional enough case to justify more state assistance (if wanted by the operators) to accelerate the upgrading of their fleet WITHOUT resorting to regular fare increases with every major vehicle upgrading exercise !!!!
You are sorely mistaken.Originally posted by Apex-LW'21:9889U is ComfortDelGro bodyworks, not Volgren.
Ok, when does SBS9889U came out?Originally posted by SBS9818A:You are sorely mistaken.
SBS9801Y-SBS9834C came out on 18 Feb 2003, while SBS9835A-SBS9849K came out on 14 Apr 2003.
But then again, they are all using the Same ENGINE right ? It's only a difference in bodywork.. thats all... they are still called B10TLs...Originally posted by Apex-LW'21:9889U is ComfortDelGro bodyworks, not Volgren.
No. ALL VSOs from 9800A to 9849K have yellow grabpoles.Originally posted by sinicker:okay, let's stop it at this.
so only newer VSOs, 9835-9849 have the yellow grabpoles at the entrance?
all have the yellow grabpoles at the entrance to divide the commuters boarding into 2 rows?Originally posted by Superbus:No. ALL VSOs from 9800A to 9849K have yellow grabpoles.
And the correct term to be used is "later", not "newer".
21 March 2005.Originally posted by Apex-LW'21:Ok, when does SBS9889U came out?
Ooh, my hatch day....Originally posted by SBS9818A:21 March 2005.
SMRT's ELBOOriginally posted by muziq bus:anyway, the SMRT's Elbo or is it Eabo....
cant really be labelled as a low floor bus....
the entrance has no step but the exit has...