my sentiments exactly.Originally posted by stooper:I think the Leylands give out more smoke than MK2s though.
ARBP LO3x are the culprits.Originally posted by sinicker:my sentiments exactly.
The problem lies when I took Svc 252 yesterday on Mk IIs. Very poisonous carbon monoxide gas pollution.Originally posted by Donavan:ARBP LO3x are the culprits.
MK II have the potential to be kill someone with smoke too. N113CRB, of course.
Not really all CRB .... only some CRBs... eg: SBS 3659 C and SBS 3661 Z do not really give out black smoke - they are even better than some mk 3sOriginally posted by Donavan:ARBP LO3x are the culprits.
MK II have the potential to be kill someone with smoke too. N113CRB, of course.
Originally posted by Apex-LW'21:err.. carbon dioxide/monoxide are colourless/odourless.
The problem lies when I took Svc 252 yesterday on Mk IIs. Very poisonous carbon dioxide gas pollution.
the smell you smell..Originally posted by Vehicle_builder:The smell you smell is VOC or Volatile Organic Compounds.
CARBON DIOXIDE is not very poisonous, but CARBON MONOXIDE is. I believe you refering to carbon monoxide?Originally posted by Apex-LW'21:[*]
The problem lies when I took Svc 252 yesterday on Mk IIs. Very poisonous carbon dioxide gas pollution.
Originally posted by sinicker:err.. carbon dioxide/monoxide are colourless/odourless.
Yup, I am referring to CARBON MONOXIDE. Anyway, thanks for correcting my mistake.Originally posted by striderz_o405:CARBON DIOXIDE is not very poisonous, but CARBON MONOXIDE is. I believe you refering to carbon monoxide?
And on JIS services there is a tendancy that the smell usually comes from the industrial estates.
Euro 3 meh? I thought only Euro 2.Originally posted by SBS9828X:of cos lah... if no smoke its not a bus.
Look if the buses are to run on petrol, u want fare hikes?
If the buses goes for an engine exchange,(which is illegal) U also want fare hike?
If u dont mind, then tell sbst to get a petrol, EUro-10 bus to serve u
those buses are like more then 10 yrs wat. Even the euro3 VSOs got smoke. tsk tsk
From Newcomer's Guide.
Volvo Super Olympian 3-axle (9800-9849, 9888, 9889)
Chassis origin: Sweden
Engine: Volvo D10A285 (9,603cc, Euro-2, 285bhp @ 2000rpm, 1200Nm @ 1450rpm, rear-mounted, turbocharger)
Gearbox: Voith DIWA 863.3 3-speed automatic
My bad... but its still produce carbonOriginally posted by Donavan:From Newcomer's Guide.
Solid carbon?Originally posted by SBS9828X:My bad... but its still produce carbon
carbon fiber...Originally posted by Donavan:Solid carbon?![]()
Combustion (coincidence? Perhaps, perhaps), you'll have a rather simple word equation:Originally posted by SBS9828X:carbon fiber...
Originally posted by SBS9828X:of cos lah... if no smoke its not a bus.
Look if the buses are to run on petrol, u want fare hikes?
If the buses goes for an engine exchange,(which is illegal) U also want fare hike?
If u dont mind, then tell sbst to get a petrol, EUro-10 bus to serve u
those buses are like more then 10 yrs wat. Even the euro3 VSOs got smoke. tsk tsk
no leh, its slightly less than diesel mahOriginally posted by hseochin:Petrol in heavy duty buses ?!?? Forget it !
What kind of chickenfeed torque output can a petrol engine of the same cc output ?!?? The power output may seem (shallowly) impressive BUT the torque output would greatly disappoint & especially in heavy weight vehicles like 16t GVW bus, where torque is of much higher priority than mere power output.
If it's a mini-bus, car or motor-cycle then only torque is of lesser significance.
In a diesel vehicle although the visible black particulate emissions may seem more obvious among some vehicles, it cannot be forgotten that among petrol vehicles (especially the many smelly motor-cycles !!) these also emit overall just as much if not more harmful emission/irritants/health risks !!!!
Trouble with petrol emissions is that just because it tends to be more colourless many people (especially those who don't know much about automobiles !) tend to think that because they seem to see less pollutants coming from the exhausts of petrol vehicles these have to be 'cleaner' than diesel vehicles ! That tends to be shallow minded myths instead !
Because in overview, petrol pollutants tend to be less visible but just as if not more harmful to both humans & the atmosphere in their own ways !
Therefore, seeing beyond the shallow horizon, to be most safe, it has to be assumed that (barring any new technical breakthru/discovery etc.) BOTH petrol & diesel vehicles emit OVERALL just as much pollutants in their own different ways. Diesel vehicles seems more 'honest' in making their emissions more obvious to the eye while the petrol vehicles seem to prefer to 'hide' their emissions from one's eyes instead, that's about it ! Of course the pollutants are still there, more invisible that's all !
Anyway i'll most certainly (of course) stick with a modern Euro-4 diesel bus with fuel-additive technology or Euro-5 version over any petrol or natural gas etc. ! All things considered, diesel over-rules not just in trucks & buses & coaches but also increasingly in vans & modern cars !
I am finally tempted to post: Carbon compounds can also form if the combustion is really starved of air, leading to the black smoke. Soot if you like.Originally posted by Donavan:Combustion (coincidence? Perhaps, perhaps), you'll have a rather simple word equation:
Fuel + OxygenWater + Carbon Dioxide.
Carbon Monoxide is produced when there isn't enough oxygen. Rather simple arh. And I was looking all over the place for something called Equation Editor here. (Can be found in Word) That thing makes my life so simple explaining this type of stuff.
not to forget nitrogen oxides are also harmful. Refer to your chemistry textbook.Originally posted by SBS3625D:I am finally tempted to post: Carbon compounds can also form if the combustion is really starved of air, leading to the black smoke. Soot if you like.