Originally posted by elawee:true tt cars in aussie is very much cheaper than in singapore.
an avg 1.6 or even a 2 litres car from popular brands like honda or toyota will cost nothing above $30K.
even a brand new merc is abt $60k only.
but is tt the reason y public transport can be less than perfect there?
how abt the school kids? how abt the old who cannot drive?
n then again, wat is perfect?
having a bus run every 5mins so there would be no queues? or not running any buses when there is no queue but instead deploying only when there are ppl waiting for buses.
if tt is the former, then more drivers would need to be hired, resulting in higher cost, which in turn result in an increase in fare prices to keep the company profitable.
n the increased in fare prices will then spark another outrage altogether.
so pray tell me, wat, in ur opinion, is a perfect public transport system.
What a long horrifying queue........(and sale for "what" ? )Originally posted by 105090:at 8am today At first i thought.. whoa! some sale going on.. then i go nearer and see.. the sale seems to be ending at sv70 Queue!
on my trip back at 7pm, whoa! 3 more snaking Queues.. more great sales? i doubt so.. and yes.. its sv72 Queue! sv76 is no better! the frequency for 72 must had been near 15mins!
of course, to maximise profits, longer frequency is inevitable. most important is send a DD, make it fully pack.. no good if send 2 buses, but only half-filled.. might as well make a 2-in-1.
World Class Queues with Wrold Class fares indeed
I mean, we pay much, yet we still had to waste time and energy waiting and queueing at bus stops, only to get a cramped bus.................so?!Originally posted by SGEMP:What a long horrifying queue........(and sale for "what" ? )
Looks like it is a sign that the depot in-charge of svcs 70 72 and 76 has mistreated or neglected the service and its passengers, by sending lesser buses, and allowing the queue to get longer and longer and longer ..............
Well, then, I do not know what is the situation of that depot........if it got lots of SP buses then it should be taken to serve on these services.....and relieve the queue................
So...seeing the horrifying length of the queue....it means that our tpt system has yet to be world-class........
u noe wad....Originally posted by sbst275:No lah
SBS is already off from what it is tasked to do back in 1973
Now, it has poor reltions with passengers over many unpampered and least bothered svs, pampered svs gets too pampered...
Also since SBS counts its revenue as a generally instead of by sv, it is now more difficult to get aircon buses as they would say this sv is not high in revenue collected when the fact is only 20% of the fleet is aircon
As for this long queue, I believe the mess is created as SBS returns peak hr buses earlier these days
The complains only wayang wayang...Originally posted by hiphop2009:u noe wad....
SBS pple will see this forum meh?.......
write to straits time or TODAY newspaper larh (TODAY is more effective in my opinion)....if publish iin newspaper den i tink many others who take these services will also write in......
dun ask me write in coz i dun take service 72 n i dun noe wad is the exact situation dere.........
Originally posted by 105090:erm.. lets not compare with US, UK, HK, OZ, JB etc.
we keep the woes within Singapore mainland.. so.. well.. as said, no traffic jam, no breakdowns etc. Theres no excuse for such long Q.. what if that day was a stormy day?
Sure, its a terminal, smaller in size, and definitely frequency-compromising!
ahh.. i am getting sick of 72 sometimes.. i had decided to take a bicycle instead to get to YCK already! (phew!)
Originally posted by 105090:sometimes.. what people DONT WANT is spanking new state-of-the-art buses with Computerised mechanisms.. it all adds to the cost.
Rather, we want buses to come on time, and at a reasonable interval. So, i dont really mind non-aircon buses, but i do mind Q-ing for a bus until the Q looks like queueing up for some freebies!
rather divert resources to more drivers than new buses, computer, VLS etc etc
yeah. i do agree! one example is the doing away of EDS. while SBS doesnt really use EDS, its fares are the same as SMRT.Originally posted by hseochin:Care to elaborate on such buses which people don't want ??
I'll say it depends on what those 'computerised mechanisms' & 'state of the artness' does. Whether those devices/innovations etc. can contribute in reduced waiting & journey times, better class of travelling experience in the comfort & safety aspects, reduced vehicle breakdowns etc.
While true but only up to some point, the older & lower tech way of doing things would tend to result in lower thresholds. To go beyond to higher thresholds, fresh injection of technology/ideas even money would be needed.
But the system can be managed in such a way that the commutor need NOT be made to foot any such cost increases.
Therefore, diverting resources to more drivers would only go 'that far'.
To go even further, they have to innovate with new concepts, new buses with higher passenger:driver ratios etc.
*cough* Neoplan *cough*Originally posted by tanjun:Unless someone invents a new bus (bendy + dd integrated) which can hold probably up to 300 passengers. Hehe
http://jumbocruiser.mysite.wanadoo-members.co.uk/index.jhtmlOriginally posted by tanjun:Unless someone invents a new bus (bendy + dd integrated) which can hold probably up to 300 passengers. Hehe
Originally posted by tanjun:Unless someone invents a new bus (bendy + dd integrated) which can hold probably up to 300 passengers. Hehe
17 yrs? Then some MK2 should have been scrapped already! Wonder where is SBS's promise of retiring buses that have reached stat lifespan at the decent leastOriginally posted by 105090:yeah. i do agree! one example is the doing away of EDS. while SBS doesnt really use EDS, its fares are the same as SMRT.
however, what i said, well, bus has lifespan of 17 years, so operators has to buy new ones to replace. adds on to cost etc. there dont seem to be an easy solution isnt it?
however, one area which they should not had done is the GPS/ VLS/ AVMS/ EZ link technology.
the GPS thing.. 21st century technology, but we are still getting notorious frequencies!
Just wondering why SBST does not purchase this kind of bus? Is it because it is not profitable in the long run?Originally posted by samtlk:
Its NOT a citybus...Originally posted by tanjun:Just wondering why SBST does not purchase this kind of bus? Is it because it is not profitable in the long run?
Originally posted by alex_cai92:Its NOT a citybus...
THat is damn obvious. No need to bring it up.Originally posted by SBS9828X:i see ppl talk much nia
1 point- yes the crowds are caused by mistake by sbs... whu to blame? those who take it la
2- dun talk of buses that will be bought. No company look at opinion from forums
3- 9818 has got nothing better to do![]()
1st point, just to add, cos there are ppl inside here simply = to SBS's viewpoint... That's why Singapore Bus svs never improve on the current svs in these years...Originally posted by SBS9828X:i see ppl talk much nia
1 point- yes the crowds are caused by mistake by sbs... whu to blame? those who take it la
2- dun talk of buses that will be bought. No company look at opinion from forums
3- 9818 has got nothing better to do![]()