u may want to tell us this certain bus number....Originally posted by grandeur:I notice certain bus number only using single deck regardless of peak or off peak hour.
IJC starts at 0800. (0755)Originally posted by tanjun:for secondary schools and junior colleges, they start sch at 0730.
How come these roads forbid it to use double deck?Originally posted by Donavan:Depends. Some bus services like 66 and 105 forbid Double Decks on certain stretches of the roads. Don't worry, new double decks would be out soon, just wait and see.
Height limitations is the most common reason.Originally posted by grandeur:How come these roads forbid it to use double deck?
When you pass a bridge, you'll notice there's a height sticker. Most are 4.5m, suitable for DDs to pass. But there are some shorter than those.Originally posted by grandeur:How did you know about the height limitation on these stretches of roads?
Can be due to a wide nature of problems like low bridges, low trees. Usually low bridges and low trees. Usually they compensate with slightly better frequency. (which doesn't look like...)Originally posted by grandeur:How did you know about the height limitation on these stretches of roads?
haha. then u email them liao, why come here.Originally posted by grandeur:Any LTA expert there to explain?![]()
u haf to understand restrictions...height, width or wadever... and some fleet is never 100% DD/bendy so dun expect DD/bendy lah...bound to haf sum SD de mah...Originally posted by grandeur:Many singaporean start work from 7.30am-9am. I had seen SBS single deck buses crowded with people and this is making the trip to work so unpleasant. I notice certain bus number only using single deck regardless of peak or off peak hour. Can SBS use double deck or long bus during peak hour to improve the bus ride?
I believe singaporeans deserve a pleasant bus ride to work and from work
duh...not all standard...go to hillview(but den no SBST buses ply there)...other common reason of tree are 6th AVE and Bukit Timah Rd(bet NEWTON CIRCUS and WHITLEY RD)...and dun ask y the tree cannot be chopped off...coz NParks say so(rumour onli)...Originally posted by grandeur:So not all bridges have standard height limit of 4.5m?
as a bus company, u ought to find out right? u dun expect to deploy a DD and goes crashing into the bridge(this happen b4) normal bridges is 4.5m, jus 10 cm more b4 the DD goes CRASHING into the bridges...another bridge with restriction is @ National Stadium if im nt wrong...Originally posted by grandeur:How did you know about the height limitation on these stretches of roads?
Mine 7.20amOriginally posted by grandeur:Any one have any idea what time students start school nowadays?
Long bus = Bendy bus = SBS 988 Y and SBS 999 U etc.Originally posted by tanjun:Er, can I inquire the meaning of "long bus"?
Remember back in the 1980's , An LA (Alexander L) on 196 kanna crash at the National Stadium bridge because the BC went wrong way.Originally posted by alex_cai92:as a bus company, u ought to find out right? u dun expect to deploy a DD and goes crashing into the bridge(this happen b4) normal bridges is 4.5m, jus 10 cm more b4 the DD goes CRASHING into the bridges...another bridge with restriction is @ National Stadium if im nt wrong...
Mine is 7am exactlyOriginally posted by grandeur:Any one have any idea what time students start school nowadays?
The BC used to be a svc 16 driver but drove svc 196 on that day & he was still unfimilarised with svc 196 route so he turned the DD into Stadium Rd as svc 16 route instead of Nicoll Highway & crashed into the Overhead Height Restrction Stand bef the flyover then...Originally posted by Volvo Olympian:Remember back in the 1980's , An LA (Alexander L) on 196 kanna crash at the National Stadium bridgebecause the BC went wrong way.
What happened to the BC? Was anyone hurt? Especially those seating on the upper deck front seats of the bus. Whats the rego of the bus?Originally posted by brotherchen1982:The BC used to be a svc 16 driver but drove svc 196 on that day & he was still unfimilarised with svc 196 route so he turned the DD into Stadium Rd as svc 16 route instead of Nicoll Highway & crashed into the Height Restrction bef the flyover then...![]()