now the vo3x are ruining the "fast" service standards of svc 179 .Originally posted by stooper:Yeah, 60km/h. But it was a downslope... SO porbably that extra 10km/h was helped by gravity...
179 buses can do 60km/h easily. You can attain 60km/h along JW St 63 & Pioneer Road North if the bus is empty and you get green lights.
You can also get 60km/h on the straight stretch after the junction of Nanyang Ave/Nanyang Drive before the library.
But the most exciting one was after the Sch of Comms studies! That bus stop is on a downslope. So the BC floored the bus when leaving and didn't let go of the accelerator for the left turn at the bottom!
The bus managed to maintain 60km/h on the slight upslope to the Innovation Centre Bus stop! I was so shocked that a half loaded LO3x can do it!![]()
well if you dont , nvm . if others do .. for a 1-5 min freqOriginally posted by Airbus330Captain:I don't see any point of speeding on a route like 179.![]()
it is believed that the e-timesheet of s179 is very tight. so drivers will need to speed thru NTUOriginally posted by Airbus330Captain:Stop your whining . SLdepot can put whatever buses they like whether you like it. I don't see any point of speeding on a route like 179.![]()
If u dun know the life of BC. Pls la, go tok to them. If u want to why they need to speed on this particular svc? U can go to BNL int every morning !Originally posted by Airbus330Captain:Stop your whining . SLdepot can put whatever buses they like whether you like it. I don't see any point of speeding on a route like 179.![]()
179 usually either chiong or bloody slow.Originally posted by Airbus330Captain:Stop your whining . SLdepot can put whatever buses they like whether you like it. I don't see any point of speeding on a route like 179.![]()
Overtake so what?Now with AVMS you think the chiongsters dare to do it all the time?They will slow down before reaching Int to let the slow bus overtakeOriginally posted by stooper:You don't chiong, you will kenna overtake by 5 buses...
179 usually either chiong or bloody slow.
If chiong, can get below 30min round. If pro driver, can do >25min.
If nvr chiong or very unlucky stop at every traffic light, you will kenna overtake by other DDs and become late (i.e. 40min round).
Usually, it is always these extremes.
Peak hour trip is schelduled 37min round.
If you don't believe, this still happens daily, especially in PM peak, because it is possible to get (sometimes done purposely...Originally posted by carbikebus:Overtake so what?Now with AVMS you think the chiongsters dare to do it all the time?They will slow down before reaching Int to let the slow bus overtake
O really ? Speeding at the risk of the passengers (We are talking about 100 over passengers) and SLdepot already deployed cameo VO 3axles on svc 179 before this arrangement so they should know whether the VO 3 axles buses are suitable for this service.Originally posted by SBS BUSES LOVER:well if you dont , nvm . if others do .. for a 1-5 min freq![]()
I am not too sure about the e-timesheet.Originally posted by ZYX2005:it is believed that the e-timesheet of s179 is very tight. so drivers will need to speed thru NTU
ZYX
Tell me first, who is the one that makes this deployment decision? Are you trying to say SLdepot doesnt know what they are doing ? Your arguement is weak and I suggest to you and others who think VO 3 axles are too slow and unable to meet the time constraint, feedback to SBSTransit. Simple as that.Originally posted by chickenlittle2:If u dun know the life of BC. Pls la, go tok to them. If u want to why they need to speed on this particular svc? U can go to BNL int every morning !
Oh gosh! No one would thinks that he is the best. U r not fit and no position to criticise other pple comments here. BTW, this is a forum. Of course my argument is not strong, cos I dun think I am arguing with u at all! I am just pointing out and want u to go and look out for it. I nv say VO3x can't really speed and would affect the timing. Actually I think it does not affect much! The issue is on regard of the performance of the bus only!Originally posted by Airbus330Captain:Tell me first, who is the one that makes this deployment decision? Are you trying to say SLdepot doesnt know what they are doing ? Your arguement is weak and I suggest to you and others who think VO 3 axles are too slow and unable to meet the time constraint, feedback to SBSTransit. Simple as that.
Gosh, some of your comments here ( Not refering to ZXY or Carbikebus as they know their stuffs well or in fact more knowledge than me) are laughable .
i would like to remind u that charles was voicing his opinion when u attacked him with a post.Originally posted by chickenlittle2:Oh gosh! No one would thinks that he is the best. U r not fit and no position to criticise other pple comments here. BTW, this is a forum. Of course my argument is not strong, cos I dun think I am arguing with u at all! I am just pointing out and want u to go and look out for it. I nv say VO3x can't really speed and would affect the timing. Actually I think it does not affect much! The issue is on regard of the performance of the bus only!
seriously , most of the 179 bcs dont even care .Originally posted by carbikebus:Overtake so what?Now with AVMS you think the chiongsters dare to do it all the time?They will slow down before reaching Int to let the slow bus overtake
Absolutely agreedOriginally posted by ZYX2005:i would like to remind u that charles was voicing his opinion when u attacked him with a post.
at any rate my comments are
1) Charles is the creator of this forum so he can criticise if he wants
2) i suggest charles go sit a lo3x on 179 and get a nice ride of his life (depending on luck of getting the fast driver on 179). we will then assure adn argue the fact to charles that that driving like that does not really pose safety problem due to the rather ulu parts on the route of 179.
a better suggestion is take the service during off peak.
lols
ZYX
Erm.. friend.. U also veri funny leh. It is enough that u anyhow edit the profile in sgwiki. U still want to come out and say nonsense. For your info, the VO3x batch 1 is just 1 yr younger than LO3x. So actually not much different!Originally posted by SBS9806J:Absolutely agreed
My thoughts are:
Why are you quarreling over 179? Is this service so great? So what if the drivers speed? Yes, the timetables are very close. Sooner or later the Leylands have to be scrapped anyway right? Let's face the reality: The LO3x on 179 will be gone in about 4 years time, so won't 179 have a full Volvo fleet after that. Come on lah, any driver can speed, so what is so special about 179? Anyway, all of you are going off-topic. If you people still want to quarrel, go create another thread. This is Redeployments thread, not Deployments of VO3x on 179. It is not entirely off-topic, but still, not even half of it is really relevant
Off peak not good. Unless you get pro driver. Otherwise, since the frequency is 5min per bus, it is very difficult for drivers to overtake, so the loadings for each bus would be about the same.Originally posted by ZYX2005:a better suggestion is take the service during off peak.
Yah lah, some BC joker!Originally posted by SBS BUSES LOVER:i took 9059Z on 242 , the BC already started the downroute early by 2mins , then he speed all the way , a