SMRT bendies have engines at the back.Originally posted by XiaoTaro:Uh, i just want to say that the video u quote shows a Trailer type articulated bus which would either be front or mid engined, thus the trailer may lose control at high speeds. SMRT artics uses rear engined Pusher type buses which do not have this trailer losing control problem as the mass of the vehicle is at the rear.
Theres no sound..well, except for the slight screeching as the wheels slide....Originally posted by jetabt767400:What sound/light would indicate that the mechanism is working? In rainy days more than once I saw the second axle locking as it runs over the yellow box at bus stops and the driver tries to stop in time. Except for a jerk which is normal I did not hear any locking sound, so I am not sure.
Yup SBS 998 Y is mid-engined but its GONE!Originally posted by muziq bus:SMRT bendies have engines at the back.
SBS's former Volvo bendy SBS 998 Y had mid-engine if i'm not wrong. can be seen and heard in the middle...
Haha...if the driver back then had sped like crazy on the expressway, then it would be HAVOC like in that youtube videoOriginally posted by XiaoTaro:Yup SBS 998 Y is mid-engined but its GONE!![]()
Its not known as B10[color=red]M[/b] for nothing. SBST chose the version that is longer and thinner, and can support less weight.Originally posted by muziq bus:SMRT bendies have engines at the back.
SBS's former Volvo bendy SBS 998 Y had mid-engine if i'm not wrong. can be seen and heard in the middle...
got triple deck or not har?Originally posted by khongovic:Why SMRT don't have double-decker buses? Any reasons for it?
+1Originally posted by duotiga83:got triple deck or not har?![]()
i wish for......Originally posted by Volvo Olympian:+1![]()

Got! Last time always go to the old BNL interchange! Now new BNL no more already...Originally posted by duotiga83:got triple deck or not har?![]()
Its just that the air has escaped from its airbag suspension. Once you start the engine it will be OK. Besides, its not sagging that much anyway. Unlike the neglected DAFs at Geylang Lor 1 which had sagged so much it looks like it had kneeling function. The condition of the B10MA is fairly good or else why would anyone buy it? If this is sad, then I don't know what to describe seeing rows of Leyland Olympians, Atlanteans and MB O305s waiting for their turn at the breakers yard.Originally posted by jetabt767400:Our dear missed friend when it was about to be taken away, while in a sad condition (look at the middle axle!) SBS998Y, taken on 1st January 2005, Tampines Interchange.
Hmm, yes I do agree. I just mean that it does not look good this way. Neither do buses parked for a long time until their air compressors are empty look good.Originally posted by The_Bus_Guide:Its just that the air has escaped from its airbag suspension. Once you start the engine it will be OK. Besides, its not sagging that much anyway. Unlike the neglected DAFs at Geylang Lor 1 which had sagged so much it looks like it had kneeling function. The condition of the B10MA is fairly good or else why would anyone buy it? If this is sad, then I don't know what to describe seeing rows of Leyland Olympians, Atlanteans and MB O305s waiting for their turn at the breakers yard.
hahaha got hydraulics.Originally posted by The_Bus_Guide:Its just that the air has escaped from its airbag suspension. Once you start the engine it will be OK. Besides, its not sagging that much anyway. Unlike the neglected DAFs at Geylang Lor 1 which had sagged so much it looks like it had kneeling function. The condition of the B10MA is fairly good or else why would anyone buy it? If this is sad, then I don't know what to describe seeing rows of Leyland Olympians, Atlanteans and MB O305s waiting for their turn at the breakers yard.
Some buses in Malaysia use Vogel seats.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Their vogelsitze seats are better than the Delgro ones..
original contoured seats from Europe.
ya, got length is good enough, no need heightOriginally posted by FireIce:got super long oredi mah
Well, some or most of us here are die-hard bus enthusiast so if you've got any questions regarding buses, do post them in this forum & we'll do out very best to answer any questions you might have & hope to see you around soonOriginally posted by khongovic:Thanks everyone for all your views. Looks like ppl here are very knowledgeable leh.![]()
They use seats which have been labelled ARIANNE or something which is spelt similarly...Originally posted by iveco:Some buses in Malaysia use Vogel seats.
BTW, I suspect the ELBO CRLs use APM seats, similar to those found on the RapidKL Turbocities.
The oldest buses in the SMRT Buses fleet is the early O.405s and the ex CSS UDs. They will be getting replaced in around 3 years time. SBST is getting extentions for it's current older fleet because SBS are more "cheapskate" and didn't engage in fleet replacement earlier like TIBS did at the time.Originally posted by TIB1018B:Want to reuse ex-CSS old Nissan buses instead of buying new buses![]()
Don't forget that SMRT's OAC Nissan TIB362M-TIB377X (originally a Tibs bus) are also the oldest batch of buses too.Originally posted by Windy_hates_B10TLs:The oldest buses in the SMRT Buses fleet is the early O.405s and the ex CSS UDs. They will be getting replaced in around 3 years time. SBST is getting extentions for it's current older fleet because SBS are more "cheapskate" and didn't engage in fleet replacement earlier like TIBS did at the time.
happened to the LO2xes & the Mk2s too. Its the suspension that broke & not the axle. Saw a NAC Mk2 WA last year in Boon Lay Int on sv182 that broke both the front right & rear right suspension (don't know how to BC drive also). It was later driven slowly back to SLBP after the BC reported to the TK. The first step was at waist levelOriginally posted by ZYX2005:the closest any of our buses came to flip is break wheel axle and fall on side with o flipping. this happen to some 0305 on what servcie forgot liao. then the bus was travel to fast and i guess it sorta flipped while turning and broke its wheel axle front and fell squat. lols
ZYX
thatw as in 1986 or 1987
Right now, a few LO3x of 179 also got suspension problems when bus is relatively empty... Take a look how buses like 9131Y and 9152L tilt when on level ground...Originally posted by samtlk:happened to the LO2xes & the Mk2s too. Its the suspension that broke & not the axle. Saw a NAC Mk2 WA last year in Boon Lay Int on sv182 that broke both the front right & rear right suspension (don't know how to BC drive also). It was later driven slowly back to SLBP after the BC reported to the TK. The first step was at waist level
Yea, should fix it soon...Originally posted by stooper:Right now, a few LO3x of 179 also got suspension problems when bus is relatively empty... Take a look how buses like 9131Y and 9152L tilt when on level ground...