Whew, so this thread is alive? Thank god!Originally posted by SBS9828X:it depends on the bus... but extreme rattling when its at traffic light or bus stop... even stronger then most hp vibration
Yeah, the worst rattlers I feel are SMRT Scanias. The ELBO being the worst, then WA ones. Followed by SBST N113CRBs.Originally posted by Lord_Of_Hayan:The rattlings are really bad, on most scania elbo CAC when it is idle, you can literally have a massage like the OTO massage system i have at home.
On Scanias i think the rattlings are really bad. Somewhat. luckily i always have MB0405, Leyland Olympians and Volvo cameos to take (174)! whew!
New buses will be sold to the transport companies first for revenue services i think. Unless you own a coach company or something?I'd love to.Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:Uh oh, got another problem if you wanna preserve a bus anot. Does the bus rattle like hell? Very important!Frankly speaking, if LTA doesn't allow us to buy the used buses, but allows us to buy new buses, what kind of new bus would you like to buy/have if you got plenty of money to spend, say 200k? I would like to have the Volvo B7R coach, or the tri-axle/2x B12B double deck coach. I really like the Volvo B12b/B7R coach chassis, quite simple compared with other bus models. Erm guys, do you know what is the estimated price of a new Volvo coach (the B7R coach with SG or Malaysia bodies)? I think is around 300-250k.
i kena that once when taking a OAC N113. The windows rattle all the way. i was like praying that the window will not fall becos im sitting beside it.Originally posted by Donavan:Merc Volgren rattling can be very serious. One time I took a Merc Volgren cameo on 963, the window like going to drop off.
As the saying goes by some bus fans, Euro buses are better then jap buses......haiz....Originally posted by XTransbus:i kena that once when taking a OAC N113. The windows rattle all the way. i was like praying that the window will not fall becos im sitting beside it.
About the B7R in malaysia, one thing is for sure, volvos are quite expensive. The cheapest is hino. Since many operators wanna get a euro styled bus, they are switching to MAN cos its much more cheaper than Merc, Volvo and Scania. Got some hino also quite nice with air suspension and it really felt like a euro bus. The fleet with the most volvo is Delima express. If like Sri maju most of them are either Merc or Scania while transional is more of a mixture of every euro brand.
Not necessary the case.. Euro buses are more prone to Overheating in some cases..Originally posted by Lord_Of_Hayan:As the saying goes by some bus fans, Euro buses are better then jap buses......haiz....
I'm sure Japanese buses have overheated too...Originally posted by sBs_boy:Not necessary the case.. Euro buses are more prone to Overheating in some cases..
Not really, its depending on the duration of use, travel distance and weather conditions........Originally posted by stooper:I'm sure Japanese buses have overheated too...
duplicated by Xerox.Originally posted by stooper:I'm sure Japanese buses have overheated too...
Speed is good, but I think the VO2X and VO3X I have a tad problem climbing slopes.Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:Hey everyone, today i took a VO2x for the first time,SBS7268A, on s93 from eunos all the way to harbourfront. Man! They are speed demons! They can accelerate quickly and can speed as well! Then somemore drizzling, so open window very shiok. Because its double deck, saw an accident along our path, an overturned van. Hope the driver's ok. But along Farrer park road there, the bus travel very fast, somemore double deck! Overtook the SMRT's 0405 ! Think is the fastest ride on a double deck! Anyone here think they can speed very well?
I TOTALLY AGREE! I forgot to add in something, the bus(VO2x) was CRAWLING when it was going up a GENTLE slope! Maybe because only 245bhp.Originally posted by SBS3625D:Speed is good, but I think the VO2X and VO3X I have a tad problem climbing slopes.
I'm sure you haven't taken 179 style driving of VO2x...Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:I TOTALLY AGREE! I forgot to add in something, the bus(VO2x) was CRAWLING when it was going up a GENTLE slope!
Ya, this can sometimes be noticed on some Habits with Voiths, although the timing is shorter, around 5-7sec later then change to top gear. Think this prob is sometimes observed in some automatic gearboxes, even some cars have it, the gearbox relunctance to change gears. Anyway do you think SBSTransit will buy anymore 2 axle double decker buses(of course, with air-con)?Originally posted by stooper:One thing I've noticed, is when the driver floors the bus. The bus will hold 1st gear for very long. Then it will only stay in gear 2 for about 5 - 10 seconds before going to top gear...![]()
You think SBST will get them? I hope so too, but they buy mainly from Volvo.Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:Erm anyone here thinks that SBSTransit may replace the VO2x with other 2x DDs such as the AlexanderDennis ALX400 or the Dennis Trident 2? I think SBSTransit should concentrate on buying some new low-floor 2x DDs, this buses can be used on medium demand services such as 93 and other services. The ALX400 is really a nice bus, if you wanna know more about the bus, go do some research or go to AlexanderDennis's website.![]()
Lets just hope they can get an updated, completely new 0305 OACs.Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:Opps sorry, it is not ALX400, it is Enviro 400. ALX400 is an outdated body previously manufactured by Alexander. Ya hope SBSTransit will buy more 2 axle double decker such as the Volvo B7TL. But i dont think SBSTransit will buy that on time, since it is about to be replaced by the 2-axle version of the B9TL. I prefer 2x(2 axle) double deckers, since they have better acceleration and top speed, dont you think? If only the Volvo double deckers have an engine of the Volvo B12B, 340-380bhp, sufficient for a DD. 245 or 285bhp is puny for such a medium weight bus, it shld have at least MINIMUM only 300bhp like the new B9TL, best shld be 330 above!Of course this is only for 3x DDs only, 2Xs 250+bhp enough liao.
Originally posted by Lord_Of_Hayan:That's completely impossible for a 0305 to appear in production. Though you might want to have a double deck version of the Citaro!
Lets just hope they can get an updated, completely new 0305 [b]OACs.
Trash the volvo, 0305 rules![/b]
Hey, given Singaporean's resources, we could update the A4 Skyhawk to the most advanced in its fleet. So, i believe that maybe we can completely rework the old buses and make them super modern.Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:That's completely impossible for a 0305 to appear in production. Though you might want to have a double deck version of the Citaro!Modern looking,low-floor, or maybe even the OC500LE!
But as said on another thread, 2 axle DDs won't be able to support A/C properly.Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:Opps sorry, it is not ALX400, it is Enviro 400. ALX400 is an outdated body previously manufactured by Alexander. Ya hope SBSTransit will buy more 2 axle double decker such as the Volvo B7TL. But i dont think SBSTransit will buy that on time, since it is about to be replaced by the 2-axle version of the B9TL.
We can overcome any difficulties......if i was the chief designer of of the DD somehowOriginally posted by stooper:But as said on another thread, 2 axle DDs won't be able to support A/C properly.
Maybe? Metroline has Enviro 400s and Tridents.Originally posted by Lord_Of_Hayan:You think SBST will get them? I hope so too, but they buy mainly from Volvo.![]()
Quite true, the weight of the air-conditioning unit as well as the bus puts alot of strain on the rear axle, somemore the power outputs are really very limited, viewed the AlexanderDennis website the maximum bhp is only 260bhp, so expect the bus to be crawling when going up the hill with a voith gearbox. But SBSTransit may consider buying a 10.3 or 10.8m 3 axle DD. Can support air-conditioning properly, but still able to accelerate properly maybe? Coming back to purchasing of used buses, anyone would like to preserve/convert the VO2x? Pls reply!Originally posted by stooper:But as said on another thread, 2 axle DDs won't be able to support A/C properly.