1999-2000 still not so bad...got brand new buses came in during that time (Volgrens, Dennis Lances, and more bendies eg. HabitsOriginally posted by iveco:I agree with you. Marbok Tan's decision in 1999 to give SBS(T) the NEL ruined everything.
Well, 147 can have those Habit buses if the NW for NE swap involved BPJ returning to SBS, and HGN coming under Tibs.Originally posted by TIB1018B:1999-2000 still not so bad...got brand new buses came in during that time (Volgrens, Dennis Lances, and more bendies eg. Habits)
After SMRT officially take over Tibs in 2004, standard had really dropped![]()
Sekali they use 2nd hand seats, just like the Nissans....Originally posted by Apex-LW'21:Why don't SMRT re-furbish the seats on its existing buses?
TIB1250X, TIB1251T, TIB1252R, kope seats from TIB643C, TIB675K, TIB680U, TIB718X, TIB724C, TIB900K tat met wif premature endOriginally posted by stooper:Sekali they use 2nd hand seats, just like the Nissans....![]()
if HGN is under Tibs, 147 wont be what is is today, it will be amendedOriginally posted by iveco:Well, 147 can have those Habit buses if the NW for NE swap involved BPJ returning to SBS, and HGN coming under Tibs.![]()
Sorry, but what is HGN?Originally posted by iveco:Well, 147 can have those Habit buses if the NW for NE swap involved BPJ returning to SBS, and HGN coming under Tibs.![]()
HGN = HougangOriginally posted by Y_Shun:Sorry, but what is HGN?
Anyway, can anyone tell me more history about the NE and NW thingy? Seems theres alot of hidden facts.
Either amended or withdrawnOriginally posted by 105090:if HGN is under Tibs, 147 wont be what is is today, it will be amended
I see...so is there any links to the history of NW and NE?Originally posted by Volvo Olympian:Either amended or withdrawn
Actually SBST wanted to amend 147 and 133 but later drop the idea..Dun know why they change their mind?Originally posted by Y_Shun:Any idea when 147 isn't withdrew? The route of 147 is the same as the NEL, I thought SBST would like people to take NEL? If they took away 147, wouldn't there be more people taking NEL?
If base on what youve said, we wouldnt be seeing Services like Svc 2, Svc 12, Svc 67 and Svc 105 liao. let you ask you this.. Do You have any idea how much place that 147 covers that MRT does Not ?? If you do not know.. i suggest that you go take the full route of Svc147 and tell me where does the bulk of the demand board the bus and where are they heading to.. ? Unless you are telling me that Svc147 is alwayz running around empty.. Then i got to say.. Take a look at their Demand... and reflect if they are justified for a withdrawal.Originally posted by Y_Shun:I see...so is there any links to the history of NW and NE?
If TIBS took NE, I should be sitting in a SMRT bus going to school now
If TIBS really took NE & NEL, chances is 147 really will be withdrawn...the route of 147 follows how the NEL goes, from Hougang -> Serangoon(skipped Kovan) -> Woodleigh -> Potong Pasir -> Boon Kheng -> Farrer Park -> Little India -> China Town[Skipped Doby Gauht & Clark Quay) -> Outram Park. (Information not really accureate, but roughly lah...)
So 147 might just be gone if NE is taken by TIBS.
Any idea when 147 isn't withdrew? The route of 147 is the same as the NEL, I thought SBST would like people to take NEL? If they took away 147, wouldn't there be more people taking NEL?
--Deleted--Originally posted by choww:Actually SBST wanted to amend 147 and 133 but later drop the idea..Dun know why they change their mind?
Its very crowded from Hougang onwards, and off course there is demand but because of the demand is very high, thats why they can force people to take NEL >_> then earn more money for the MRT by using the fares.Originally posted by sBs_boy:If base on what youve said, we wouldnt be seeing Services like Svc 2, Svc 12, Svc 67 and Svc 105 liao. let you ask you this.. Do You have any idea how much place that 147 covers that MRT does Not ?? If you do not know.. i suggest that you go take the full route of Svc147 and tell me where does the bulk of the demand board the bus and where are they heading to.. ? Unless you are telling me that Svc147 is alwayz running around empty.. Then i got to say.. Take a look at their Demand... and reflect if they are justified for a withdrawal.
That is not alwayz the case.. Study Business and you will know the reason why 147 is there.Originally posted by Y_Shun:Its very crowded from Hougang onwards, and off course there is demand but because of the demand is very high, thats why they can force people to take NEL >_> then earn more money for the MRT by using the fares.
SMRTOriginally posted by Lord_Of_Hayan:SBST and SMRT ties.
SBST? the modern paintjob and the largest bus fleet in singapore.
SMRT? Their mercedes buses are comfortable.
Yes, i support SBST overall, although SMRT dont detract too much....![]()
The paintwork of SMRT buses in fact is really cheapskate...from the rear corner of every buses you can actually see a patchwork of lighter and darker tones. SMRT in fact only repaint the bottom half of the buses (from Tibs livery to SMRT livery).Originally posted by Lord_Of_Hayan:SBST and SMRT ties.
SBST? the modern paintjob and the largest bus fleet in singapore.
SMRT? Their mercedes buses are comfortable.![]()
147 is the only service that overlaps with the NEL the most and currently not withdrawn and not affected by the NEL rationalisation phase. It duplicates the route of NEL from Serangoon MRT station all the way to Outram Park Station, skipping the Dhoby Ghaut MRT station. Before the NEL, svc 103 runs along with 147 from serangoon to Chinatown. But svc 103 is amended. If I am not wrong, at that time many people protest against the withdrawal of this service because it provides a direct link for ppl living in Hougang to go to Chinatown and Si Ma Lu and Little India. Besides, there are quite a number of elderly utilising this service and thus they find taking a bus to Hougang and taking Hougang to Chinatown is ma fan.Originally posted by choww:Actually SBST wanted to amend 147 and 133 but later drop the idea..Dun know why they change their mind?
I don't think so. I guess the outcome will be the same as for now.Originally posted by Volvo Olympian:Either amended or withdrawn
It's actually more cheapskate than you think... If you take a look more carefully, they don't even repaint their buses... They just use stickers and cover up the buses. You can see this if they forgot to pry out the Mercedes/Dennis badge from the rear of the bus. So the badges would be bulging out from the stickers. This is more obvious on the Hispano O405 and O405G and Lances.Originally posted by TIB1018B:The paintwork of SMRT buses in fact is really cheapskate...from the rear corner of every buses you can actually see a patchwork of lighter and darker tones. SMRT in fact only repaint the bottom half of the buses (from Tibs livery to SMRT livery).
Whereas the SBST repainted the whole buses. Also noticed that some MK4 DMs from AMK/BR (ex BNDEP buses) actually had their metal bodies replaced and repainted as if it is a brand new![]()
Well, for your info, some people requested the logos to remain there.Originally posted by stooper:You can see this if they forgot to pry out the Mercedes/Dennis badge from the rear of the bus. So the badges would be bulging out from the stickers. This is more obvious on the Hispano O405 and O405G and Lances.
From what i know, All Volvo Mk4s have been repainted into SBST livery and as for the Merdz 0405, itz not SBS but rather the livery of SBS Leisure.Originally posted by Lord_Of_Hayan:Well, for your info, some people requested the logos to remain there.
But either if they are restickered or repainted, they still belong to the same company.
IMO, SMRT appears to have more lousy repaint/stickers.
FYI-
--> SMRT
-CAC Nissans wheel rims not all painted black, and some still have mixed orange black rims.
-Habits having their stickers falling off already
-Some paint jobs have a mix of red + orange
while SBST has
-Shiner wheel rims that turns dull sliver after few weeks of weathering
-Slightly better stickering, althought they stick longer then their SMRT counterparts
- Red SBS paints and logos can still be seen on some MB0405s and Volvo MKIV. Speaking of which, VO2X paint jobs are starting to fall off too.
Not all MK4s have been repainted to SBST... Some just have the front repainted (mainly those with ads). The same for merz as well. E.g. 3728R recently just had its front and end repainted but still carries SBSL livery. 3901G does not have full SBST livery too.Originally posted by sBs_boy:From what i know, All Volvo Mk4s have been repainted into SBST livery and as for the Merdz 0405, itz not SBS but rather the livery of SBS Leisure.