hey, same here! Read my post above.^^^^^^^Originally posted by Volvo Olympian:If i remember , I started to like bus when i was about 6 years old. At that time when i was living in Woodlands , I use to go to the Woodlands Regional Int and see those Hino NAC and so on , when the Bendies was Introduce to Woodlands , I like to see especially the wheels etc. I persuade my mom to board one on Service 960. My Favourite Bus route last time was the old Service 181 and 960.
Hehe , I also like the way the bendy bus moves last time , how bouncyOriginally posted by Lord_Of_Hayan:hey, same here! Read my post above.^^^^^^^
Ya. Me 2. I like the part when the bus turns a sharp left or sharp right. Then the "basket" will rotate. Besides, last time, I did not really expect bendy buses to be deployed on feeder svcs because these svc will probably pass by narrow roads which probably the bendy bus was unable to turn due to its length. Looks like I'm wrong.Originally posted by Volvo Olympian:Hehe , I also like the way the bendy bus moves last time , how bouncy
Going over a hump/hill at high speed and you sit at the rear of the trailer part (essentially, the very rear seats.). Shiok. You'll experience negative-g forces for 1-3 seconds without being in an aircraft.Originally posted by Volvo Olympian:Hehe , I also like the way the bendy bus moves last time , how bouncy
I also like to stand at the ''basket'' area too. But sometimes u feel dizzy when the bus bounce too much ..... use to experience this on Sv 190.Originally posted by tanjun:Ya. Me 2. I like the part when the bus turns a sharp left or sharp right. Then the "basket" will rotate. Besides, last time, I did not really expect bendy buses to be deployed on feeder svcs because these svc will probably pass by narrow roads which probably the bendy bus was unable to turn due to its length. Looks like I'm wrong.
CoolOriginally posted by stooper:I used to like planes and trains when I was young... But maybe because I was exposed to too much buses, I started liking buses at around Primary 3. I recorded all the then 199 (& 242) buses. When I re-read my records a few months ago, I realised that I had also stated which buses were 199 to 242 and to 255 x-overs!![]()
So when you start liking buses?Originally posted by jetabt767400:Svc 106, and 857 also got some bouncy effects, also known as jack-knifing effect, huh? Yeah...
106, under PIE flyover towards Clementi and after Ulu Pandan Refuse Incineration Plant. After Farrer Road, that one everyone knows, and on svc 75/77 can also feel. 105 as well.
857, on CTE towards Yishun, I could remember on TIB861P (WL SP), whole bus jerk violently and BC slammed the brakes, maybe he forgot the bump.
And sometimes, BC in hurry, whether on 187/188 or rarer, 985, cross the raised pedestrian hump at Bukit Batok West Ave 4, can bump you off the seat. Once, TIB1082P on svc 188 broke down after the hump, well, you know what happened.
The rear bumper got torn off the bus, and water tank 'kenna', so water was everywhere. That bump has clearance for bendies at 15-20km/h, about 20cm, and higher speed sure 'kenna'.
Talk about some bumpy rides...
There's a big hump along Boon Lay Way, next to the Science Centre and Library...Originally posted by jetabt767400:Talk about some bumpy rides...
What the..popcorns.... longer then me (-_-)'''Originally posted by jetabt767400:Loved buses since maybe born? 'Cos its always bus rides and bus rides, non stop. We dun take the taxi, not always, so the bus became staple of life. Remebered the Volvo B57, or not, on Bedok feeders. Moved to Bukit Batok soon after they are retired. Then the Leyland Antleans on svc 189, before they are phased out and Volvo Olympian 2X came in, plus the present JB MKIII, and Striders. Since then I have started noticing svc 189, and till now! SMRT took over, some stunts with DAFs, Hinos, and Citaro bodied 0405G, the TIB988H, which attempted many stunts inside BB Interchange, parking at the inside area, at the last bus bay. To think how to turn in is already a wonder.
Soon 988H went to CCK, and peaceful with 0405 again, until one morning this year, TIB1031L came with news, Habits on 189!
I really wondered how they turn this time, the bay is at the middle, so...
So they changed the bus bay now.
Now TIB1162S and TIB1224Y are perm on 189, what's next?
Compiled fleet list of 189, plus buses which tried for a period, not counting 'cameos', or temp buses as I call them.
TIB425R
TIB426M
TIB475X
TIB516L (perm now)
TIB517J (perm now)
TIB519D (perm now)
TIB520Z (perm now, ex 989)
TIB544E (perm now)
TIB592R (perm now)
TIB597C (perm now, lengendary fastest bus according to BCs in BB Interchange)
TIB605M (perm now)
TIB633G (perm now)
TIB634D
TIB966X (ex-perm, now should be with svc 77)
TIB988H
TIB1162S (perm now)
TIB1224Y (perm now)
Some memorable temp buses
Some DAFs which drove very very fast, multiple regos.
TIB905Y, got smell...
TIB947B, drove 60km/h past Ginza Plaza, then 'kenna' bump, boom!
TIB1031L, of course, my first bendy ride of 189 since 6 years, and first Habit on svc 189 for same period of time, according to BC.
Just some of my observation of svc 189 since started taking in 1997, 9 years past.
hi fellow bus route lover..Originally posted by tanjun:Just curious to know which age do u all realise u like buses and make bus spotting a hobby and the incidents that cause you to like buses?
For me, I only realise that when I was 11. I recalled reading transitlink bus guide 1992 when I was in pri 2 and unknowingly memorise some of the bus routes because of the pictures in the guide itself that make me interested in this book.
Leyland AtlanteanOriginally posted by kengkia:i fell in love with bus at age of 3 or 4 when my mother always keep taking me to bus and sub-sequently at first i like the bus engine if o305 and leyland atlentant(duuno spelled correctly anot) and oso the leyland olympian and the breeze is just.....then the bus route then now the models of bus and the turning of bendies...like the whole bus just wanna fall on its side lyke that..so style..
Same. I miss the old days.Originally posted by Urroh:I like buses since 1985.. when i was very young about 4.... still can remember most old bus models.. so i got feeling for most old buses..![]()