I took it almost late afternoon though, after my work. back to Bukit Gombak (BB int transfer)Originally posted by jetabt767400:I was on 174, SBS236M today, Orchard to Bukit Batok. Gave a seat to a school girl with her mum. You sit opp. direction right? But my bus was pretty full too.
Hmm, agreed. But i do have some opposite views. If an elderly board the bus, i will automatically give up my seat. Even if i'm tired (Yawn).Originally posted by missqi:Actually, you see ah.
Everyone pays a fare, so we are not really obligated to give our seats up.
Old age does not mean they are cannot stand for a journey, unless they are really physically weak.
I feel that if I am really tired, I won't even bother looking at my surroundings to see if there are any elderly or not....
In fact, giving up my seat will be the last thing on my mind.
Just my view.![]()
afew dun represent every sg... for those who didnt give, shame on them...Originally posted by Lord_Of_Hayan:Today while i took 174 home, it was pretty crowded, but there are still abit of space for standing. Then a senior citizen boarded the bus, and after he tapped his ez-link card, no one in the bus gave up their seats to the senior citizen.
The ppl at the front, mostly are 9-5ers were either dozing or reading the tabloid. Finally, when majority of the people alighted at following bus stops, he managed to sit down.
It really occured to me that is Singaporeans really that selfish in actually giving up their seats to the elderly? This had actually happened occasionally on other services. Your views please.
Originally posted by SBS2798U:I wont throw eggs. I throw frying pans.
[b]Don't throw eggs at me for what I am going to say.[b]
definitely not students of course... but senior citizens shud be given the seats especially those green ones... I wud definitely give up my seats... If im tired, den die die dun want give up i will go to the back and find a seat. Confirm no senior citizenOriginally posted by SBS2798U:Don't throw eggs at me for what I am going to say.
This kinda thing hor is really up to the individual. If u wanna be generous and kind, give up the seat. If you wanna be selfish, dun give lor. No one can say or do anything anyway even if u r on the green seats lor. Coz u r not doing anything against the law lor.
But seriously lor, tis is wat i tink lor. If i am a full fare paying pax, y shld i be giving up the seat to a child/student or a senior citizen whose fare i am subsidising especially for the latter at certain times of the day. Yah lor.
Originally posted by sgboy2004:to be fair, remove all the seats...wanna sit, sit on the floor lor... problem solved.
That's the problem - it isn't against the law. It's utterly pathetic if you (1) need legislation to tell you to use your conscience, and (2) calculate everything in dollars and cents. Shame on these people and the people who raised them.Originally posted by SBS2798U:Don't throw eggs at me for what I am going to say.
This kinda thing hor is really up to the individual. If u wanna be generous and kind, give up the seat. If you wanna be selfish, dun give lor. No one can say or do anything anyway even if u r on the green seats lor. Coz u r not doing anything against the law lor.
But seriously lor, tis is wat i tink lor. If i am a full fare paying pax, y shld i be giving up the seat to a child/student or a senior citizen whose fare i am subsidising especially for the latter at certain times of the day. Yah lor.
We're not dealing with a boorish twat here. Its is our aging population that we are discussing about.Originally posted by Kuali Baba:If you're dealing with a boorish twat who demands to have the seat for himself/herself then by all means defy him/her.
Originally posted by SBS2798U:Don't throw eggs at me for what I am going to say.
Agree. I see some schools student glued to the GREEN seats somemore. Somemore from BETTER schools than me (don't guess which school I am fromOriginally posted by 105090:students should give up their seats more readily than adults generally. they are in school, and thier school, teachers etc should had taught them about giving up their seats.
adults dont really give them up because maybe they had acquired the resistance to give up seats.
also, youngsters are the future of singapore. they should also led by example, and they are also educated. lastly, they pay real cheap fairs and doesnt contribute to the economy currently, so giving up their seats is like compromising and compensating![]()