Eh same as buses, if you can maintain buses such that they do not breakdown, doesn't mean that you maintain them to their best standard.Originally posted by 105090:so in school if u last in class means u are brainless?
means write off? means be condemned and shamed?
I guess no one would want to argue with you. Since you say AMDEP buses are gd then gd lor. For me, I dun feel that SLBP buses fit the things you say. SLBP buses are comfortable! Most of them go trunk service like 174 and 502. They are gd, no complain. Heat at the back ? No, I dun really feel it, only if u sit at the right hand side of the rear sides when the buses has travelling for 1.5 hrs. Proven when you take 174 and 502. Jerking? do u find SBS 413T had it? SBS 3755L? Except some buses like SBS 315T. Ehich I some kind dunno why they dun want to fix the probelm. Just like what I say, the ranking of the depot is important. This shows that the depot is capable in saving money and keep the bus going well.Originally posted by Scania:Ah slbp maintains buses well enough........
Explain why 2720T has fart for so many years
Explain why 2689B sounds like a LO2x.
Explain why 2698A super loud farts dint get repaired until it went bbdep.
Explain why 2785G struggles to climb slopes, even the Serangoon Int one is a challenge for it.
amdep Mk4s seldom face these problems
Mercs...
Explain why 202K struggled to get into 3rd gear a few months ago.
Explain why slbp Mercs seems to emit more heat to the surroundings than amdep ones, even though I can tell you Dennis Lances emit for heat than Mercs.
Explain why amdep Mercs sound nicer than slbp ones. (Go and take 244P or 365Z to compare, though many others are also the same)
Explain why many slbp Mercs are ovens at the back, I know Mercs are rear radiator buses, but I don't feel so hot (or even feel the heat) on amdep Mercs and SMRT Mercs.
slbp Mercs don't breakdown as much, but they aint as comfortable as the other Mercs.
Some slbp Mercs also jerk very much. The only amdep Mercs which jerk that much are a few of the Voith Mercs.
511T is one very good example of a jerking bus.Originally posted by chickenlittle2:I guess no one would want to argue with you. Since you say AMDEP buses are gd then gd lor. For me, I dun feel that SLBP buses fit the things you say. SLBP buses are comfortable! Most of them go trunk service like 174 and 502. They are gd, no complain. Heat at the back ? No, I dun really feel it, only if u sit at the right hand side of the rear sides when the buses has travelling for 1.5 hrs. Proven when you take 174 and 502. Jerking? do u find SBS 413T had it? SBS 3755L? Except some buses like SBS 315T. Ehich I some kind dunno why they dun want to fix the probelm. Just like what I say, the ranking of the depot is important. This shows that the depot is capable in saving money and keep the bus going well.
VOs? Too short a time to determine did a good job or not.Originally posted by Scania:511T is one very good example of a jerking bus.
Saving money while compromising comfort? I don't think that would be a good thing to do.
I'm not saying that slbp is a "bad" depot, it has done great jobs on the LOs, VOs and B10BLE CNGs.
The ratting on the Scanias cannot be helped since Scania Chassis have been known that they tend to rattle. However... their MK IVs are better than BB ones. I do not understand why but BB MK IV always seems to rattle when I take them... EG SBS 1943 Z. As for their Aircon... BNDEP Scanias lose to SLBP Merc. But I still think BNDEP NAC MERCZ (In the past) with the Townlink livery are the best Mercz.... I wonder where they are now... (I know they are CAC... but are they in AMDEP or SLBP?)Originally posted by Donavan:Honest opinion:
Each and everyone of us has different criteria of the "best depot". For me it will be reliability, so no prizes, you know which depot I would like the buses the most. Thanks M_S!Live in Jurong East and enjoy the Mercs, CNGs, even the LO3x (though reversing is a nightmare!
).
Let me go through EVERY SINGLE DEPOT in alphabetical order (excludes arbp, bram).
AMDEP:
The good: Ok. Their maintenance may not be as good as SL, but at least their buses are clean and well, still performing.
The bad: Go to Bishan Int, look at the roofs of the buses. Shows how lazy AM is, it's not an isolated case, but MANY. Old livery being exposed, ads that have survived for a few years on the roof e.t.c.
BBDEP:
The good: Ok. I don't blame them for the fanbelt. (all of us know the fanbelt goes mad during wet weather) What's good about bbdep is that they may not be maintening the buses SO WELL, but still, they bother putting in the effort to REPLACE the seats instead of patching all sorts of weird things.
The bad: With any B10M depot, the struggle is with the fanbelt. So I won't talk about the fanbelt. Instead, BBDEP's main weakness lies in the way they maintain cleaniness. I have seen many BB B10Ms where all the litter collects at the exit door. Goodness me. Not to forget, a horde of tickets.
BNDEP:
The good: Ok. Tough to say, as I am not very used to BNDEP buses, but after trying a number of them I can't say much good. Not in position to speak.
The bad: BNDEP cannot control the severity of rattling of their buses. The Scanias are good examples.Maybe you enjoy the rattling. We never know.
HGDEP:
The good: Ok. Their buses LOOK fresh on the exterior. (but whatever it is in the interior, only those who took the bus and God knows)
The bad: Ouch, biased depot for sure! Don't want to dwell into details to avoid flamewar.
SLBP:
The good: Reliable depot. I love reliability. It is the key to whether you spend more $$$ on repairs or less. :LOL: Economic sense ah?
The bad: Every depot has its weaknesses correct? Well, I don't really consider this as a weakness, but since some forumnites suggested, perhaps SL buses seem a bit different? But I think they're unique.
Aren't VO2xes VOs?Originally posted by Donavan:VOs? Too short a time to determine did a good job or not.
But I still feel BN VOs are terrible (especially Batch I). BB VOs are better in one way or another.
Strange if you people notice, many target depots with "B" in their starting. Not only that, there hasn't been any kiddie who say one depot bus can speed, so that depot shiok. Thank god.
eh try SMRT ones nowadays they tend to speed up, dunno why, think save labor costs.Originally posted by Donavan:VOs? Too short a time to determine did a good job or not.
But I still feel BN VOs are terrible (especially Batch I). BB VOs are better in one way or another.
Strange if you people notice, many target depots with "B" in their starting. Not only that, there hasn't been any kiddie who say one depot bus can speed, so that depot shiok. Thank god.
Oh yes, forgot about them, LOL. Personally didn't take MANY VO2x, nothing to say.Originally posted by Scania:Aren't VO2xes VOs?
Originally posted by SBS1985C:They tend to rattle? Weird. If there are some which don't rattle as bad as the rest, WHY?
The ratting on the Scanias cannot be helped since Scania Chassis have been known that they tend to rattle. However... their MK IVs are better than BB ones. I do not understand why but BB MK IV always seems to rattle when I take them... EG SBS 1943 Z. As for their Aircon... BNDEP Scanias lose to SLBP Merc. But I still think BNDEP [b] NAC MERCZ (In the past) with the Townlink livery are the best Mercz.... I wonder where they are now... (I know they are CAC... but are they in AMDEP or SLBP?)[/b]
They only have 4 AC Scanias.Originally posted by Donavan:They tend to rattle? Weird. If there are some which don't rattle as bad as the rest, WHY?
Oh yes, and to add for BRAM, poor maintenance of Scanias.
Mk3s, absolute piece of shit with their Voith, the best Mk3 is PH1869Y, manual gear.Originally posted by Donavan:They tend to rattle? Weird. If there are some which don't rattle as bad as the rest, WHY?
Add for MK IVs. You suay. But MK IVs OVERALL maintenace for all depots are equally bad. Quite preposterous, but MANY rattle, throughout ALL depots. Perhaps the only thing they did right with the MK IVs were to refurbish them.
Strange we never talked about MK IIIs in all depots? All depots MK III also cannot make it. Those who don't agree can rebut. Horrible suspension that gets worse after each bump. Don't talk about the Voith gearbox, but the legroom didn't receive much improvement, and yes, since those depots which have many MK IIIs have many MK IVs also, it seems that the MK IIIs look sorely neglected. Sad case.
Regarding bodyworks, Volgren bodyworks are known for their horrifying rattling. On SMRT Mercs it rattles, a WA or DM on SBST Merc doesn't rattle. Volvo B10BLE CNG or Diesel with Volgren bodywork was a nightmare and remains as a nightmare. Imagine Volgren + Scania (like what you said, tends to rattle). Good luck to those attempting to sleep on the window pane.
Hmmmm, perhaps, perhaps.Originally posted by Scania:They only have 4 AC Scanias.
If you are saying about the NACs, then I would say that they do a better job than bndep.
SMRT L113CRLs WA Strider and ELBO do poorly too, with ZF Gearbox. They rattle. Though I have personally NEVER taken an ELBO before, my friends all complained about its rattling power.Originally posted by Scania:Mk3s, absolute piece of shit with their Voith, the best Mk3 is PH1869Y, manual gear.
The thing which causes the Scanias and DAFs to vibrate is the Voith gearbox.
Most of the B9TLs are manufactured in 2005, while 7300P is manufactured in 2002.Originally posted by Donavan:Hmmmm, perhaps, perhaps.
The A/C Scanias don't look well-maintained.
The NACs, well I must try a few from each side.
Judgements do change.
But I still feel in SBS Transit no depot seems to have maintained the B10M (especially MK IV, when the fanbelt story started, or MK III, when the Voith Gearbox story started) or N113 to the best of their standards yet. See how SBS Transit does to the B9TLs. (but there's already signs of rattling even before it hits 1 year old?!) There has been as least 1 accident and 3 breakdowns reported for B9TLs.
Agree?
Are you sure that bodywork qualities are the main cause of rattlings? I think that even if the bodywork is of top and excellent quality, but the chassis rattles alot, the bus will still rattle. It is just like your computer chassis, your casing is the best, but your CPU fan and hardisk vibrates alot during usage, you will feel the casing vibrating, no matter how good ur casing is. The most important is that the chassis MUST NOT RATTLE, which is caused by the engine. Btw are the VO3x at SLDEP 1st.2nd or 3rd versions? I like the 3rd versions, they have nut-guards(which are very cool, cooler than the B9TLs') And do they have a 285hp or a 245hp engine, can anyone tell me?Originally posted by Donavan:Regarding bodyworks, Volgren bodyworks are known for their horrifying rattling. On SMRT Mercs it rattles, a WA or DM on SBST Merc doesn't rattle. Volvo B10BLE CNG or Diesel with Volgren bodywork was a nightmare and remains as a nightmare. Imagine Volgren + Scania (like what you said, tends to rattle). Good luck to those attempting to sleep on the window pane.
Chassis.... Depending on the Chassis and mantainence....Originally posted by Donavan:They tend to rattle? Weird. If there are some which don't rattle as bad as the rest, WHY?
Add for MK IVs. You suay. But MK IVs OVERALL maintenace for all depots are equally bad. Quite preposterous, but MANY rattle, throughout ALL depots. Perhaps the only thing they did right with the MK IVs were to refurbish them.
Strange we never talked about MK IIIs in all depots? All depots MK III also cannot make it. Those who don't agree can rebut. Horrible suspension that gets worse after each bump. Don't talk about the Voith gearbox, but the legroom didn't receive much improvement, and yes, since those depots which have many MK IIIs have many MK IVs also, it seems that the MK IIIs look sorely neglected. Sad case.
Regarding bodyworks, Volgren bodyworks are known for their horrifying rattling. On SMRT Mercs it rattles, a WA or DM on SBST Merc doesn't rattle. Volvo B10BLE CNG or Diesel with Volgren bodywork was a nightmare and remains as a nightmare. Imagine Volgren + Scania (like what you said, tends to rattle). Good luck to those attempting to sleep on the window pane.
What I have to admit however is that SL still has very strong reliability that looks unmatched.So far I have only seen the tow truck in JE once, and that was regarding a Svc 66 BN MK II.
Tow trucks in Clementi were much more common, towing out regular VO3x, MK III. Shows how reliable bbdep is. Yes, and the sheer number of reports on hgdep and bndep buses under "Accident and Breakdown Thread". Quite scary for a world class public transport system, don't you think?
Yeah! I sometimes get surprised with that! Previosuly buses had no badges, but then later, you see a badge on it!Originally posted by carbikebus:More buses are spotted with badges even after repainted.Less complains on air-con problems,Leakage,Kudos to the Technical crews and management there!