Hmm , maybe i will agree with this ... the lastest model from TIBS is the Habit bendy , when SMRT tookover , the lastest model is ......... Nissan from CSS ... but i actually dun mind if Nissan or whatsoever.Originally posted by TheVistaAero:LoL... I think Tibs is better than SMRT...
Since SMRT taken over TIBS.
SMRT has done nothing to improve the buses.
It only cares for it's trains...
Done nothing for the bus.
LoL... SMRT is $$ Minded.
Only takeover TIBS to earn more $$.
That's all
Do you all agree with me?
Am i right to say that?
Actually, 20 years is nothing for trains. Trains are really built to last (unless they are made by cheapskate china companies). Other countries have electric trains which are over 60 years old and still running in regular passenger service. But they have gone through numerous refurbrishments of course.Originally posted by The_Bus_Guide:The C151 are still working well despite being 20 years old due to excellent maintenance by the SMRT crew.
Can i just clarify if the life span of buses is 17 or 15 years? I read somewhere here that the 17 years span is a special case for one of SBS's retiring fleet...Originally posted by The_Bus_Guide:Buses and trains are built to last, about 30 years at least. While we have a 17 year lifespan for public buses, theres no such restriction on trains. The C151 are still working well despite being 20 years old due to excellent maintenance by the SMRT crew. In other less fortunate countries, trains of such age would be a nightmare to see, let alone ride. SMRT has already taken the initiative to refurbish the C151 and spent a lot of money too. Why they didn't use the money to buy new stocks, you may ask. Well, phasing out and bringing in 77 trains is no walk in the park. Probably, it would be too much time consuming and could result in a brief shortage of trains, something which SMRT is ill afford to do.
It's actually 17 years now. 15 years was the previous lifespan. The special case is more than 17 years. The MK2s are in their 17th - 19th year now!Originally posted by simnatic:Can i just clarify if the life span of buses is 17 or 15 years? I read somewhere here that the 17 years span is a special case for one of SBS's retiring fleet...
those are diesel trains, here we are tokin on masss transits wich are more environmental friendly and if im not wrong the NEL trains are built by a china co. ALSTOMOriginally posted by stooper:Actually, 20 years is nothing for trains. Trains are really built to last (unless they are made by cheapskate china companies). Other countries have electric trains which are over 60 years old and still running in regular passenger service. But they have gone through numerous refurbrishments of course.
The fastest diesel train in the world is 30 years old and is still going strong...
ALSTOM is not a china company its French.Originally posted by SBS9888Y:those are diesel trains, here we are tokin on masss transits wich are more environmental friendly and if im not wrong the NEL trains are built by a china co. ALSTOM
And the Trains were not made in China too i think, they are fully manufactured and built in France and shipped to SG by sea.Originally posted by ignoramus2006:ALSTOM is not a china company its French.
Look at my post again. 60+ years for electric train (ex London Underground).Originally posted by SBS9888Y:those are diesel trains, here we are tokin on masss transits wich are more environmental friendly and if im not wrong the NEL trains are built by a china co. ALSTOM
i don think sgp govt will use china stuffs for long running.. they rather use european or japanese which are known for durable and quality stuffs (except for nissan nac/cac/oac) right??
Originally posted by ignoramus2006:
ALSTOM is not a china company its French.[/quote]
[quote]Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:And the Trains were not made in China too i think, they are fully manufactured and built in France and shipped to SG by sea.
TIB1017D and TIB 1018D you mean??Originally posted by SBS9888Y:i really lyk the SMRT MB0405G(volgren bodied) bendies and single TIB958U to 972C and TIB1178Y to 1197S, i tink their the best buses SMRT has so far... i think the volgren bodied buses are not bad be it HINO and the DENNIS LANCE (volgren) TIB1017D and 1017B but i tink they shld buy more of the SMRT 0405G (volgren-bodied bendy or non-bendy)
THE DAF is one of the UGLIEST buses and i hope they do sth to re-BEAUTIFY it
Me too! I love their engine sounds too! So loud! Especially those ZF ones, they rock da best!Originally posted by SBS9888Y:i really lyk the SMRT MB0405G(volgren bodied) bendies , TIB1178Y to 1197S, i tink their the best buses SMRT has so far... ............but i tink they shld buy more of the SMRT 0405G (volgren-bodied bendy or non-bendy)
Train are train bus are bus,Each has it's own class.I think SBST Nel train look much more modernise compared to SMRT onesOriginally posted by swee_heng:you guys know why SMRT only cares about their trains?lol because trains carry plenty of passengers & they want to look more high class & modern compare to SBST , thats why![]()
still remember d "fat bus" when i was a primary sch kidOriginally posted by manjieass:leave the DAF alone.. its unique.. don waste money re-BEAUTIFYing it..
Originally posted by manjieass:wa purposely dao me la huh... u oso type wrong its TIB1017D and TIB1018B
TIB1017D and TIB 1018D you mean??
volgren is more stylish in some ways..
leave the DAF alone.. its unique.. don waste money re-BEAUTIFYing it..[/b]
U forgot about the upcoming CCL.They are even nicer than those NEL ones, all tho similar.Originally posted by carbikebus:Train are train bus are bus,Each has it's own class.I think SBST Nel train look much more modernise compared to SMRT ones![]()
Originally posted by SBS9888Y:oops paiseh.. no personal remarks.. jux correcting it..
wa purposely dao me la huh... u oso type wrong its TIB1017D and TIB1018[b]B[/b]
hahas none takenOriginally posted by manjieass:oops paiseh.. no personal remarks.. jux correcting it..
Ya lor! They shld deploy them more on trunk services such as 960,963(especially),169,187. The Habits are so common on the streets that im tired of them, especially around Yishun and Bugis areas. If only there's only 21 Habits and 200+ Volgrens!Originally posted by SBS9888Y:hahas none taken
SMRT not gonna deploy anymore Volgren-bodied bus esp. the MB0405G bendies
really like them... too bad only 21 in the fleet
and mostly serve inside woodlands only...
What's so good about the Volgren O.405Gs? You obviously haven't see how badly maintained they can be.Originally posted by SBS9888Y:hahas none taken
SMRT not gonna deploy anymore Volgren-bodied bus esp. the MB0405G bendies
really like them... too bad only 21 in the fleet
and mostly serve inside woodlands only...