Take 66 or 228 change 24 or take 65 to Tam Ave 5 change to 27 are better choices. Not much people does things the way u tot.Originally posted by sbst275:Actually 506 shortened from CGIA was a bit off...
Instead of a direct bus from Bedok Reservoir, now have to take 66, 228 to Bedok Int and x-fer to MRT till TNM and make another transfer
65 <-> 27... That's betterOriginally posted by SBS9889U:Take 66 or 228 change 24 or take 65 to Tam Ave 5 change to 27 are better choices. Not much people does things the way u tot.
Freq was 15 - 22 minsOriginally posted by SBS9828X:34 duplicate with 24 rite?
but it operates on week day rite?
Reminds me of last time Service 10 kena cut from Clementi Int to Kent Ridge.Originally posted by sbst275:Actually 506 shortened from CGIA was a bit off...
Instead of a direct bus from Bedok Reservoir, now have to take 66, 228 to Bedok Int and x-fer to MRT till TNM and make another transfer
Eh you sure or not... 506 kena FOURTH time EXTENSION?Originally posted by Volvo Olympian:and so this is the 4th time 506 kenna extension
1st from JE-BDK
2nd from JE-CGA
3rd from JE-BDK
and now ...... 4th from JE-UEC
Originally posted by striderz_o405:Eh , shld be the Second lah , sorry sorry there
Eh you sure or not... 506 kena [b]FOURTH time EXTENSION?[/b]
Yes, service 34 duplicates with service 24. But if I am not wrong service 34 doesn't stop at bus stops along Upp Changi Road East whereas service 24 does.Originally posted by SBS9828X:34 duplicate with 24 rite?
I guess is due to low demand so thats why they extend it to UEC Ter , but even if they extend also there is advantage and disadvantages , the advantage is the serve more of the Bedok South and Upp East coast Rd area and the disadvantages is not many people take it due to the fares.Originally posted by Urroh:I think the signboard is ridiculous. From bedok int to toa payoh, the recommend to take bus 26 to Toa payoh. Longer time.
Worse.. to Jurong east, they recommend to take bus 66. So far.. ! hr 30 mins or even more at least.. really ridiculous.. might as well take train only 45 mins.
If take 506 have to transfer from bedok int to Bedok north ave 3 or walk there.. troublesome. Why do they have to change it? So inconvienence.![]()
because of the EWL extension to CGAOriginally posted by SBS9889U:34 withdrawn same days as 506 cut short
like former 989, now 985, have to alight at Lor 1 Geylang, walk to MRT, take it to TNM, then transfer againOriginally posted by sbst275:Actually 506 shortened from CGIA was a bit off...
because of the MRT to changi airport and many services were affected , 989 , old 34 ....etcOriginally posted by SBS2679E:like former 989, now 985, have to alight at Lor 1 Geylang, walk to MRT, take it to TNM, then transfer again![]()
So to say... as a "tradition" in public transportation, there are bound to have some bus routes culled when a train line starts.Originally posted by Volvo Olympian:because of the MRT to changi airport and many services were affected , 989 , old 34 ....etc
Not much people take 506 from Bedok Int and Opp Post Office la. Take 66 is real ridiculous la, it takes 1 h 50 mins from Bedok to JE most of the times unless BC chiongster.Originally posted by Urroh:I think the signboard is ridiculous. From bedok int to toa payoh, the recommend to take bus 26 to Toa payoh. Longer time.
Worse.. to Jurong east, they recommend to take bus 66. So far.. ! hr 30 mins or even more at least.. really ridiculous.. might as well take train only 45 mins.
If take 506 have to transfer from bedok int to Bedok north ave 3 or walk there.. troublesome. Why do they have to change it? So inconvienence.![]()
Demand not that low hor. Extend to UEC is maybe people suggest or they want more people to take.Originally posted by Volvo Olympian:I guess is due to low demand so thats why they extend it to UEC Ter , but even if they extend also there is advantage and disadvantages , the advantage is the serve more of the Bedok South and Upp East coast Rd area and the disadvantages is not many people take it due to the fares.
If you are going to terminal 1,need to transfer 1 more time,the skytrainOriginally posted by sbst275:Actually 506 shortened from CGIA was a bit off...
it certainly doesnt make passengers happy to see excessive boarding/alighting activites on express bus, much more if the bus hasnt even hit the express sector..Originally posted by autumncs:I felt that the Express services should have concession for students and elderly, just like the Chinatown Express ($1). With the extension of 506, more schools will be served, but students are likely to avoid 506 due to the high fares. Maybe SBST can introduce normal fare between UEC and Bedok Res Rd. Any passengers alighting after that will have pay Express fares. (I'm sure this is feasible with the Ez-link technology.)
There used to be Express 503 from Tampines to Shenton Way. It linked Tampines, Bedok Reservoir and Marine Parade together and serve many schools (e.g. St Hilda, Damai, TJC, VJC, St Patrick, CHIJ, etc). Although it provided a direct link between my home in Bedok North and my school (VJC), I would avoid it because the fare was simply too expensive. Anyway, 503 had been withdrawn, and things are back to square 1. (Students still need to change buses at Bedok Int.)
There also used to be Express 505 from Pasir Ris to Bukit Merah/WTC. It used to provide a non-stop link from my home in Bedok Nth to Bukit Merah. As a student, despite the high fare, I don't mind taking 505 because it's really FAST. I often took 505 when I went to CMPB or NUS. (It took only 15 minutes from Bedok Nth Rd to Jln Bukit Merah.) Unfortunately, 505 was withdrawn as the HDB hub moved from Bukit Merah to Toa Payoh, and commuters heading to Bukit Merah/WTC has to take the new 518 and change bus at Orchard. (As for me, I have to take 30 between Bedok and NUS every day. Although SBST introduced Fast Forward 30e, I would avoid it due to the high fares. Somemore 30e is not really that fast... During morning peak hour it gets jammed on the ECP anyway.)
I wonder whether it is feasible to charge normal fares or allow concessions for Express services during off-peak hours, like the former SMRT service 521 (now 963). After all, 506 is quite empty during off-peak hours. Anyway I'm holding a student concession pass, so Express services are still too expensive for me. I'm not asking for normal concession fares (55 cents) for Express services. I'm happy if the fare can be reduced to $1, or even $1.50 (as long as it is lower than the normal $2++ fare.) Sometimes, students may need to rush from one point to another, but it's not very fair to make them pay the full express fares. Students have the need and want to travel fast, but not the demand. Since there is an excess of supply (bus seats) and the operational cost is the same whether the bus is full or empty, isn't it better to get more demand to match the excess supply?Originally posted by 105090:it certainly doesnt make passengers happy to see excessive boarding/alighting activites on express bus, much more if the bus hasnt even hit the express sector..
in singapore, you want exclusive treatment, u pay more. hence, the express and FFW services caters to passengers who are willing to pay more to avoid the crowds, have a comfortable and faster journey with lesser people on board.. if students pay concession, this defeats the purpose.. even Season Pass and Shareholder pass also doesnt allow usage on FFW and express.
chinatown direct is considered leisure service. only operates during off pak hours. not meant for rush hour working people..
SBST should follow in the steps of TIBS>..963 is the greatest thing ever...Originally posted by autumncs:I wonder whether it is feasible to charge normal fares or allow concessions for Express services during off-peak hours, like the former SMRT service 521 (now 963). After all, 506 is quite empty during off-peak hours. Anyway I'm holding a student concession pass, so Express services are still too expensive for me. I'm not asking for normal concession fares (55 cents) for Express services. I'm happy if the fare can be reduced to $1, or even $1.50 (as long as it is lower than the normal $2++ fare.) Sometimes, students may need to rush from one point to another, but it's not very fair to make them pay the full express fares. Students have the need and want to travel fast, but not the demand. Since there is an excess of supply (bus seats) and the operational cost is the same whether the bus is full or empty, isn't it better to get more demand to match the excess supply?