its written 70km/hr on it.. it flashes when it hits over 70km/hr.. but i think like no use lor..Originally posted by stooper:I have also been on an 188 bus along AYE and have seen the needle go up to 70km/h. When I got off the bus and looked at the windscreen, it did indeed have a speed limiter sticker on the windscreen...
I have also seen SMRT buses with no/not working door interlocks... I have seen Nissans/ELBO Scanias moving with door open. And I even took a Habit with its most rear door open when moving at normal speeds on 187...
BTW, in that picture, what's the word/figure on the orange speed limiter light?
If stay at 0 means tampered?Originally posted by XTransbus:There's even another case where some drivers tamper with their speed limiters and as a result, the meter always stayed at 0 although he might be running at 70.
No. Everything is normal, just the speedo remains at 0.Originally posted by SBS9888Y:u mean those wif jammed gearings?
nope.. its 70km/hr.. i think it faded off so they jux used liquid paper to write again lor..Originally posted by SBS9828X:that looks like a high beam light
High beam light is usually blue...Originally posted by SBS9828X:that looks like a high beam light
wat is parallax error???Originally posted by storm_freaky13:this picture looks as if it could be parallax error. dunno but sometimes for expressway playing buses... they shd go at least 70. 60 is too darn slow
yeah.. SVC 171 always does tat.. but on this bus, it did not do it.. it was on a straight road..Originally posted by SBS3625D:Simple way to get past speed-limitor:
Disengage gear downhill. I watched the perm VSOs on 161 go past 85km/h. Watch out for this particular BC who knows this trick!
It's when you see something at an angle... Since the needle and the speedo readings are not flat, when you look at it from an angle, it might be a bit off...Originally posted by manjieass:wat is parallax error???
Simply, it means not reading a reading on the same plane as the indicator. In the case of a speedometer, you read PERPENDICULAR to the measuring apparatus. In other words, immediately above the reading. (Not vertically above, speedometer is slanted). To correct parallax error, what some instruments have is a mirror. If the needle is seen in the mirror, it shows that there is a parallax error because of the laws of reflection, blah, that I won't explain. I would need a diagram. If only I can upload a simple diagram,Originally posted by manjieass:wat is parallax error???
ok thanks.. btw, when i took the photo, my cam was around my chest..Originally posted by stooper:It's when you see something at an angle... Since the needle and the speedo readings are not flat, when you look at it from an angle, it might be a bit off...
no need a diagram.. i understand liao.. pai seh.. years nv touch books/science liao..Originally posted by Donavan:Simply, it means not reading a reading on the same plane as the indicator. In the case of a speedometer, you read PERPENDICULAR to the measuring apparatus. In other words, immediately above the reading. (Not vertically above, speedometer is slanted). To correct parallax error, what some instruments have is a mirror. If the needle is seen in the mirror, it shows that there is a parallax error because of the laws of reflection, blah, that I won't explain. I would need a diagram. If only I can upload a simple diagram,.