i'm talking about the turn from republic avenue, where even SDs struggle.Originally posted by The_Bus_Guide:If DD cannot climb Shears Bridge, then why are there DDs on 30?
That sound so much like our dear 16...Originally posted by sbst275:Maybe a service using Nicoll Highway, Mountbatten Rd?
More direct by using Nicoll Highway <-> Mountbatten Rd <-> Amber Rd <-> Marine Parade Rd...Originally posted by sBs_boy:That sound so much like our dear 16...
If the Leyland Atlantean on the old service 8 can do it, I don't see how these modern buses can't. Struggle is understooded la but can is still can, right?Originally posted by ^tamago^:i'm talking about the turn from republic avenue, where even SDs struggle.![]()
anything u say lor.Originally posted by The_Bus_Guide:If the Leyland Atlantean on the old service 8 can do it, I don't see how these modern buses can't. Struggle is understooded la but can is still can, right?
Yah... especially saturday and sunday nights, when everybody is heading home.... (There are many times where I can't board the bus at Suntec at these times...)Originally posted by SBS9889U:Sounds good, but this 36B should operate on weekends too.
If you people have doubts about DDs climbing slopes, I suggest you make a trip to Hong Kong and see for yourself how the various DDs climb slopes which are much steeper than the ECP entrance from Republic Ave... I have seen Atlanteans, LOs, VOs, Dennis Dragons, Dennis Tridents, etc climbing the notorious slopes of HK.Originally posted by The_Bus_Guide:If the Leyland Atlantean on the old service 8 can do it, I don't see how these modern buses can't. Struggle is understooded la but can is still can, right?
That's again a different stories,HK buses no speed limit lah brother,Not like MOST SBST buses,Speed limit like siaoOriginally posted by autumncs:If you people have doubts about DDs climbing slopes, I suggest you make a trip to Hong Kong and see for yourself how the various DDs climb slopes which are much steeper than the ECP entrance from Republic Ave... I have seen Atlanteans, LOs, VOs, Dennis Dragons, Dennis Tridents, etc climbing the notorious slopes of HK.
Better still, take a bus ride yourself and experience the climbing power of the DDs and the wonderful scenaries of HK. I recommend First Bus service 15 from Central to the Peak, and CityBus service 6 from Central to Stanley... Haha...![]()
Better feedback using more constructive comments to SBST,They listen more from commuters rather than their own staffsOriginally posted by autumncs:Yah... especially saturday and sunday nights, when everybody is heading home.... (There are many times where I can't board the bus at Suntec at these times...)
Does speed limit affect the climbing power of buses? Buses are unlikely to exceed speed limit when they climb upslope...Originally posted by carbikebus:That's again a different stories,HK buses no speed limit lah brother,Not like MOST SBST buses,Speed limit like siao![]()
Friday nights also. There was once during IMF around 10.30pm the 36 at marina sq there full house already then the BC turn into Temasek Ave there for fun onlyOriginally posted by autumncs:Yah... especially saturday and sunday nights, when everybody is heading home.... (There are many times where I can't board the bus at Suntec at these times...)
Start from Marine Parade Rd la...towards Orchard wad...Originally posted by carbikebus:My buddy is suggesting to SBST for back-up service for 36 preferably operates only on Weekdays Peak Hours ie 0730-0915/1630-1815
The number could be 36B Starts from Siglap Link Terminating at Tomlinson Rd for AM Peak,While PM Peak starts from Tomlinson Rd to Siglap Link.What's more this service got potential to use DDs What do you'll think?
You never know SBST Volvos,Some are not even reach 55 km/h and it affect the acceleration speed also,Some of the Volvos speedometers are not accurate at all!I suggest you take SBS904T and you will understand what i mean,Slow acceleration and worse the 60 km/h feels like 50 km/h onlyOriginally posted by autumncs:Does speed limit affect the climbing power of buses? Buses are unlikely to exceed speed limit when they climb upslope...![]()
Some svs they can't be botheredOriginally posted by carbikebus:Better feedback using more constructive comments to SBST,They listen more from commuters rather than their own staffs![]()
Bus too packed dun board?Originally posted by Acx1688:Interesting but during morning peak hrs, there's a sv3 X-over from Tampines Int in addition to SBS2721R n SBS2627E[i read fr oth posts] being added to sv36 fleet.
In the evenings, due to traffic congestion, there will be buses hiccups resulting in bus bunching occuring. I myself have witnessed passengers squeezed all the way to the door when the bus arrives at Mountbatten Rd b4 turning to Amber Rd. However, 3 - 6 minutes, there's another sv36 following but not so packed. Passengers should not board if it's too crowded.
In addition, if they are travelling from Suntec to Marine Parade, a suggestion would be to go to the Suntec bus stop at Nicoll Highway n take sv196.
sv196 fleet's strenghtened, more buses are deployed during evening peak.
For weekends, sv36 has 2 - 3 additonal buses added. it used to be SBS1771C & SBS1773Y but Striders/DM3500s are more often used.
The 2 bendies sold to New Zealand liao.Originally posted by payne:Last time SBS transit got 2 bendies, maybe can deploy to Sv 36 to solve the overcrowding condition.