For the underlined portion, if LTA is going to construct any new bus stops along the PIE, I will recommand to construct a bus stop between Adam road and Eng Neo turf Club road exits because of svc 52.Originally posted by wirelessed:Currently, the most efficient mode of transport between the extreme eastern and western parts of Singapore is by MRT.
However, the journey is very time-consuming with many stops in between. For example, travelling from Pasir Ris/Tampines to Jurong East/Boon Lay by MRT will take slightly more than an hour. Travelling from Punggol/Sengkang to Boon Lay takes close to an hour.
For Singaporeans working in the west, such as Tuas, Jurong Island, and the military and home team camps, travelling is a bore, taking up to 1.5 hours each trip, including Feeder Bus transfers to MRT and vice versa.
SBS Transit and SMRT should considering competing for bus routes serving between the west and the east/north-east of Singapore.
Currently, both bus companies have similar but diverse expressway routes serving Woodlands/Yishun and Tampines/Pasir Ris/Bedok, and also Woodlands/Yishun and Punggol/Sengkang/Hougang.
(e.g. 161, 168, 85, 39, 965, 969)
It will be beneficial to consumers if they extend this kind of competition for routes between Tampines/Sengkang and Choa Chu Kang, Jurong East and Boon Lay.
Also, LTA should also consider constructing a bus stop on the PIE between Stevens Road and Adam Road exits the easy for transfer of such buses and existing buses plying the expressway, such as 190, 960, 966 etc. With this bus stop, a passenger going from Choa Chu Kang will be able to have a smooth journey to Eunos/Marine Parade by 2 bus transfers, instead of multiple transfers from MRT and bus.
----
[this article was published in TODAY newspaper and sent to SBST and SMRT]
as usual, SBST replied with a standard email saying their current services such as 161, 168, 39 etc. are enough blah blah.
I wish there's a service 164 from Hougang - Sengkang - Choa Chu Kang via TPE/SLE/BKE/KJE...
Originally posted by toll123:[/b]
[b]I think there's a needs for direct bus services between CCK/BP and Sengkang/Punggol.
frm sengkang to boon lay is>1 hrOriginally posted by wirelessed:Currently, the most efficient mode of transport between the extreme eastern and western parts of Singapore is by MRT.
However, the journey is very time-consuming with many stops in between. For example, travelling from Pasir Ris/Tampines to Jurong East/Boon Lay by MRT will take slightly more than an hour. Travelling from Punggol/Sengkang to Boon Lay takes close to an hour.
For Singaporeans working in the west, such as Tuas, Jurong Island, and the military and home team camps, travelling is a bore, taking up to 1.5 hours each trip, including Feeder Bus transfers to MRT and vice versa.
SBS Transit and SMRT should considering competing for bus routes serving between the west and the east/north-east of Singapore.
Currently, both bus companies have similar but diverse expressway routes serving Woodlands/Yishun and Tampines/Pasir Ris/Bedok, and also Woodlands/Yishun and Punggol/Sengkang/Hougang.
(e.g. 161, 168, 85, 39, 965, 969)
It will be beneficial to consumers if they extend this kind of competition for routes between Tampines/Sengkang and Choa Chu Kang, Jurong East and Boon Lay.
Also, LTA should also consider constructing a bus stop on the PIE between Stevens Road and Adam Road exits for the easy transfer of such buses and existing buses plying the expressway, such as 190, 960, 966 etc. With this bus stop, a passenger going from Choa Chu Kang will be able to have a smooth journey to Eunos/Marine Parade by 2 bus transfers, instead of multiple transfers from MRT and bus.
----
[this article was published in TODAY newspaper and sent to SBST and SMRT]
as usual, SBST replied with a standard email saying their current services such as 161, 168, 39 etc. are enough blah blah.
I wish there's a service 164 from Hougang - Sengkang - Choa Chu Kang via TPE/SLE/BKE/KJE...
Haha... I support the idea. Perhaps travelling from Eunos to Clementi will be faster if I take 966 and transfer to 52 along PIE (and I don't need to squeeze on the MRT and stand all the way... Haha) Maybe it's also a good idea to have a bus stop along PIE somewhere between Jln Eunos and Aljunied Rd, since the area is densely populated and passengers can transfer between 23, 59, 506 and 966... (If there are bus stops along AYE and the central part of PIE, I don't see why LTA can't build new bus stops along the eastern and western parts of PIE...)Originally posted by tanjun:For the underlined portion, if LTA is going to construct any new bus stops along the PIE, I will recommand to construct a bus stop between Adam road and Eng Neo turf Club road exits because of svc 52.
Don;t worry bro,They have plans for more new services in future.Originally posted by autumncs:Well... SBST already introduced some new "expressway" services such as 52, 59, the FFW services, etc in the past one year, and I foresee they won't introduce more "expressway" services for the time being... If you ask them to introduce new service from east to west, they will probably tell you to make use of existing service... like taking 59 and then transfer to 52 at Bishan... You ask them for faster services, they will introduce "premium" services such as 506 and 30e to suck your money. Of course, bus companies can find many other excuses such as avoiding duplication of competitor's routes, not enough demand for such new services, the plan not approved by PTC, blah blah blah...
On the other hand, I really hope that KPE and the Bartley Road Extension will be opened asap... (According to initial plans, the whole Bartley Road Extension should be open by now, but unfortunately the contractor went "pok kai" halfway and the construction was delayed for several years and is still not complete yet... I'm getting sick of all the jams along PIE and the roads around Kaki Bukit/Eunos already...) Then I hope SBST can introduce new services that ply along KPE and Bartley Road Extension when these roads open.... (Better still, introduce a service from Tampines all the way to Bukit Timah via Bartley Road Extension, Bradell Road & Lornie Road...)
cool...do you have any insider info or rumour about it??Originally posted by carbikebus:Don;t worry bro,They have plans for more new services in future.
Nope but it's already very clear in future,Long haul services will ply expressways and there will be more feeder-style services.Don't forget CCL will at least kapo half of the present bus commutersOriginally posted by muziq bus:cool...do you have any insider info or rumour about it??
and sv.190, 700, 960, 966, 985Originally posted by tanjun:For the underlined portion, if LTA is going to construct any new bus stops along the PIE, I will recommand to construct a bus stop between Adam road and Eng Neo turf Club road exits because of svc 52.
kudos for e ideaOriginally posted by Yaimster:That is what they used now
SBST 39 - Yishun-Pasir Ris-Tampines
SMRT 969 - Woodlands-Yishun-Tampines
SBST 85 - Yishun-Sengkang-Punggol
SMRT 965 - Woodlands-Yishun-Sengkang
So ... the proposed route (if it's gonna come up, that is), will be ...
SBST - Punggol-Sengkang-CCK
SMRT - Panjang-CCK-Sengkang![]()
Some replies from SBST, SMRT, LTA found in newspapers why certain Expressway cannot has bus stop :Originally posted by autumncs:Haha... I support the idea. Perhaps travelling from Eunos to Clementi will be faster if I take 966 and transfer to 52 along PIE (and I don't need to squeeze on the MRT and stand all the way... Haha) Maybe it's also a good idea to have a bus stop along PIE somewhere between Jln Eunos and Aljunied Rd, since the area is densely populated and passengers can transfer between 23, 59, 506 and 966... (If there are bus stops along AYE and the central part of PIE, I don't see why LTA can't build new bus stops along the eastern and western parts of PIE...)
steady lah,but wads e durationOriginally posted by SBS9888Y:wad do you think about this
NEW Svc 175 From Boon Lay & Sengkang
(Svc 172 route)
Boon Lay Way - Boon Lay Int
Jalan Boon Lay
Jalan Bahar
Old Choa Chu Kang Road
Sungei Tengah Road
Bricklands Road
CCK Ave 3 (till Blk 410)
turn right to CCK Way (B06 to B02)
turn left to CCK Rd (B04, B02)
straight to bt panjang rd (B08 to B01)
turn left BKE (Johor)
Mandai Road
SLE (TPE)
TPE (PIE)
Jln Kayu (Seletar Camp Gate)
Sengkang East Road (B06)
Sengkang East Way (B09)
Senkang Sq (Sengkang Int)
passes by too few high density stops.. even if bus is 60mins frequency, also lose money.Originally posted by SBS9888Y:wad do you think about this
NEW Svc 175 From Boon Lay & Sengkang
(Svc 172 route)
Boon Lay Way - Boon Lay Int
Jalan Boon Lay
Jalan Bahar
Old Choa Chu Kang Road
Sungei Tengah Road
Bricklands Road
CCK Ave 3 (till Blk 410)
turn right to CCK Way (B06 to B02)
turn left to CCK Rd (B04, B02)
straight to bt panjang rd (B08 to B01)
turn left BKE (Johor)
Mandai Road
SLE (TPE)
TPE (PIE)
Jln Kayu (Seletar Camp Gate)
Sengkang East Road (B06)
Sengkang East Way (B09)
Senkang Sq (Sengkang Int)
nice why dun serve lor6 toa payohOriginally posted by swee_heng:What do you all think of this?
New SBST
Svc 116 Pasir Ris - Choa Chu Kang
Choa Chu Kang Loop
CCK Way (67 , 188's route)
Bt Batok Rd (160 , 180's route)
Jurong Town Hall Rd
Jurong East Ave 1
Toh Guan Rd
PIE
Clementi Ave 6
C'wealth Ave West
Clementi Rd