den spitting on the streets will become a national hobby.Originally posted by NUS_Superst@r:He saying must put all PAP MPs' names in the street name so that ppl will always remember PAP and its contributions.![]()
Originally posted by SBS2798U:How abt renaming Singapore Changi Airport to...
Singapore LKY International...
Lim Chu Kang = Lymz Chu Kang?Originally posted by tanjun:![]()
sounds impressive
can rename yio chu kang as yoz Chu Kang and Choa Chu Kang as Phua Chu Kang.

Just a qn, for the pics that you have shown, are they major roads or expressways? Didn't know there is a road called Tank Road in Singapore till some TV shows broadcast about it.Originally posted by NickL_C151:Confusing lah... Then they have to put up signs like these (pics from kennysia.com):
One road, two names. One new, one old. Kinda defeats the purpose of changing its name isn't it?
Then if got similar names:
Then we have to start remembering names using food:
Then we have names that are too long:
Haha... That is interesting...Originally posted by NickL_C151:Confusing lah... Then they have to put up signs like these (pics from kennysia.com):
One road, two names. One new, one old. Kinda defeats the purpose of changing its name isn't it?
Then if got similar names:
Then we have to start remembering names using food:
Then we have names that are too long:
this will only happeneed in taiwanOriginally posted by SBS2798U:How abt renaming Singapore Changi Airport to...
dun need so troublesome lah.. just rename singapore and LKY island lor, and everyplace in this island start with LKYOriginally posted by SBS2798U:How abt renaming Singapore Changi Airport to...
Oh that reminds me. Does anyone know why MRT rename its station numbering system? Is it because of NEL and the future CCL? Till now, I still can't remember the new numbering system for the different stations.Originally posted by autumncs:Haha... That is interesting...
If changing the name of one road is bad enough, imagine changing the names of almost every roads in a city... Such massive name-changing occured in history before, especially when a country is taken over by a new political party or when it gains independence. Examples include India (changing British names to Indian names) and Vietnam (changing French names to Vietnamese names). As for Singapore, we treasure our colonial heritage and we keep all the road names intact. (Dunno whether it's a good or bad thing. But at least it makes life easier for historians.)
I myself would be resistant to name changes... Several years after the MRT changed its station numbering system, I still have difficulty remembering the new numbering system... (I tend to think of Bedok as E8, AMK as N9, Boon Lay as W12, etc...)![]()
I would think that it was more because of the Changi Extension and the Dover Station.Originally posted by tanjun:Oh that reminds me. Does anyone know why MRT rename its station numbering system? Is it because of NEL and the future CCL? Till now, I still can't remember the new numbering system for the different stations.
Circle line is orange i think...Originally posted by NickL_C151:Also for future lines. Like last time NSL is red and yellow. Circle line how?