Price? If price was the case, there wouldn't be more MANs then Mercedes in Malaysia liao. Ya i also thought about reliability was the main prob, as well as parts. YEA! I love the sound of MAN buses! Especially the Causeway link's MAN 18.310! Their turbo and engine is PURE LOUDNESS! At the back of the bus, you can hear the engine roar very loud when the BC trottles the engine hard! Hmm Lion's city? Why not Lion city as well as Lion city T? And also, the name suits Singapore very well, since Singapore is also known as Lion city, right?Originally posted by The_Bus_Guide:The problem could be reliability. I heard from a Malaysian friend that the MAN buses couldn't cope in our hot tropical climate. Scania and Mercedes buses fare a lot better. Other problems could be the price, the availabilty of parts and the ease of maintenance, which may not be as good as the other marques. But I like MAN buses because they have the guts. It's like a Scania but a lot more noisier. If our operators are planning to buy MAN, make it the Lion's City. This bus is way cool and its name kinda relfects our country too.
Then if MAN buses cant cope with our tropical climate , why do we have them for Causeway Link & SJE?Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:Price? If price was the case, there wouldn't be more MANs then Mercedes in Malaysia liao. Ya i also thought about reliability was the main prob, as well as parts. YEA! I love the sound of MAN buses! Especially the Causeway link's MAN 18.310! Their turbo and engine is PURE LOUDNESS! At the back of the bus, you can hear the engine roar very loud when the BC trottles the engine hard! Hmm Lion's city? Why not Lion city as well as Lion city T? And also, the name suits Singapore very well, since Singapore is also known as Lion city, right?![]()
And i didn't see a MAN break down before, tho it might have happened before.Originally posted by swee_heng:Then if MAN buses cant cope with our tropical climate , why do we have them for Causeway Link & SJE?
CW2 (MAN) brokedown on BKE (towards PIE) after Dairy Farm exit on 18/12/06 morning..Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:And i didn't see a MAN break down before, tho it might have happened before.Frankly speaking, MAN products are very reliable, not sure about their buses, but their trucks are reliable and it even won "Truck of the Year". Since their trucks do well, their buses should have no reason to be unreliable.
So the only reason left that MAN buses weren't introduced on our roads is that parts for MAN are hard to find. But strangly enough, i saw a MAN warehouse/shed as i was travelling along AYE. So what is the problem actually?
That's the shed for Army MAN truck.Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:And i didn't see a MAN break down before, tho it might have happened before.Frankly speaking, MAN products are very reliable, not sure about their buses, but their trucks are reliable and it even won "Truck of the Year". Since their trucks do well, their buses should have no reason to be unreliable.
So the only reason left that MAN buses weren't introduced on our roads is that parts for MAN are hard to find. But strangly enough, i saw a MAN warehouse/shed as i was travelling along AYE. So what is the problem actually?
SG bus operators uses Scanias for Malaysia trips. Wonder why there are so many Scanias? I estimated that 65% of the coaches were Scanias. Mostly were Scania 360/380(Normal coaches and semi-deckers),310/340(normal coaches) and 420(double decker coaches). MAN chassis were most common with Grassland.SG operators uses ISUZU, Mitsubishi,Hino and Volvo(B7R) for revunue services.Originally posted by XTransbus:there aren't many MAN buses around. The only few are from Causewaylink(CW). Operators usually prefer using MAN as coaches. This is becoming a trend in Malaysia. MAN chassis is slowly overtaking Hino chassis in bus coaches because MAN has a European style compared to hino which is japanese style. Only a few operators who stick with hino esp. SG-malacca express. I dunno why sg bus operators don't use MAN. Maybe they are too powerful. Volvo and mercedes in other hand, is usually favored by most operators around the world to be used as city buses.
Because Malaysia have only B7R,No B12B/M.Only 7.3litres where got kick chiong on expressways compared to 10litres above.Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:SG bus operators uses Scanias for Malaysia trips. Wonder why there are so many Scanias? I estimated that 65% of the coaches were Scanias. Mostly were Scania 360/380(Normal coaches and semi-deckers),310/340(normal coaches) and 420(double decker coaches). MAN chassis were most common with Grassland.SG operators uses ISUZU, Mitsubishi,Hino and Volvo(B7R) for revunue services.As for coaches, i dunno why there are so few Volvo in use in Malaysia as coaches. Anyone know why is that?
What about SG? We have B12B/M offered here, why doesn't operators choose them?Originally posted by carbikebus:Because Malaysia have only B7R,No B12B/M.Only 7.3litres where got kick chiong on expressways compared to 10litres above.
Well, doesn't MAN have a plant in MY? I believe the RapidKL MAN 18.250s were built locally. Surely those were adapted for the local climate.Originally posted by The_Bus_Guide:The problem could be reliability. I heard from a Malaysian friend that the MAN buses couldn't cope in our hot tropical climate. Scania and Mercedes buses fare a lot better. Other problems could be the price, the availabilty of parts and the ease of maintenance, which may not be as good as the other marques. But I like MAN buses because they have the guts. It's like a Scania but a lot more noisier. If our operators are planning to buy MAN, make it the Lion's City. This bus is way cool and its name kinda relfects our country too.
But i spotted one Scania on the Genting route, think is KL-Genting express?Citybus btw. Think the MAN 18.250 is built locally, there isn't a MAN 18. series that has an engine output of 250bhp on the MAN International website.Really hope SG will get some MAN buses in the future, hopefully is the the MAN 18.310, the engine is very loud and cool!!!Originally posted by iveco:Well, doesn't MAN have a plant in MY? I believe the RapidKL MAN 18.250s were built locally. Surely those were adapted for the local climate.
Scanias are rare on citybus routes in MY. Usually it is the Hinos, UDs and OH series Mercs.
some of the operators uses Hino. FYI, Grassland has a 100% MAN bus fleet. Delima express has a big fleet of B7R. Don't underestimate this chassis, because although it has small engine capacity, this one can easily reach 110kmh. I must say, when the bus accelerates, it does produce a nice sound. There are so many scanias because most probably they are slightly cheaper and easier to maintain. There are few volvos around because most operators would look for something cheaper and get those Hino(s). If you wanna get the B7R, you can either try Delima express, Transnational, KKKL or Konsortium express.Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:SG bus operators uses Scanias for Malaysia trips. Wonder why there are so many Scanias? I estimated that 65% of the coaches were Scanias. Mostly were Scania 360/380(Normal coaches and semi-deckers),310/340(normal coaches) and 420(double decker coaches). MAN chassis were most common with Grassland.SG operators uses ISUZU, Mitsubishi,Hino and Volvo(B7R) for revunue services.As for coaches, i dunno why there are so few Volvo in use in Malaysia as coaches. Anyone know why is that?
U forgot about Comfort's Superliner. I just love the acceleration of the B7Rs, especially its engine noise, but is the rattling as worse as the B7RLEs in Sentosa? I also love the Scanias, especially the unique "tsst tsst tsssst" sound when it shifts gear, maybe because of the Hydraulic/Pneumatic clutch.Originally posted by XTransbus:some of the operators uses Hino. FYI, Grassland has a 100% MAN bus fleet. Delima express has a big fleet of B7R. Don't underestimate this chassis, because although it has small engine capacity, this one can easily reach 110kmh. I must say, when the bus accelerates, it does produce a nice sound. There are so many scanias because most probably they are slightly cheaper and easier to maintain. There are few volvos around because most operators would look for something cheaper and get those Hino(s). If you wanna get the B7R, you can either try Delima express, Transnational, KKKL or Konsortium express.
wat about 707??Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:U forgot about Comfort's Superliner. I just love the acceleration of the B7Rs, especially its engine noise, but is the rattling as worse as the B7RLEs in Sentosa? I also love the Scanias, especially the unique "tsst tsst tsssst" sound when it shifts gear, maybe because of the Hydraulic/Pneumatic clutch.
707 got B7Rs arh? Dont know leh. 707 i think got Scanias. I took a MAN bus while on 707.Originally posted by manjieass:wat about 707??
took a few times.. unknown Merc..
took konsortium express.. was on UD..
The cost and fuel consumption deter our operators from buying it.Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:What about SG? We have B12B/M offered here, why doesn't operators choose them?
Think is acceleration. Top speed almost all the same one. Wah seh fuel consumption. Volvo claim that its new engine is fuel saving, so its all crap n rubbish !Originally posted by carbikebus:The cost and fuel consumption deter our operators from buying it.
I never mention that B7R cannot run but compared 7.3litre 120km/h & 12litre 120km/h got difference?
dun think 707 got B7R. No the rattling is not as worse at the sentosa ones, they are more smooth and quieter on the highways. Konsortium has a mix of buses so if you're lucky you'll get a volvo. i've got once with a VinStar body. Very siok. Rain also no leak and very silent.Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:707 got B7Rs arh? Dont know leh. 707 i think got Scanias. I took a MAN bus while on 707.BUT HOR! Lao jui one. Last time at KL heavy rain then air-con very cold. Sit halfway got water COMING OUT, not dripping, is lyk pouring. Then awhile later both side also leaking water! KNN!
hmm, sope european truckers say that volvo trucks have the worst fuel economy(scania biased) but i don't know how true this is. Scania is the world third largest truck and bus manufacturer while volvo is the second if i'm not wrong. Volvo should cost more than scania but cheaper than mercsOriginally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:Think is acceleration. Top speed almost all the same one. Wah seh fuel consumption. Volvo claim that its new engine is fuel saving, so its all crap n rubbish !Cost, erm it cost more than Scanias arh?
Zhun bo? I dot Scanias more ex than Mercs? U say Scania biased. What u mean? U mean Scania's got good fuel economy?Originally posted by XTransbus:hmm, sope european truckers say that volvo trucks have the worst fuel economy(scania biased) but i don't know how true this is. Scania is the world third largest truck and bus manufacturer while volvo is the second if i'm not wrong. Volvo should cost more than scania but cheaper than mercs