even the extension of lifespan of Mk II and Scania's also need clearance from LTA through PTC.Originally posted by iveco:Apparently they needed special clearance from LTA to do so. Can anyone verify that?
Go Wikipedia and see.Originally posted by XiaoTaro:Firstly, BlueTec is the same thing as AdBlue Selective Catalytic Reduction.
And, OC500LE chassis do not currently support such engine/exhaust additives to ensure compliancy with EuroIV. The only OC500LE/LF with EuroIV is their CNG counterparts, not the diesel ones. (Please kindly correct me with a source if i am incorrect)
Also, SMRT may also be interested with OC500LFs, which is derived from the Citaro, it is a modular chassis, but different from OC500LE because it is true Low Floor, from the entrance all the way to the back of the vehicle(similar to Citaro). However, OC500LEs is not truely low floor as there is a step after the rear exit, similar to SBST's B10BLE CNGs.
there is no OC500RF, its O.500RF, as shown by examples in Australia.Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:Yea. OC500LE whereas the LE stands for Low Entry, whereas OC500LF stands for OC500, Low Floor. I only know about the OC500RF (raised floor), which is featured on SG's website of Mercedes Benz.
Erh, think K270UB is better leis. 310bhp is like too powerful for a 12m SD bus. 310bhp is more suitable for the bendy buses.Originally posted by Scania:Go Wikipedia and see.
Scania with the new exhaust system means the engines lags, buying a K310UB is better than buying a K230UB.
Originally posted by Scania:there is no OC500RF, its O.500RF, as shown by examples in Australia.
Why are you all saying SMRT is cash strapped? Have you any idea how much profit they posted in FY2006 for the year ended 31 March? Its profit after tax is S$103 million!Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:And also, it will help cash strap companies like SMRT to save extra costs on such additives.![]()
Erh you forgot about the money spent on the retrofitting of the trains, which cost about 100million i guess? Cant remember the cost.Originally posted by The_Bus_Guide:Why are you all saying SMRT is cash strapped? Have you any idea how much profit they posted in FY2006 for the year ended 31 March? Its profit after tax is S$103 million!
And/or even Scania K230UB or K270UB or even K380EB or K124IBOriginally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:Erh you forgot about the money spent on the retrofitting of the trains, which cost about 100million i guess? Cant remember the cost.
And since you said SMRT isn't cash strapped, SMRT might buy Mercedes buses such as Citaros, OC500LE or the OC500LF.
lol The K124IB will be taken by SBST lah. DD mah.Originally posted by swee_heng:And/or even Scania K230UB or K270UB or even K380EB or K124IB![]()
SMRt aren't cash-strapped. They are cheapskate.Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:And since you said SMRT isn't cash strapped, SMRT might buy Mercedes buses such as Citaros, OC500LE or the OC500LF.
So much profits, and still raise fares? They sure know how to make money.Originally posted by The_Bus_Guide:The refurbishment cost $142 million. The fact is that SMRT is not in the red so it is not cash strapped. Now, we are nearing the end of another financial year. Do you not think that SMRT has amassed a simlar profit margin by now, as they had for the past years? And it wasn't me who say this. It was extracted from their annual report which is conveniently available online.
Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:iShift can be very useful especially if you drive trucks. i don't think that SMRT or SBST needs iShift since Sg does not have much hilly roads. iShift is basically for climbing up hills frm 1st gear and up to 10 maybe because 12 can run very fast
The bus will be crushed like the long milo tin can.
And [b]MitEvolution, Scania's semi-auto trans is OptiCruise i think, whereas Volvo's is iShift. Dont think semi-auto will be used in city buses, cause its 12-speed in both transmission. 6-speed is already like more than enough, let alone 12-speed.12-SPEED! Keep on upshifting and downshifting all the time!
Yes, that's why Scania's slogan is "Just add Diesel!" . When using Scania's EGR technology, you dont need any additives for the engine to be EuroIV compliant, unlike Mercedes Benz, which uses BlueTec to be EuroIV. So without the use of any additives, extra cost are cut and money is saved.
I still think Scania's the best option. Reason? Its cheaper than Volvo and Merc. Its cheaper yet it lasts longer. Its cheaper yet it doesn't use any additives to be EuroIV.The only bad thing about the K230 is its minute engine. Produces only 230bhp, but a healthy 1050nm(or is it 1025nm? cant rmbr clearly.
) But still, the torque is enough to push a fully packed Scania.
Also if introduced on SG roads, it will be the only city bus to have a 5 cylinder engine.
ur headOriginally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:lol The K124IB will be taken by SBST lah. DD mah.![]()
yeah..Originally posted by ^tamago^:So much profits, and still raise fares? They sure know how to make money.![]()
K124IB standard aint a low floor chassis.Originally posted by swee_heng:ur headScania K124IB do have SD go & see WTS & some SD coaches they have SD K124IB , SJE are one of te examples
Yes! And I thought that should be the most basic thing to do.Originally posted by sbst275:yeah..
Things spoil also dun want to spend $$ to maintain, rather bother with crap like Credit card tie up or lucky draw
J-bus or Scania ! No chinese bus please, altho using my favourite engine brand Cummins, cause suspension is going to suck.Originally posted by carbikebus:Rumours i heard>New Chinese low floor buses suspected using Euro IV Cummins engine,Another is J-Bus Low floor and last is the Scania K230UB
No lah. They spend on the stupid interior EDS system for next bus stop, which are completely useless i think. Till now since its installed, i've never used it or look ed at it. And i bet other people also seldom use it.Originally posted by sbst275:yeah..
Things spoil also dun want to spend $$ to maintain, rather bother with crap like Credit card tie up or lucky draw
They can use bodywork with low floor wan wat , or modify lor. SMRT will buy K124IB or K380EB to show off to SBST's B9s as K380EB is powerfulOriginally posted by Scania:K124IB standard aint a low floor chassis.