Im not sure. Dunno if K95 is newer or the K230s. My guess is the K230s. They are only being introduced here in SG in Oct last year. Quite new. Want to see K230 with Habit body! And with the classic Scania wheelsOriginally posted by iveco:Aren't the K230s 5th gen Scania buses?
K95=K230, 270, 310Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:Im not sure. Dunno if K95 is newer or the K230s. My guess is the K230s. They are only being introduced here in SG in Oct last year. Quite new. Want to see K230 with Habit body! And with the classic Scania wheels![]()
You dont like the Habit bodywork? Why Urgh? Tho Habit is nice, i prefer the UK's Wright bodywork, its really nice. Habit is really nice, but its expensive. From what i know, most of the costs goes to the designer, Pininfarina.Originally posted by Scania:K95=K230, 270, 310
Basically the same thing, though Scania designation is the K230, 310 etc.
Habit? Urgh.
Look at my post for the wheel thing.
why not get K124IB , K340IB or K380EB? These are nice buses.Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:Erh i thought K95 is not EuroIV compliant? Why not K230/270/310 with Habit body?![]()
K124IB is 3 axle right? Cant remember. K340IB should fit the bill.Originally posted by swee_heng:why not get K124IB , K340IB or K380EB? These are nice buses.![]()
I have seen pictures of L94s with Habit body. Wished that Tibs could have brought them in last time.Originally posted by Scania:K95=K230, 270, 310
Basically the same thing, though Scania designation is the K230, 310 etc.
Habit? Urgh.
Look at my post for the wheel thing.
K124IB has 2 and 3 axle options. I don't think there is a 340hp engine for buses from Scania.Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:K124IB is 3 axle right? Cant remember. K340IB should fit the bill.K380EB abit too powerful liao.
Yes there is. I saw a Scania 340 coach at Malaysia.Originally posted by Scania:K124IB has 2 and 3 axle options. I don't think there is a 340hp engine for buses from Scania.
on top got cover leh..Originally posted by STUU:rain den how?
K124IB do have 2 axles. Well If buy K380EB is too powerful its good , at least it can run well on expressway with good speed. If I'm SMRT i'd buy K380EB & have new manual busesOriginally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:K124IB is 3 axle right? Cant remember. K340IB should fit the bill.K380EB abit too powerful liao.
manual?? siao.. if traffic jam i wish the BC good luck..Originally posted by swee_heng:K124IB do have 2 axles. Well If buy K380EB is too powerful its good , at least it can run well on expressway with good speed. If I'm SMRT i'd buy K380EB & have new manual buses
why? what is no good? most buses in singapore are manual ones wat besides , auto ones may be dangerous when raining.Originally posted by manjieass:manual?? siao.. if traffic jam i wish the BC good luck..
and btw, is there a regulation that PSVs needs to be automatic transmitioned??
Ya. Deploy those few K380EB on 190 for short working trips between CCK and Bras basah. Btw i would make it a semi-decker, similar to those two axle coaches in MSia, but instead of it being luxurious like those in M'sia, it will have more seats and regular bucket seats or school bus seats. Surely with its 380bhp engine, it can still speed given the load?Originally posted by swee_heng:K124IB do have 2 axles. Well If buy K380EB is too powerful its good , at least it can run well on expressway with good speed. If I'm SMRT i'd buy K380EB & have new manual buses
ya. can deploy on 960 , 965 & 969. Hope for an Sd with SC Auto bodywork Sc K380EB. Then with that sound it will look more like a coach , just like K124IBOriginally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:Ya. Deploy those few K380EB on 190 for short working trips between CCK and Bras basah. Btw i would make it a semi-decker, similar to those two axle coaches in MSia, but instead of it being luxurious like those in M'sia, it will have more seats and regular bucket seats or school bus seats. Surely with its 380bhp engine, it can still speed given the load?If you dont want a semi-decker, a smilar configuration to the Causeway Link MAN 18.310 will do. Infact, i love Scania Manual, especially the "tskk tsssk tssk" sound (dont know where that sound came from, probably is the Hydraulic/Pneumatic clutch).
And if its true, the trip would be:
Start from CCK-->along the same route of 190 and will call on all the stops at BP covered by 190-----> bus will only stop at Tangs shopping bus stop as well as Far East stop------> Plaza Sing stop------->loop or u turn at Bras basah----->then the way back.
Manual buses are only useful for short working trips. Because if the bus stops and go as frequent as the city buses, the clutch would have worn out very quickly, which also explains why some garbage trucks that collects waste from HDB blocks had auto gearboxes, because it also had to stop very frequently. An auto gearbox eliminates such clutch probs.
Erh how can u brake the bus when u are accelerating? Start and want stop the bus??Originally posted by swee_heng:ya. can deploy on 960 , 965 & 969. Hope for an Sd with SC Auto bodywork Sc K380EB. Then with that sound it will look more like a coach , just like K124IBat least these new Scanias will take over those UDs. That sound usually comes from the brakes
oic. lets hope that SMRT will buy K124IB with Wheel Chair Accessible bodywork , i really like the quiet & smooth engine & the clutch of these K124IB & hope that these K124IBs will be deployed on services like 171 , 188 , 190 , 960 , 965 , 969 & 985 or even on some services which used UD CACs , then let these Uds do feeders like 922.Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:Erh how can u brake the bus when u are accelerating? Start and want stop the bus??Actually i heard this sound when it shifts gear. Last time at Thailand, i took a Volvo B10B and when the BC steps on the clutch pedal, a airish "shhhsh" sound is heard.
965 dont think so. Alot of stops, not useful for manual buses, will wear out the clutch quickly. 171 and 969 very possible, both have few stops in some places and their routes are rather long and straight, 969 got go on expressways somemore. 188 and 190 also can. As for 960, the route would have to be amended to serve more passengers (not for the service lah, for the K124IBs oneOriginally posted by swee_heng:oic. lets hope that SMRT will buy K124IB with Wheel Chair Accessible bodywork , i really like the quiet & smooth engine & the clutch of these K124IB & hope that these K124IBs will be deployed on services like 171 , 188 , 190 , 960 , 965 , 969 & 985 or even on some services which used UD CACs , then let these Uds do feeders like 922.
If some low floor bus some high floor bus and some empty bus stop how to? not feasible lah. You do Primary, secondary, poly, JC, university project, the teachers all say feasibility is most importantOriginally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:965 dont think so. Alot of stops, not useful for manual buses, will wear out the clutch quickly. 171 and 969 very possible, both have few stops in some places and their routes are rather long and straight, 969 got go on expressways somemore. 188 and 190 also can. As for 960, the route would have to be amended to serve more passengers (not for the service lah, for the K124IBs one) .
Why not buy the 3 axle-ed K124IB? Instead of making it 12m DD, make it 15m, like the B10M long.
Actually, high floored buses CAN BE WAB. Some modifications had to be done at the busstop. For example, in the US, busstops have elevated platforms, so that the platform height is the same as the bus platform's height. Then a ramp is linked from the bus stop to the bus. Seen some pics with such configurations, but its on trial only.![]()
For goodness sake, why buy IB when its not for Intercity (thats its main purspose) or tourist use, KXXXIB buses usually are semi auto or manual.Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:965 dont think so. Alot of stops, not useful for manual buses, will wear out the clutch quickly. 171 and 969 very possible, both have few stops in some places and their routes are rather long and straight, 969 got go on expressways somemore. 188 and 190 also can. As for 960, the route would have to be amended to serve more passengers (not for the service lah, for the K124IBs one) .
Why not buy the 3 axle-ed K124IB? Instead of making it 12m DD, make it 15m, like the B10M long.
Actually, high floored buses CAN BE WAB. Some modifications had to be done at the busstop. For example, in the US, busstops have elevated platforms, so that the platform height is the same as the bus platform's height. Then a ramp is linked from the bus stop to the bus. Seen some pics with such configurations, but its on trial only.![]()
!!??Originally posted by Scania:For goodness sake, why buy IB when its not for Intercity (thats its main purspose) or tourist use, KXXXIB buses usually are semi auto or manual.
Making it wheelchair friendy is difficult, you can add a lift to the bus, but that would cost much more money than a ramp and also it takes more time than a ramp.
i've seen at at the JB customs for a few times, but missed the Rego. Looks like a Mitusbishi to me.Originally posted by sinicker:SD open top?
pics?
saw this single deck open top bus at Kranji Rd this afternoon.Originally posted by sinicker:SD open top?
pics?
isit a Mitusbishi?Originally posted by lemon1974:saw this single deck open top bus at Kranji Rd this afternoon.
it was inside a garage together with the double deck open top bus, undergoing some maintenance work.
look like an ordinary single deck coach, just that it is same concept as that double deck open top bus..