sorry la haha, still having the habit of calling it TIBSOriginally posted by Volvo Olympian:Oh , its the DNR Button = Drive , Neutral and Reverse. And its not something about the gears i guess.
And pls , its SMRT Buses , not TIBS
Originally posted by collinnxk88:D, N, R just determines the forward, neutral and reverse magnitude of the bus. all public buses are AUTO. as it facilitates the use of the one-man-operated ticketing and fare system. [from coinbox with tickets only to magnetic farecard with ticket to the present ezlink]
Oh, so these buses are auto,Originally posted by SBS9888Y:all SBST & SMRT buses are like that... but they do change gears... automatically without gearstick... some SBST buses (esp MB0405) have 1, 2, 3, N, R... 3 is D
Cannot be leh, it look like a gear handle that can move back and forth only.Originally posted by sinicker:handbrake like a car?
That's handbrake.Originally posted by sand king:Cannot be leh, it look like a gear handle that can move back and forth only.
so odd one? no button to press to unlock it?Originally posted by SBS 233 X:That's handbrake.![]()
Originally posted by Raraken:Too much cars for you.........better give prescription............Please abstain from looking at too much cars and eat this every time you look at a car.It helps you learn more about buses. I give you MC for 2 days,go travel on more buses.
For most buses, you have to slightly pull the park brake handle back and release it to the front. There's no button for release.Originally posted by sand king:so odd one? no button to press to unlock it?
i see i see. But why do public transports dont use manual? now most of them change to auto ect taxis and bus.Originally posted by off_service:For most buses, you have to slightly pull the park brake handle back and release it to the front. There's no button for release.
they use to have manual , that was in the 70's , where some of the SBS Buses use manual , correct me if im wrong.Originally posted by sand king:i see i see. But why do public transports dont use manual? now most of them change to auto ect taxis and bus.
Yes, the single deck buses in 70s and early 80s are manual.Originally posted by Volvo Olympian:they use to have manual , that was in the 70's , where some of the SBS Buses use manual , correct me if im wrong.
FYI, some garbage trucks also uses auto gearboxes.Originally posted by sand king:i see i see. But why do public transports dont use manual? now most of them change to auto ect taxis and bus.
Actually, all the SBST Mercs with Merc gearbox are 1,2,3,N,R.Originally posted by SBS9888Y:all SBST & SMRT buses are like that... but they do change gears... automatically with gearbox without gearstick... some SBST buses (esp MB0405) have 1, 2, 3, N, R... 3 is D
Bus handbrake use air lah, not like car use a mechanical form.Originally posted by sand king:so odd one? no button to press to unlock it?
Yah... When the BC starts the bus for the first time in the day, he has to step on the accelerator to build up the air pressure in the air tank. (The air pump is connected to the engine.) When the bus brakes, part of the air is used to brake the bus. When the bus runs, the air tank is replenished again because of the running engine.Originally posted by stooper:Bus handbrake use air lah, not like car use a mechanical form.
You mean pneumatic. I see so they want to save $$ on replacing worn out gearboxes so they got the alternative.Originally posted by stooper:Bus handbrake use air lah, not like car use a mechanical form.
Is the those ONXY ones??Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:FYI, some garbage trucks also uses auto gearboxes.![]()
.Originally posted by sand king:Is the those ONXY ones??
ONYX Scania dont think so. Saw one white ONYX Scania, but can hear is manual gearbox leh, not too sure. Actually most Sembcorp garbage trucks have autos, except for those ro-ro trucks that uses portable containers(i call them PAL-Lift trucks because of the brand of the ro-ro system.), which uses manual. Those that goes under HDB blocks to collect refuse are autos.Originally posted by sand king:Is the those ONXY ones??
Those scooters?Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:ONYX Scania dont think so. Saw one white ONYX Scania, but can hear is manual gearbox leh, not too sure. Actually most Sembcorp garbage trucks have autos, except for those ro-ro trucks that uses portable containers(i call them PAL-Lift trucks because of the brand of the ro-ro system.), which uses manual. Those that goes under HDB blocks to collect refuse are autos.![]()