MS, I think it is you who needs to do the acknowledging here.Originally posted by MS:I know you're unhappy. But you forgot to acknowledge that students bus fare is not an entitlement. It is subsidised because the transport companies want to help those who're in need.
You have to acknowledge that if one day the companies decided to withdraw this previledge & make everyone pay adult fare you still have to pay it.
I apologise for the following brutal fact which may sound offensive but I'm trying to explain in to reality... "If you're not happy then get yourself your own transport or walk."
BTW, if you think that this is a real problem, write in properly and be focus on your objective and avoid unnecessary offensive remarks. Because when you behave like a gentleman, you'll realise that things move faster.
I wish you all the best.
THANKS. I hope everyone else take note. As for me, I don't use easy link card for taking buses. It is cheaper to pay cash.Originally posted by UnLeAsH_cHa0s:SO NEXT TIME U TAKE BUS, UR CARD SOMEHOW GOT SOME IDIOTIC ERROR N THE DVR INSIST ON TAKING UR CARD 4 WATEVER REASON, DONT GIVE HIM!!! KEEP UR CARD N TRY 2 VERIFY WIF TICKETING OFFICE OR WATEVER JUS DONT GIVE HIM THE CARD. I HAVE VERIFIED THIS WIF A LOT OF OTHER BUS DVRS N THEY HAVE COMFIRMED THAT EXPIRED CARDS R NOT 2 B CONFISCATED INSTEAD RETURNED TO THE OWNER.
i totally agree with you..Originally posted by gohby:I feel very disgusted with the belligerent replies with this thread, which are obviously are unbalanced, reeks of intolerance and uninformative. So I am going to air my views.
First and foremost, to the threadstarter.
I am sorry to hear your side of the coin. It is indeed a very nasty experience, which affected you adversely in terms of your mood, etc. Nonetheless, I encourage you to fight for your own rights! If you feel the need to, I would support you to complain to authorities! However, do note that when you are complaining, please do not be overly opinionated, emotionally-swayed. Be objective. Be clear of what you want to say. Try to type the letter as maturely as possible. That would help you in achieving your objective.
As for you trying to get back your money, apart from wishing you the best of luck, i would advise you to be FIRM, explain explicitly what happened, and why you would want a refund (based on your reasons). If they give you some half-hearted reply, complain to their manager. So long as your story is true, reason is on your side. So you got to fight for such an unjustified injustice which was done to you!
Best of luck!
Secondly, to MS.
First and foremost, I understand that you are working in SBS Transit. Henceforth, it would be understandable that you would be speaking for SBS Transit. And so, as a result, your views on certain issues may be one-sided. So far, after looking through your comments, I have to agree that even though they are not emotive, they are unbalanced. But I do understand your position and your limitations.
Secondly, I am quite put off by the phrase "student fare is not an entiltlement" and "You have to acknowledge that if one day the companies decided to withdraw this privilege & make everyone pay adult fare you still have to pay it. " Such statements reflect very badly on SBS Transit.
The reason why there is concession pass is to make travelling more affordable for students, who are not financially stable. You may like to argue that SBS Transit is a private company and so all rights are reserved, etc etc etc. However, you fail to understand that the primary priority of a bus company is to transport commuters from one place to another, not to earn big bucks. Your statements are suggestive that the bus company is king, which is entirely not true. For your information, where does the bus company gather its profits from? The commuters. If there are no commuters, would you be needed? Would the buses be needed? NO. Right, so please donÂ’t say until SBS Transit is being so benevolent by giving concessions, etc. Try withdrawing the concession and see how the society would react. Do not undermine society pressure.
You may also like to face the brutal truth that if the commuters are not happy, and should they boycott public transport as a result, your rice-bowl would be smashed. Same goes for the bus company itself. If the bus company doesnÂ’t want to give bus concession, they can just withdraw it, just see what the commuters can do. Thus, I would advise to rephrase your phrases!
Now to SBS_Boy
I think the one to be blamed here is you. It may sound uncouth, but shame on you for lack of empathy and understanding towards others! You commented that “For your OWN infomatin if you do not know, most cases, corrupted cards are cause by the user itself..”. Okay, this is true. But please, what about the other cases which are not in the “most cases”? Who is the one to be held accountable for the corrupted cards? Commuters? Tsk. Tsk. And I would suggest that you ought to rephrase your sentence, because you could had easily omitted out certain words, such as “For your OWN informatin*” which would made other people think that you are giving a lecture. You just conveniently avoided the fact that the poor thread starter is currently facing with such an unpleasant incident, and that he had to pay adult fare, even though he was given the concession, and yet just go on with your preaching. JEEZ. Have you ever thought of the thread starter point of view before you start your lecture? The anxiety of going everywhere without an ez link card, the trouble he/she has encountered just to get back his card, the amount of time spent in trying to get his card back, his feelings? No, you didn’t. So there.
I am sorry if I had inadvertently hurt people in the process of commenting, but I feel that the comments which you’ve made would be very hurting to the thread starter. On a side note, I feel that the bus drivers should be more professional in handling such cases in the future. Looking at the current situation, I am not very pleased at how bus drivers handle such cases. The bus driver should CONVINCE the passenger to hand over the card, and not to “trick” or lure , be it directly or indirectly, the passenger to hand over the ez link card. It is extremely infuriating and is being seen as a barbaric act. Furthermore, it is definitely not going to a pleasant experience for passenger, the bus driver and the bus company. So I hope the bus company could come up with alternative methods to eradicate (or lessen) such incidents from happening again in the future.
Thank you for reading my point of view. =)
MS,I suggest that you don't bother to reply of what they said,The more words you say,The more flaming will come.Afterall we public service provider always in the loosing sides in most stereotype public viewsOriginally posted by MS:Yes definately SBS still has quite a way to go towards true qualilty service otherwise I wouldn't be slogging my way to ensure as much as possible the best goes to the road with reasonable budget. In my view, the true quality workshop service is zero breakdown stats yet I still don't burst budget. But I am not God, so I will never be able to be perfect. Neither can my colleagues.
However you cannot deny that every single day there're people who're doing their very best to bring out the best service to the public.
Likewise, when I went to Autofrance, I respect the sales rep and only make reasonable demands for freebies. So that I balance the income of Autofrance at the same time justify the money I pay. You'd not be surprised. If you respect the service provider, the service provider will be so obligated to serve you better.
Or when I called Mcdonald's for an order, I'd greet the person who picked up the phone "Hi good evening." The person over the end of the line hurriedly greet back and was extremely courteous throughout the entire transaction.
The bottomline is fairness & respect. If the bugger who served you gave you rubbish when you showed him respect, you have a clear conscious when you feedbacked his poor service to his boss to ask for compensation.
A good deal does not need to be a deal where you get the best and everything. A good deal is a fair deal whereby needs are met at both ends with no one abusing any of the loopholes. This applies to all the customer service oriented industries inclusive of the concession fares issue.
I hope you understand.
its uselessOriginally posted by Ito_^:
so...Originally posted by ^tamago^:next time dun support SBS liao.
either you walk home, if not take taxi or you work your way to owning a car and drive to sch (if you're above 18 and has the capital to do so la)Originally posted by asdfzhao:so...
u gonna walk home/ school/ work everyday?
Did you see the rego?Originally posted by UnLeAsH_cHa0s:1st of all guys the all caps title is bcos i m really super pissed wif wats my situation, so no offence 2 any1. jus needed 2 made this known to other ppl 2 prevent them from suffering like me.
a few days ago i was boarded bus 65 at bendemeer rd goin towards orchard direction. when i tap my ezlink card, there is this error sound (u all should know wat i mean), n the idiot reader showed "CARD EXPIRED". so i tout mayb got some prob n i used my Adult ezlink card. i moved to the back of bus. The dvr called me to go n tap my student card again. thinkin that he may wanna help me i passed my card to him w/o hesitation. WTF he took my card, say my card expired n he insist on keeping my card, saying its some crap company policy. wa i damn DL la, but he driving so i LL stay calm. i showed him my receipt which i bought my bus cencession, its obviously JUNE 2008, n he say he hav 2 keep the card, den jus slot it into his pocket, n gimme some kuku receipt. i told him it gonna b some system error wat, how can expire? he keep shaking his head, say wat call some crap no. aft 5 days bla bla bla, those push blame stories. DAMN PISSED at this moment.
nvm i tout mayb its jus misunderstanding. so i call the no. on the receipt, n tell them my situation. mind u this is like more than week later n i hav been using adult fare every freaking day, which is like almost $5 per day to go sch. if u guys were in my shoes u would expect some form of compensation for the adult fare right, more than $20 by den. i mean i got bus concession leh! liddat i losing end no matter wat right!?!? the ans i got was "we will pay ur balance of the bus concession based on the total cost minus no of days left in the mth" wa lao eh obvious "EAT" me leh!!! den as 4 my adult fare they say is case by case basis may not compensate WTF!!
in the end finally case close. they say my card corrupted muz replace dammit. muz pay fee somemore!!! obviously i muz pay wat if not how go sch??? up till now i havent received compensation for the adult fares i have used, & not 2 mention the remainder of my bus concession @ the time of confiscate. this is really pissing me off, i hav been travelling to n fro from bus terminals 2 terminals trying 2 get my card n claims. waste of time n money, study time oso affected. in due course i will bring this matter up to CASE definitely. i really cant stand this kinda service. sry 4 the long post but this really muz b made known to every1.
SO NEXT TIME U TAKE BUS, UR CARD SOMEHOW GOT SOME IDIOTIC ERROR N THE DVR INSIST ON TAKING UR CARD 4 WATEVER REASON, DONT GIVE HIM!!! KEEP UR CARD N TRY 2 VERIFY WIF TICKETING OFFICE OR WATEVER JUS DONT GIVE HIM THE CARD. I HAVE VERIFIED THIS WIF A LOT OF OTHER BUS DVRS N THEY HAVE COMFIRMED THAT EXPIRED CARDS R NOT 2 B CONFISCATED INSTEAD RETURNED TO THE OWNER.
even if its an entitlement, he has qualified for the entitlement and he has paid for itOriginally posted by MS:I know you're unhappy. But you forgot to acknowledge that students bus fare is not an entitlement. It is subsidised because the transport companies want to help those who're in need.
You have to acknowledge that if one day the companies decided to withdraw this previledge & make everyone pay adult fare you still have to pay it.
I apologise for the following brutal fact which may sound offensive but I'm trying to explain in to reality... "If you're not happy then get yourself your own transport or walk."
BTW, if you think that this is a real problem, write in properly and be focus on your objective and avoid unnecessary offensive remarks. Because when you behave like a gentleman, you'll realise that things move faster.
I wish you all the best.
tks for ur reply. but jus 2 clear things up, i did not in any case try to teach others 2 disobey the dvr or instructions given. i m only trying to let some of the consumers out there know that such inconvenience may happen to them n they will end up on losing end, so protect urself of cos wif no violence involved. wat really pissed me off is -Originally posted by SBS3625D:All I can say is that this is a case of nobody's fault. Rather it is a case of bad handling on SBST's part, after all I've been called rude twice (1 by someone who's a bitch, and 1 who's genuinely angry). So I sympathise with the thread-starter and am glad that you did not stoop to making a hoo-ha on the bus.
As for whether student fares is an entitlement or subsidy based on good-will, it's a kind of promise either way. Even if you think that we take the fares for granted, a promise is a promise. Entitlement or subsidy, if you're a god-damn pampered student, you should still be paying student fare. Why the hell should we just let this entitlement/subsidy be taken from the victim?
Hence the only option that remains is for SBST to clear this matter swiftly.
And to the thread-starter, please don't teach others to disobey the driver or whatever instructions given to you if such matters cropped up again. I used to work 14 hrs a day clearing up the mess left by customers who disobey us, walk all over us etc. But please don't let the driver walk all over you also.
I understand your frustrations at SBST's slowness, and I encourage you to make as much noise to SBST as possible, but PLEASE DO NOT rave, rant and complain about the innocent souls who answer your queries. There is a difference between chastening SBST and doing the same to individuals. I believe that good service comes in part from good customers, and I've had a fair share of trouble. If the svc was not to your satisfaction, please do not make the person you speak to your scapegoat. But if the fellow is obviously rude and unhelpful, that's another story.
Hope your problem gets resolved soon.
Since you confirm/verify liao, then i think this bus driver must be quite guailanOriginally posted by UnLeAsH_cHa0s:SO NEXT TIME U TAKE BUS, UR CARD SOMEHOW GOT SOME IDIOTIC ERROR N THE DVR INSIST ON TAKING UR CARD 4 WATEVER REASON, DONT GIVE HIM!!! KEEP UR CARD N TRY 2 VERIFY WIF TICKETING OFFICE OR WATEVER JUS DONT GIVE HIM THE CARD. I HAVE VERIFIED THIS WIF A LOT OF OTHER BUS DVRS N THEY HAVE COMFIRMED THAT EXPIRED CARDS R NOT 2 B CONFISCATED INSTEAD RETURNED TO THE OWNER.
Originally posted by shade343:You should have just tear off your T shirt, show the bus driver your 6pecs, proceed to punch him untill he gives back your EZ link card.
You think they bother to read?The next thing they will complain that the Driver is unprofessional in retaining cards.Period.Originally posted by Scania:From the purple sticker found on all SBST buses:
Bus drivers are authorised to retain any concession passes......
where the sticket found on SBS buses?Originally posted by Scania:From the purple sticker found on all SBST buses:
Bus drivers are authorised to retain any concession passes......